Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
129
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 28 January 2007
I have to confess I am only midway through watching season 2 but, so far, it's much better than it's predecessor. I am officially addicted to House (and I also have a major thing for Hugh Laurie who I find undeniably sexy in the much older man way!). Greg House is charismatic, sardonic, acerbic and witty. This show has some of the best one liners going.

Yes, the structure is repetitive. A patient is admitted with an unknown condition. House and his team; Allison Cameron, Robert Chase and Eric Foreman poke and prod and do a series of tests, administering various medications until they finally discover what is wrong. In doing this, House usually breaks the rules and generally runs wild. That, however, is part of his charm because he isn't how a doctor should be. He rarely visits the patients, preferring to send "the kids" as he calls them and his motto being "everybody lies".

What I adore is the relationship between his ex girlfriend, Stacy. This is an intriguing side to House we don't see in the first season, as she is still the love of his life, and the feeling is more than reciprocated. I was so rooting for them to get back together. My favourite episodes being "Failure to Communicate" and "Need To Know". Yes, yes... It is the House-Stacy thing that does it for me.

Anyway, just but it.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Tiresome after a while. It was ready for ending when it did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
I love Dr. House. I could watch this series over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
House fans will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
love this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
Fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2007
Lets begin by saying that House is a fantastic, funny, interesting TV show. One of the best.
The quality of picture is very good, also the quality of sound.
The actors are superb (especially of course Laurie). The story has its flaws - especialy in medicine - if you are a medical doctor you will really shake your head at some procedures being done, drugs been used and some absurd diagnoses being made. But I understand it is made because it is a TV show and it is more intersting for audience all over the world.
The major criticism about this DVD is its lack of subtitles. I really cannot understand their absence, because if you are not native speaker of english, the language is difficult (sometimes fast, somtimes very medical) and the subtitles would really come handy. Thats why I give it a 4 star.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 October 2006
House was a surprise hit. Unknown by most, still, due to its status as a first-run Channel Five series, this Hugh Laurie-led Doctor series is unlike any of its peers at the moment despite elements that make it very ordinary.

This second series is far better with the first, with more continuity and less annoying character traits(Cameron is no longer hateable, she's beautiful and intelligent. Chase is amusingly dumb, and Foreman has a spiteful side), and zero cheese at the end of each episode. The latter was my main concern with last year's series, with us always reaching an empty conclusion with guest star characters. This is amended in this season, with House always reaching a new point by the end of episode.

Luckily, Hugh Laurie's performance cuts apart the boring emotion, which is a nice undermining. His character's presence has an effect on every character around him, such is the radiance of the performance. Without a strong lead, this shwo would crash and burn. Perfect performance, made even better in this season. Laurie deserves an emmy.

The plots are where this show remains streamlined. This is a good thing, however, with each "everyplot" being essential in attracting large audiences. I'm not sure what a true original version of House would be like, but as it is its a perfection of a classic plot style that most shows still fail with. Brilliant.

The extras are likely to be small, as per last season, but the price isn't ridiculous for what you get. A great season shouldn't be ruined by the reviewer(me), but I should mention some of the situations House encounters; charity doctors, transgendered supermodels, prisoners, idiots and faith healers.

You'll love this season, especially if you thought the first was brilliant. Not similar to other doctor shows, its an example of how dialogue and plot can be perfected. Fantastic.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)