Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 June 2016
This is a fantastic collection of Doctor Who adventures - featuring Jon Pertwee as the Time Lord. This boxset of DVD's includes the following storylines: (1) Spearhead From Space, (2) Inferno, (3) The Claws of Axos, (4) The Three Doctors, (5) Carnival of Monsters, and (6) The Green Death.

These adventures span Pertwee's period as the Doctor (1970-74), and provide some great entertainment. While the overall quality is very good, it is somewhat inconsistent. For example, 'Spearhead From Space' is excellent - whereas 'Inferno' is occasionally rather poor. Nonetheless, this does not detract from the fun and exciting storylines.

If you're a fan of the third incarnation of the Doctor, I fully recommend this boxset. There are hours of bonus features - and the slipcase is attractive. Unfortunately the price has increased since I purchased a copy. I paid £36 - but now it's closer to £90. I suggest looking around for the most reasonable seller.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2008
Without doubt, Jon Pertwee is the best Doctor Who.
Great price @ £34.99 and classic stories. You won't be disappointed.
Buy Buy Buy! and then buy The Silurians boxset aswell.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Why oh why cant the BBC do all doctor who fans a favour and package up a "Complete ..." for each of the doctors to date ... there just has to be a market for it if well presented and packaged.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 January 2008
The Jon Pertwee Collection includes six different Doctor Who stories featuring the third doctor, (Spearhead From Space, Inferno, The Claws of Axos, The Three Doctors, Carnival of Monsters, and The Green Death.) Jon Pertwee was arguably the best doctor (personally I'm split between him and Tom Baker as some as his stories, like Genesis Of The Daleks were just amazing.) But with Jon Pertwee you always could look forward to a great story and he delivered every time. Included is the first Doctor Who story to be broadcast entirely in colour (Spearhead From Space,) and also the 10th anniversary (The Three Doctors.) I think Spearhead From Space was the first Doctor Who story to be released onto DVD, and it's not hard to see why, as it is one of the greatest and one of my personal favourite of all time. There are some fantastic special features in the boxed set, especially on The Three Doctors, and Inferno. The boxed set is good value and you're getting six of the greatest Doctor Who stories of all time. The only thing I can fault is that it doesn't include any of his Dalek encounters, which are yet to be released. A must buy for any Doctor Who fan and I recommend that you get it why you can.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2007
Like the Cyberman boxset. I have these stories already on video only. What tempted me was the value and the boxset presentation. Also the excellent extra documentarys you get with each story. These boxset are great for kick starting a Dr Who DVD collection. I intend to buy the New Beginnings set shortly. All six stories are fine Third doctor stories aswell. A must buy!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2006
When this appeared in my recommendations I couldn't believe it, what a box set it's pure TV Heaven, I can only salute Amamzon for putting this package together.

The John Pertwee stories here are all total classics, he is a true legend. Along with UNIT the Doctor takes on the Autons, travels to an alternate universe in Inferno, battles the Master the Axons at a Nuclear facility, joins his previous selves in the Three Doctors anniversary show where they battle the mighty Omega, then take on giant maggots in wales and also wind up being stuck in an alien projector in Carnival. Sweet I feel like a kid again just thinking about the shows.

The only people I feel for are those who already have these adventures on DVD. A Bargain. 5 stars
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2007
6 great third Doctor stories, including the colour debut Spearhead From Space, and the 10th anniversary The Three Doctors, this box set offers all but one of Jon Pertwee's Doctor's DVDs. All the stories are good quality, and while they do not all follow directly on from each other, there are clear links between them. With an RRP of £19.99 each (6 would therefore cost £119.94), £34.99 is a bargain. Grab it before it's gone!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
excellent value box set with some top Jon Pertwee adventures. My son was delighted to get hold of this, much better than buying individually.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Very pleased with my purchase. Many thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
For Sci-Fi the B&W were the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)