Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
62
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
59
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I kicked myself when I started watching thins part way through series 3, I couldn't believe I'd missed this for the last couple of years!

This set has the first five series (the new sixth series starts tonight on BBC2!).

Most people haven't heard of this series, which is a shame as it is one of the best acted, and one of the best scripted comedies for a long time.

The series is a spin-off from Scottish Sketch comedy show Chewing the Fat and the relationship between Jack Jarvis and Victor McDade, it is a bit like Last of the Summer Wine - But funny!

It isn't really like last of the summer wine, I was lying. The only similarity is the fact that it is centred around old people. But in this the old people aren't really that old - but the make up is convincing enough.

The real strength in this series is the way the characters always grumble, complain, and slag each other off - but you know they all have great warmth for each other.

You genuinely care for the characters in this and every one of them is believable.

I find this series hilarious, one of the main topics is gossip and one of my favourite comedy moments involves Navid the corner shop owner hears a juicy piece of gossip and him and Isa start to divvy out who they are going tell.

The first series of this is the slowest paced one, you see how Jack and Victor become neighbours. The comedy is true to the rest of the series as there are sad undertones throughout the episode.

Running jokes and themes include Victor's family and how they don't come to see him. He often gets excited only to have his heart broken whilst he tries to convince himself that they have genuine reasons for not coming.

It is the reflection of the realities that older generation faces in the more deprived areas of modern day Britain that gives these series another dimension. From heating pokey flats, to seeing friends dying - it has it all.

Watch this for a genuinely funny TV series with characters you will fall in love with.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2007
I caught up with Jack and Victor on TV during series 5 and thought it was brilliant. I bought the complete series 1-5 for my husband for Christmas thinking that if he did not like it I could claim ownership of the DVD's.

We started to watch them over the Christmas period when there was nothing on TV and it soon became a regular part of our routine to put the DVD's on of an evening. Every series is an absolute masterpiece and you will all probably recognise some of the charactors from your own neigbourhood, from Tam who has yet to buy a pint to Isa the gossip. Naveed is played brilliantly and we sit and wait for the new series to be shown later this year.

Even if you are not Scottish, you will find it hard to stop laughing at the boys, every episode is an absolute gem, a masterpiece. By the time we had finished watching all the DVD's we felt like Jack and Victor were old friends of ours.

A must buy for all who love comedy at it's best
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2016
Arrived early Can't wait to watch this hilarious set Really Good Value still in cellophane wrapper brand new advertised as used but it isn't
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2017
Just watched every episode back to back. Now I have it in my collection. Great stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
I bought this to give as a Birthday gift. Initially there was a delay as it was coming from overseas and I was informed of this via email. The company - Spineys, - were so helpful when I contacted them, they sourced the dvd from somewhere else and it was with me in 2 days. Very pleased with the helpful and very nice lady who sorted it all out for me. Will have no hesitation in ordering from them again. Great service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
Living in Glasgow, I was able to relate to many aspects of the humour used in Still game. It is comedy gold. Although suited mainly to a Scottish audiance (much of the comedy and lanuage is directed towards a scottish audiance) this comedy gem will have anyone staying in the UK in fits of laughter.

The comedy is slap stick at times, with more emphasis placed on quick whit and banter (or patter!) rather than a string of jokes.

The characters are quite simply brilliant, it is very hard to pick a fav one as there all so good. Id opt for Isa becuase she is very like many golden oldies in this country!

Fantastic comedy and an absolute disgrace it was put on late on bbc 2 when other rubbish gets prime time.

enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2007
this show is absolutely brilliant. i have been hunting for this down south (england) for ages, but to no avail apart from one of the later series on dvd. but finally it's available in a box set. Jack and Victor are hilarious and Naveed the shopkeeper is funny with his banter with his wife. a number of episodes that i like are the one with Robbie Coltrane as a bus driver, the one where Bobbie the barman's dirty little secret is found out by a couple of the locals and they're trying to keep the gossip from Isa.

but for those of you that don't know about they're humble beginnings in chewing the fat, it is worth buying that as well as still game because the little sketches of these hilarious elderly odd couple are priceless. especially the ones where they are sat in the pub wi there cronies havin a wee sing song (the title of this review is just a sneaky peek at one of them) and the purchase that one of them made in the gents toilets for pleasing the ladies.

so to sum up this is just brilliant comedy that beats any other that's on the box at the minute. so sit back relax and don't forget the incontinence pants.....coz you're guaranteed to wet yourself!!!!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2009
I first saw Still Game a couple of years ago, when it was tucked away somewhere obscure on BBC2. It really suprises me that this comedy series is not better known - it certainly deserves to be, especially outside Scotland. Like a Glaswegian version of 'Last of the Summer Wine', only much funnier (and cruder), its' about the day to day lives of a group of pensioners from a council estate in a suburb of Glasgow. If your not used to the Glaswegian accent (and slang), it may take you a while to get used to what the characters are saying - you will just have to turn the volume up or even switch on the subtitles! Once you get into it though it really becomes very worthwhile.

This box set is really excellent value for money, as it will provide you with 32 episodes of pure, magical entertainment. Whilst it may not be up there with the likes of Fawlty Towers and Blackadder, it is in my view not far behind - it really is that good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
Just watch and laugh!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
This is the funniest comedy series to ever come from BBC Scotland. PLEASE if there is any chance of the two principle characters ever getting back together, DO IT and continue with this hilarious franchise.

Buy it and laugh!Still Game: The Complete Series 1-6 Plus Christmas and Hogmanay Specials [2007] [DVD] [2002]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)