Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
60
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2009
There is an unrated version of this film which is edited; for example, in the caverns where our heroes take refuge up a tree, they secretly bear witness to cannibal apes kill and eat one of their own tribe members. And this edited scene, if left in, would have made sense of the cavern's decor of ape skulls.

I also watched the version from the HAMMER COLLECTION and this scene (as well as others) was not cut from the film. I watched the Hammer version on my 42inch plasma, and the picture and colour quality were great.

Unless you are very squeamish, please get the Hammer version. The DVD version to avoid is the one with the blue background featuring a close-up of Raquel Welch, who admittedly looks a lot more stunning in this picture cover than Hammer's. John Anglos.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For their 100th release, Hammer Films remade the 1940 cavemen groaner One Million B.C. It would prove to be a roaring box office success, whilst simultaneously making Raquel Welch an iconic poster girl and Ray Harryhausen an even bigger hero.

Plot is slight. Two tribes exist in prehistoric times, the Rock People and the Shell People. The former are more aggressive and basic, the latter more forward and assured. Tumak (John Richardson) of the Rocks and Loana (Welch) wind up together, fighting prejudices and lots of giant beasties! Hooray!

That's really it, the message is clear but ultimately we are here for the dinosaurs and giant creatures (well OK, the scantily clad cave dwellers as well), with Harryhausen once again showing why he was a legend in his field of animation. With good fights, a bit of sexy sizzle and a volcanic finale, it's all good really.

It's no history lesson of course, but as Harryhausen was wont to say, they wasn't making a film for history professors! 7/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2007
The Good

This DVD release is anamorphic widescreen. It appears to be the uncut version of the film, but it's running time is 96 minutes. However, all other sources state that the original release version is 100 minutes in length. But the deleted scenes ( edited from the American release ) listed at the Internet Movie Database are all here in this Optimum Classic "Hammer Collection" DVD.

Interviews with Ray Harryhausen and Raquel Welch are included.

The Bad

The audio is not "stereo" ( as listed on the back of the DVD keep case ) - it is actually mono.

There is no theatrical trailer included with the special features.

The Ugly

The film print used here is merely adequate. There are some scratches and some debris throughout this particular presentation. What we all need here is a Lowry Digital type of restoration.

The final three minutes of the film on this DVD are in black and white for some unfathomable reason.

This is a single-layer DVD disc with only 4.13 GB of material on it and is not recorded at the highest quality standard as with a typical 9 GB dual-layer disc. In other words, too much compression for my tastes. I don't know about any of you out there, but I want Raquel Welch and the Dino FX to be as clear and sharp as possible for a standard definition DVD.
66 comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2010
This is one of Hammer's classic films and you can quite clearly tell it had a better budget than most of their output.
The stop-motion animation was cutting edge at the time and, although some people will mock the dated effects, to me, it is still very enjoyable.
66 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
The Hammer Collection DVD of One Million Years BC is the best version of this film at the time of this writing because it is produced in anamorphic widescreen 16:9 (for current widescreen TVs as opposed to the older 4:3 TV sets) AND contains the original UK uncut version.
The US version by 20th Century Fox is a restored but cut version in 16:9 widescreen, and the Warner Bros. Studio Canal version is uncut but formatted in the older 4:3 widescreen (i.e. with four black bars surrounding the image).
One Million Years BC is notable for two things:
The late great Ray Harryhausen's animated dinosaurs which for decades were the most effective depiction of these creatures until Jurassic Park, and the nubile Raquel Welch, who looks absolutely stunning!
A great adventure fantasy and silliness at its most entertaining!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
this was difficult to rate. Being 63 years, I grew up with the terrible monster movie creatures. This movie was very good at that time for its enactments for the monsters and in some regards, are much the same as today. I always was a fan of Raquel Welch and not just because of her appearance. It has always been my opinion that she was under used as an actress.
I have been collecting some "babe" movies. This European version was the full length which suited me very well. This movie for its time period was well made, produced, directed, and acted. It is understandable "modern" viewers would not see it in the same light as I do. Jurassic Park is certainly above this, but if Mr. Hausen (spelling) had the same access to computers, I believe he may have even made that Jurassic Park even better.
Some computer guru's I know have 1,000,000 BC in their collections and consider it essential for their histories of special effects. A casual viewer would probably not enjoy this, but people such as my self and geeks can find value in it. John
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
I finally purchased a multi-region dvd player so I could get all the wonderful dvd titles across the pond. This title of One Million Years B.C. is the uncut version. The U.S. version is missing many good scenes! And this British version has interviews with Harryhausen and Ms. Welch! I am very pleased. Thank you!
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 November 2013
I watched this film with genuine pleasure and I am glad that I finally discovered this great classic - even if objectively speaking this is a very silly movie. Below, more of my impressions with some very limited SPOILERS.

