Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
I can remember watching this on late night television when I was growing up, then later on VHS video cassette. It was fun, violent and exciting....all the things that stoke a 13 year old boy's mind, back in the day.

So, present day, and being such a huge fan of the little dragon I bought this. First things first; this is a 2 disc edition and, as such, is packed to the rafters with extra 'stuff' - promo trailers from around the world, an audio commentary, a photographic retrospective on the making of and various talking heads giving their thoughts on working with Bruce and what could have happened next.

Then there's the picture quality; so sharp and detailed. As you would expect from a new pristine movie of today.

The story? More socio political than I remembered; the basic plot has new boy, Cheng - played by Bruce - getting a job at the local Ice factory, which is actually a front for a drugs smuggling operation. Cheng looses friends and family due to the intimidating ways of the drugs gang and so goes on a rampage to reap revenge.

The fight scenes are just like you'd imagine.....just more so. This is, after all, the film that made Lee in the East....

Brilliant, just brilliant....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2007
This is a very good martial arts movie and probably Bruce's most violent and bloody one. Out of his five films this one comes fourth, in my opinion. But since all of his films are absolutely bloody brilliant, that's not a bad thing at all. This new Platinum Edition is absolutely fantastic, and a dream come true for all Bruce Lee fans, with some very interesting extras for you to loose hours of your life watching.

The only off-putting thing about this film, or even this DVD package, is the overly exaggerated sound affects whenever somebody throws a punch or lands a kick. But trust me, I've heard worse!!!

Buy this DVD!
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
We were horrified when we heard of the violence in this film in the playground from poorer families than ours, but, by the time we got to see it (12+) we quite relished it. Technicolour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
The default version is Cantonese so you have to choose the English version in the menu. The music is different in the Cantonese version.

The one thing that lets this English version down is when Bruce Lee is alone with his thoughts by the stream (1 hour 26 minutes into the film). The voice is different from his English voice throughout the film. The additional music sounds like something from a 1950s 'B' western.

Although the editing is all over the place, the film still has heart and soul.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
Brilliant movie, Bruce's acting and martial arts is breathtaking at times.
He even plays a very convincing "drunk" in one of the scenes!
The picture quality was superb also.
I would have given it five stars except for the fighting sound effects and
some of the fight scenes seemed as if they were "cut"!
I would have to take a star away because of this.
Either than that, really good movie, from a massive "Bruce Lee fan".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2009
This the film that made Bruce Lee's a major start. It may not be as good as his later films such as Fist of Fury, Enter the Dragon and Way of the Dragon but is still a very entertaining film. The action scenes with Bruce are as allways great but I found the fighting scenes which didnt have him quite poor.

Still a must see for Martial Arts fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2009
Not one of my fave Bruce Lee movies, but still great.

But...

A few times, you hear the sound effects before they even get hit.

And the English dubbing is ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE. It's just atrocious. It's SO bad. Don't even bother to try and put it on.

Movie: 8/10
Dubbing: 2/10
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
Better than I remembered, a must for any lee fan!! I had this on video yrs ago and hadn't seen it since then. Very pleased with the prompt delivery service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2010
This was the movie that catapulted the young Bruce Lee to international superstar status and defined him as a legend in the world of martial arts and movie-making. Made on a tiny budget under harsh, sweltering conditions somewhere in Thailand, it is without doubt Bruce's on-screen presence that makes it such a classic, as is often the case in his films. In this film Bruce plays a "simple guy who accepts what he's told as the truth and then goes all animal when he realises he's been had". A down-to-earth country boy who comes to work in an ice factory in Thailand, Bruce realises his co-workers keep going missing and later discovers that illegal drugs are being hidden in the ice. Under an oath to his mother not to fight, he must refrain from using violence early on in the film until eventually he is given no other choice. This is when we get to see the young Bruce in action, making his trademark cat-like screeching sounds and destroying anyone foolish enough to take him on with a devastating array of fighting moves. It is the speed, power, energy, realism and dynamic athleticism of Bruce's martial prowess combined with his natural charisma and unique expressions and mannerisms that makes this film amazing to watch again and again. Any fan of Bruce Lee and martial arts will be inspired by his performance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)