Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
21
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 December 2014
John Cusack plays a mob lawyer living in Wichita, Kansas, a cynical, soulless, scheming loser who decides to steal 2 million dollars from his boss on Christmas Eve. In cahoots with Billy Bob Thornton, a ruthless local businessman they find themselves unable to leave town until Christmas Day due to the roads being too icy to drive on. However, the mob boss (Randy Quaid) and his tough (you won’t believe how tough) henchman have found out about their theft and are looking for them. The film takes place over 24 hours and involves booze, betrayal, strip joints, an inebriated lawyer and a talking trunk. Although difficult to empathise with any of the characters, it is nevertheless an enjoyable dark comedy within a film noir setting. Definitely a film to watch if you have the chance.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
Screen Based on the novel by Scott Phillips, The Ice Harvest is a comic film noir set in very cold and icy Wichita, Kansas. John Cusack turns in another fine performance as Charlie Arglist, a soft-spoken lawyer who works for local mob boss Bill Guerrard (Randy Quaid). Charlie hangs out in strip clubs, pines after femme fatale Renata (Connie Nielsen), rarely sees his kids, and basically watches life happen all around him. Ready for a change, he and the much more hardened Vic Cavanaugh (Billy Bob Thornton) steal $2.1 million from Guerrard and plan to play it cool before leaving town, trying not to create suspicion. All they need to do is make it through Christmas Eve--but that's not going to be easy for Charlie, who spends the long night getting caught up in a series of very funny, very dangerous, and very bloody events that unfold while sweet Christmas carols echo in the background...
WHAT CAN I SAY?.
This is a little gem of a movie.
Billy Bob Thornton and John Cusack team up in an Elmore Leonard-esque adaptation of a Scott Phillips novel. Thornton and Cusack both have enough panache, cool and grit to pull off this "heist-gone-wrong" caper into a memorable experience.With a great comedic performance from Platt his character is drunk through the movie,
plus There's the beautiful Renata (Connie Nielson),who runs the Sweet Cage strip club
plus the powerful mobster Bill Guerrard (Randy Quaid)
directed by Harold Ramis (Analyze This & That, and Groundhog Day).
Thornton and Cusack decide to rip of their bosses the biggest Mafia guys in Wichita Falls, and almost as soon as they do, it starts to go wrong.
Thornton plays it cool.
Cusack loses his nerve.
The rest of the movie plays out the sequence of very funny events until the next day...
The Ice Harvest
its a Great Comedy
its a great Thriller,
its "Wickedly hilarious!"..
its also what you call ?
(((( Thick Thieves. ON Thin Ice.....))))
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Strange film, but then again John Cusack's film are never straight forward. A lot of swearing but that's to be expected with this type of film. Not much action though which is a pity and quite funny in places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2008
Nicely understated, this movie eventually gets around to doubling crosses and femme fatalities, but for much of the running time it is more concerned with the businesss of melancholy middle aged men drinking too much in bars, cars and Strip Joints. The Ice Harvest is a worthy investment for its throwaway wit and bruised, rueful cyncicism.

John Cusack plays an everyman, a lawyer who has sold out to the values of corporate corruption. With mixed feelings, he steals over two million dollars from the local mob on Christmas Eve, then plans with Billy Bob Thornton to make a break for it later on Christmas Day. The mob boss (Randy Quaid) finds out and sends a hit man to get his money back, and the movie plot is about John Cusack trying to avoid getting killed by them.

The movie has been pretty much panned by almost every critic to review it, although Roger Ebert praised it enough for three stars. I loved it and loved the book before it. I realize that I am in a small minority in this regard. What makes THE ICE HARVEST work for me is its noir blend of saltiness and satire, its mixture of comedy and karma. The comedy here is based upon the hypocrisy of Christmas in this era of corruption and greed. All of the liars and killers and thieves in this movie talk about Christmas, about being home opening up presents with their kids. If you don't get that, I guess you won't see the comedy.

John Cusack is endearing as an everyman who has gone too far with a fantasy and now is just trying to survive. Billy Bob Thornton is menacing as Vic. His idea of winning is the American way, giving lip-service to religion and humanist values while embracing ruthless materialism.

Oliver Platt plays a jolly-faced loser, John Cusack's hapless doppeldinger, addicted to sexual conquests and alcohol, now married to Cusack's former wife. He seems to be an extention of the drunks who played in GROUNDHOG DAY. Connie Nielsen vamps it up, a cross between Lauren Bacall and Veronica Lake. She's a tribute to a different era, like the femme fatale in WHO'S AFRAID OF ROGER RABBIT?, not really bad, just drawn that way.

