Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
23
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2007
A good idea with some great potential but for the time being that's all it is. I think it's great that the camera can be used as a normal webcam, being a USB, you can just plug it into your PC.

The camera is reasonably clear, however you can take a higher advantages of the effects on the 360. After taking a photo, to set as your personal gamerpicture, or to send to a friend, you can add various effects, including the common settings like black and white, sepia, negative, as well as special lens effects that expand, inflate, or reflect the picture, as well as many more.

When i purchased this item, it comes with a one month free gold membership on xbox live, an extra headset for online chatting (worth about £14.99 at the time), and a code to download UNO full xbox live arcade game. Great if you have friends over with the headset, so you can all talk to different people, and UNO isn't a bad way to boost your gamerscore.

Similar to the Sony Eyetoy, on playstation 2, you can use it to control characters. However there is few games this is compatible with. TotemBall, (a free arcade game that requires the camera) is not the greatest of games, but, for the younger generation it can be fun. Basically you control a ball rolling around a level, by moving your arms up and down in fountains to control the speed and direction. Doesn't sound great, because basically it isn't, specially when you already have perfectly good games to play on.

You can also have video conversations and calls with other xbox live members but they must have a gold membership to view and send their own (if they have the cam), or they can just watch, (with gold).

Another great feature that the visioncam can be used for is 'Gameface' technology. Despite only being in one game, this shows great potential for personalising characters. The only game supporting this so far is Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas. I don't own this game but I would say - aswell as many other people - that it's possible one of the greatest shooters on xbox 360 so far. In multiplayer you create your own characeter, when the camera is connected, you set up to take a photo, line up your face in good lighting in the box shown on screen, then take a photo, repeat it again from the side. After quite a long wait, that, providing it works, is worth it, a photo appears on your soldier that doesn't look identical, but looks quite good. Unfortunately, I don't think you can arm your character with various headgear, like scars, balaclavas and goggles but you unlock an achievement worth 20 or 30 gamerpoints which is a highish benefit if you have a low score like me :)

Despite a high asking price, with all the extras and potential included it is worth buying. However it's also worth waiting for to hope the price lowers and more games include the gameface technology.

Hope this review was helpful to anyone considering buying this item.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2006
This probably is the best accessory out for the Xbox360 at the moment, bar the wireless controller. The Vision camera really is tiny, it has to be seen to be believed..it looks a hell of a lot nicer than the Eyetoy ever did on the PS2. For the price, the camera comes bundled with the Xbox Live headset,(which i do find uncomfortable however), and the Xbox Live Arcade game, UNO. This probably is the most addictive game I have played from the Arcade games, its so easy to pick up, and its brillant when played online through Xbox Live, as you can see and hear your opponents through the Vision camera.

The killer feature however, is the ability to use the camera with PCs, im using it right now on MSN Messenger. Its easy to set-up too, as Windows automatically finds the necessary driver. The only downside however, is the lack of options available, and I havent yet figured out how to take the 1.3MP photos as the box suggests (maybe thats only on XBox Live).

But to sum up, Xbox Live is the killer app that the PS3 never will have anything like, and with Microsoft churning out accessories like the Xbox Live Vision camera, its easy to see why theres only one Next-Gen console worth investing in....
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2007
A great piece of kit. You can have so much fun creating your own custom head by adding stupid masks, etc, (on Rainbow Six Vegasthat is). It can also be used in a lot of other games, either as an essential piece of kit (Totemball) or as a fun extra (Uno).

Uno code (to download it for free) is included with it, as well as a 1 month xbox live gold subscription and a wired headset (they can break easily as mine did). Also, although the code is not included in the pack, you can download Totemball, as a "FREE OFFER" when plugging in the camera. So it does come with the camera, sort of; Totemball is actually quite entertaining too. Uno is also a great addition to the kit.

No regrets in buying it, great fun, and enjoy.

P.S. This link shows list of all the games that make use of the camera plus much more info:

[...]
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2007
My "Live Vision" camera arrived a couple of days ago, and as soon as i got it out of the pack, i plugged it in, and it just works! Had to setup the light a bit, but other than that i was playing UNO with the camera working in less than a minute!

Now for the slightly annoying part - I already HAVE UNO! Downloaded it a few weeks ago. TotemBall is NOT included, so don't be fooled (as another reviewer states). I think that MS should have given the user a few options for downloadable 'arcade' games and the user can then select the one they want, instead just including UNO, which a lot of people will probably have already. Shame there arn't that many games out that make use of the Vision camera yet, though i think the new Command and Conquer DOES allow use of it, and i have also managed to get my face onto a multiplayer character on Rainbow Six: Vegas, which actually looks pretty good!

Overall though, pretty good, and the camera itself is a bit smaller than i expected (which is good), and it also comes with a headset (just in case you accidently ran over your original one with your chair!!).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
Bought this camera from this buyer specifcally because it gave me one free month Xbox Live Gold, however this never apeared in the post with it, i was extremelly disapointed and would recommend if your going to buy from this seller to only buy the camera it's self and not with the one month Gold.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
great for sending pictures of yourself to friends in other countries or use this device to have your self as your own gamer picture while I do like this and other offical microsoft accseories there is just one problem the picture quality but for the the price iwould get but only if you know your definatly going to use it hope the review wa helpful good day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2010
Well I can't really comment on the price for this webcam because I got it for free off my friend and I also haven't previously owned that much webcams.

What I can say though, is that it is a great little webcam that works with the PC as well as the xbox. I haven't got an xbox so my primary use for this webcam is the PC and I can say it works really well. On the lens, there's a little quality adjuster which you can turn to change the quality therefore affecting the lag of the camera.

This webcam works with software such as Skype and is quite versatile. I also think it looks really good and cute and doesn't take up too much space by your computer. My only criticism is that there's no clip on thing at the bottom of the camera. Therefore, you can't clip the camera on top of your monitor, - you have to keep it on your desk. That's only a minor criticism though.

This is a great product which is probably worth the money and I'm happy I've got it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2006
This camera is a gem but do not let the contents description shown pursuade you to buy. The camera does what it should do and does it well, but there is only one free game. UNO and Totem shown in description but my registration number only permitted access to UNO, which I already had.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
the camera is a piece of fun and good 2 see friends u have made but the 1 month gold package didnt come with it for some reason. couldnt be bothered trying 2 phone anyone so might buy in future somewhere else
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2010
although the camera arrived we did not receive the headset or the live membership card as it was pre owned i didnt complain but it is false advertising.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here