Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 27 April 2015
The only thing wrong with this is there's not enough material on these 2 discs should have been just 1 disc but the chance to see paul kossoff it's worth buying for that what an amazing guitarist he was and he made the free sound and that's why they never reformed wouldn't have been same without him the 3 songs from the Isle of white are great
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Love this. The live footage captures the raw energy of this band playing to a adoring crowd. Just wish the concert was a bit longer really but a great DVD and the sound quality is good enough. Play it loud!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
Excellent & a reminder what a great live band & musicians / singer we had with FREE. Rock on! Classic British Blues & Rock
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2017
The best Free video I know. Despite technical problems on stage the magic of the band won through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2006
Ive waited years for this and like a kid at christmas had to play it as soon as it arrived.Opting for disc 2 for the Isle of Wight what a let down only three of the tracks are from the concert the rest are just audio backed by still photos.The concert tracks are brilliant and you are left wishing for the rest as they sound amazing.Disc one a collection of T.V shows are very much of the time dodgy effects etc, except for the original video for wishing well which is some dodgy old boiler in something like a human league video. The Interviews with Paul Simon Andy and Paul Kossoffs brother are very interesting and illuminating.Dont expect too much visually and you wont be too disappointed because the soundtrack is more than worth the price.Just aggrieved at the way the record company sell it as though you are getting all of the Isle of Wight.And cant wait for the CD live at the BBC.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2006
This is truly Free at their very best. They were definately better on stage than on record. Great value for money as well and really well presented it's worth all of the money and more. It's a shame they couldn't find the masters for the Japan performance or the sound for Ealing Collage. All of the footage though is crystal clear and better than some others i've seen. This is a must have for any Free fans.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2006
An absolute must for any Free fan. Forgive the 70's camerawork & effects and you can enjoy 4 wonderful musicians at their best - they were good and they knew it. Id forgotten how Koss constantly pushed back the boundaries - even on the Free standards. I'm inspired - where's my guitar...
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2008
To compare Free with Led Zep or Cream is not the point. The point is Free were simply the best band to ever live for several reasons. The band where four equal parts who all played from the heart and soul. Watch Kossof play what i think is the best guitar solo ever on Mr Big. Its simply astounding and takes your breath away. Every chord comes straight from his soul, his playing is even more special because he was only twenty years of age. Paul Rogers voice was a extension of Kofs guitar playing and i feel he had the best blues rock voice ever. Add to that the most underated drummer ever and a kid of seventeen who was years ahead of his time on the base, then you had the mixture of pure innocent genious. Im not sad that they broke up only that Kossof died so young. The miracle was that when these four young lads played they made your hairs stand on end and touched your soul. Im only glad that they give us what they did and left what i feel is the greatest collection of pure blues and rock ever played.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
What's not to like about live footage of this iconic band? Sure, it's not providing the hi-fi / hi-res experience we've all become accustomed to, however it provides a unique view of the performances, the band members and little hints at their relationships. Their music was part of the sound-track of my teenage years however I was a little too young to see them live, so this fills that gap to an extent at least. If you're a fan of Free then you'll be very happy with this purchase.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2006
Firstly, this is a must for any Free fan - it contains all the previously available video footage on the Video released over 10 years ago, plus some additional stuff. Some of this additional stuff, however, is definitely for fans only - I'll expand on this later.

Disc one contains performances from Beat Club -the German TV show, and the Granada TV Doin' Their Thing programme. It also has the usual promo videos [and one rather unusual one for Allright Now] and cine film footage - with and without audio, but with no music. There are also interviews with surviving band members and Simon Kossoff - Paul's brother.

Songs not previously on Video are Mr Big and Allright Now from both shows. These really are excellent performances too - and very representative of the period when they were just getting big. The interviews are interesting and the cine film interesting - although the bits of the band playing are a bit weird without any sound. I would have preferred the cine stuff to be more concise, and the interviews to be longer. There's also Andy Fraser's latest promo video - a sort of world/reggae style song - not really in keeping with the rest of the dvd.

Disc two is devoted to the Isle of Wight festival performance from 1970. There's nothing new here video-wise except better quality. The rest of the gig is presented in audio format with photographs superimposed over the top of it- this has been available on bootleg for years. There are also NUMEROUS repeats of the same footage from different camera angles - which I found really frustrating the first time I saw it, because I was expecting more songs and footage. Again there are more interviews which are excellent, and yet again I would have liked more of.

There's no doubt that the music is excellent, and the additional material is interesting, but the repetition is a bit uneccessary. For this reason I give it a 4 out of 5 instead of a 5.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)