This adventure film about prehistoric people doesn't even try to stick to any kind of realism - in the year 1 000 000 BC modern humans didn't exist yet and as for the sex appeal of proto-human "Homo erectus" chicks, well, I definitely don't even want to go there... Dinosaurs of course were also extinct in those times, already since 64 million years - and the bikini worn by Ms Welch (even if it is supposedly made in deer-skin) wouldn't appear before XXth century... But all of this has of course no importance - this is just an adventure film, having absolutely no other pretensions that to entertain.

The story is basically about an exile from one tribe of prehistoric people who finds refuge with another, more advanced tribe and obtains there a bride - actually, now that I think of it, it becomes clear that Jean-Jacques Annaud copied this general story line into his own (much better) "Quest of fire" film. Of course there will be some further complications, but really, the story doesn't really matter. The two things that make all the interest of this film are the chicks and the dinos.

Being a terminal screen junkie and having watched uncounted thousands of films in my life, I already saw a great lot of beautiful actresses - but few films can equal this one in which we can admire not one but TWO incredibly hot and sexy beauties: Raquel Welch as gentle Loana and Martine Beswick as bitchy hellcat Nupondi, both of them wearing little clothes. Even better, at one moment they get into a nasty catfight... Every scene in which even one of them appears is a splendor - and if you think that Raquel Welch is THE star in this film, well, wait until you see Nupondi dancing!

The dinosaurs in this film are amongst the best creations of the great Ray Harryhausen and anybody who liked his creatures in Sinbad films will be delighted to discover here the same kind of stop-motion magic.

Chicks in bikinis vs. dinos in stop motion film - can it get any better? A film without any pretension other than to give good time to its public, more suitable for watching amongst guys, with a mandatory consumption of beer a condition to appreciate it more. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2002
Raquel at her best, this film will stand the test of time, great effects,and stunning girls there is not a lot of dialog( makes a change from all the bad language of films of today) but who cares..you just consentrate on the bevvy of beauties...who needs words..The two tribes create the good and bad in people..no differant from to-day....If you missed it.."GO GET IT NOW"
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2002
Hammer's first journey back to prehistoric times is a rip-roaring exercise in sustained excitement.
Director Don Chaffey and special effects wizard Ray Harryhausen do for dinosaurs what they so brilliantly did for mythological Greece three years previously in Jason and the Argonauts.
The magnified spider and lizard shots can surely be forgiven, as we are taken to new heights of technical proficiency. OK, so the likes of Jurassic Park, etc. have since eclipsed everything that has gone before, but this must certainly rank as a classic of it's kind. Surely this is the British equivalent of King Kong !
We follow Tumak as he is banished from his tribe and left to wonder the wilderness alone. He is soon up against a giant turtle, and becomes the hero of the shell people, fronted by the ampled proportioned Raquel Welch. However, their troubles are only just beginning, as Tumak's old tribe catch up with him and his new found friends, and begin an onslaught of mayhem interspersed with dinosaur battles and a tremendous climactic volcanic eruption.
The rich technicolor photography and exotic locations suitably compliment each other. That this lush travelogue is set in a time of violent confrontation only adds to it's timeless charm.
Prepare to be thrilled.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.