Randy Quaid is terrific as a capitalistic Christian mob boss murderer, sad to be doing business when he could be home celebrating Christ's birthday. This movie has fun poking fun, with style and karma, with a moral and a motto. As Jon Stewart says, "IN GOD WE TRUST" is our motto, and we place it where it can be read on every dollar bill in this film, "right where Jesus would have wanted it."
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2008
Good acting and cinematography combine in a stylish crime noir tale set on Christmas Eve in Wichita, Kansas during an ice storm. John Cusack and Billy Bob Thornton star in this excellent sleeper about a couple of guys who rip off two mil plus (the "ice harvest") from a mobster but then have to wait out the storm before catching a plane to someplace warmer and far away. The perfect crime? Or a very, very bad idea? It starts seeming to be a bad idea pretty quickly and then bobsleds downhill in a hurry on the winter ice. In THE ICE HARVEST you are treated to nice performances from the entire cast which includes Randy Quaid. Director Harold Ramis does a good job keeping things moving and he is working with a tight script. Throughout THE ICE HARVEST you are wonderfully reminded of the cold, dark, icy night of the story that helps sustain that noir feeling. Notable is the excellent photography, costumes and visually pleasing sets, elements not always appreciated enough in good movie-making. Well done and worth seeing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 December 2008
I bought this film second-hand on the off-chance: director Ramis has, of course, done the fantastic Groundhog Day, and having read the brief synopsis, it sounded like a darkly comic 'christmas crime noir' (and there's a genre we need more of!)

The problem this film has is a lack of ANY sympathetic characters. Even John Cusak's character - who is obviously meant to be the (very weak) moral centre of things just isn't generating enough on-screen empathy: he is, at best, neutral, and that's not enough.

The black humour is fleeting and largely flat, but most of all there's no SPARK: the setting and set-up ought to deliver great moment after great moment, but sadly not.
I didn't expect to see Santa every two minutes or a Capra-esque ending, but a big part of the pitch for this was the festive setting which is hardly referenced at all. Also, and this is a rare one for me to moan about: I didn't like the general tone towards women in the story as a whole. Usually, I'm your standard ignorant-bloke on this type of thing, but even I became a little tired of the uniformaly negative and/or weak role-call of female characters - it only really hit me when I was pondering it all in the days following.

I can't fault the DVD package (commentary, alternate endings - proper ones too, not the usual attempts at that where someone says or does something slightly differently, so as to just meet the dictionary definition of 'alternative') so perhaps in the end it just wasn't my cup of tea. John Cusak is always worth a watch, but I think here everyone is struggling to find their places in the story, and so much seems to happen off-screen or be simply referred to by characters rather than shown, it all came off very flat.

NO ho ho!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
Borders on the verge of don't like-just like. Really only the anticipation of Connie Nielson kept me watching. An implausible story, a plot with holes in and not particularly funny. A dark comedy? Lighting was too dark at times which made some scenes difficult to follow; not much comedy. Don't find different ways of shooting/killing people much fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
This was a real surprise to me as I love John Cusack movies and I hadn't heard of this one. I don't think it got much press in Europe. Good plot and an excellent cast. Billy Bob Thornton is always very watchable - this movie was a good "surprise" find.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2006
I caught this movie on a quiet day in Barcelona, hidden behind blockbusters like Kong. No publicity, no fanfare, and yet a beautiful little film with wonderful performances. No recent film has ever caught the disappointment of middle-age and the desperation of having watched a life gone by with so little to show. And certainly no film has ever caught it in such an engaging and humorous manner. A fun noir, it is the characters however who make this film. Thornton is a joy, and Cusack again displays his impressive range as a fallible and failing man, looking desperately for a way out from his life. Up there with Bad Santa for Thornton and Grosse Point Blank for Cusack. If Kiss Kiss Bang Bang made you grin, you will love this film, and this subtler and darker movie is my favourite of the past year.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2009
I was skeptical about buying this, due to the reviews i had seen.

When i watched it, it made me think all those reviewers obviously have some chemical imbalance.

The plot to this film is so clever and intricate, that you will notice something new everytime you watch it. And the fact that it takes place on one Christmas Eve night, in snowy Wichita, adds something of beauty to the film.

Dialogue is hillarious and never without wit, Acting is supurb all around the board, particularly Billy Bob Thornton, who is at his deadpan best - John Cusack, kind of does that Grosse Pointe Blank thing, and i'd never heard of Connie prior to this, but i think we will be hearing and seeing more of her in the future. As for Oliver Platt, the drunk village idiot, he is hillarious and has some of the best dialogue in the film, example is when he is trying to chat up a young bartender "in my dream you'll be wearing that little fish necklace and...that's it!"

All in all this is my favourite christmas film (beat Bad Santa to the top spot) and indeed one of my all time favourites. You really can not go wrong with this, if you have even a degree of intelligence or a observing eye, this will be a real treat. I'm definetley getting it out this Christmas Eve...the DVD i mean.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)