Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
61
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 January 2017
Seeing this movie for the first time in 20 years took me back. When I was a boy I stayed up every Friday night to watch the adventures of Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee, Horror Express always being one of my favourites with the two legendary actors.

The film takes place on a speeding train after Christopher Lee's character attempts to transport an ancient fossil in a large crate. As it turns out, the animal is not as dead as it looks and it goes on a killing spree. The plot is simple, easy to follow and is actually quite unique. There are some great lines from Cushing and Lee, both of whom put on their typical excellent performances. The supporting cast ranges from decent to poor, in typical early '70s fashion. All of which looks sillier since the audio has clearly been over dubbed (English and Italian). But it is far from the worst out there.

Looking at the movie now, it has clearly aged. The film is a little grainy with some white speckles popping up every now and again. It is far from a smooth transfer. It is over 40 years old now and a film that hasn't had great treatment through out that time period. However, it holds up quite well with this easily being the best print available.

The film in my opinion holds the same pleasurable fun as a film like The Exorcist. Had the film not had some of the flaws that it does, I reckon it'd be just as good.

(This review is for the Italian edition Cult Media 960109)
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Peter Cushing, Christopher Lee and Telly Savalas ( for about 10 mins ). Really fun story that is 70's madness. Not to spoil the film it is a mishmash of different horror ideas with some light humour thrown in. The Blu ray is ok for a film that was filmed on probably second class film stock bearing this in mind the colours are good and the sound track is clear but it still retains the damage of the original film stock. Bearing that in mind there are some excellent extras and the fact that it hasn't been released in England means this is the only way so far to watch this classic 70's horror - its interesting to note that this film was the first film that Cushing had done after his wife had died and was encouraged to do it as he was suffering badly from her loss - as a result of this Lee stepped in and worked with his good friend though this period. The results a fine horror gem with some class acts in it Savalas is hilarious in his brief appearance,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2008
!!! WARNING. MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS. !!!

When British anthropologist Alexander Saxton(Christopher Lee) brings his amazing discovery onto the Trans-Siberian Express, little does he know how he is putting all his fellow passengers lives in danger. His fossil, a humanoid encased in ice, found in the icy wastes of Manchuria, is very much alive, and soon the bodies start to pile up, each victim found with their eyes blinded and their brains wiped clean. Saxton teams up with his old sparring partner Dr Wells(Peter Cushing) to gain knowledge of, and destroy the creature. However, there is much more to this living relic than meets the eye....
This film, for far too long banished to public domain hell, turning up on bargain dvd releases with a dirty print, finally gets the release it deserves from Severin. Never has Horror Express looked so good, with full credits and a nice, crisp picture.
Horror Express manages to cross the horror and science fiction genres with consummate ease, its story rattles along as fast as the train the action takes place on, and has a number of excellent performances to recommend it.
Starting off as a straight horror, with a murderous ape man decimating the passenger list, the films masterstroke is to make the creature an alien, merely using the body of the creature as a temporary vessel. From then on, the alien organism moves from host to host, acquiring knowledge as it sucks its victims brains dry. For most of the story, the alien is ahead of the game, toying with its would be adversaries.
Apart from Cushing and Lee, who play so very well off eachother, sharing some sparkling dialogue, the most pivotal role goes to Alberto de Mendoza, who plays tormented priest Father Pujardov. Having declared the contents of Saxton's crate evil at the train station, Pujardov believes the alien to be Satan, his theory affirmed by the creatures glowing red eyes and modus operandi. One excellent scene has Pujardov stealing the eyeball of the creature from Saxton, as an offering to the shapeshifter. He finally gets his wish to serve the creature, as he is 'possessed' by it.
Other interesting characters aboard include a spy, a decadent Count and Countess, a scientist and a crazy Cossack, memorably played by Telly Savalas. There is also an incredibly haunting music score by John Cacavas that compliments the on-screen action perfectly.
Hell, the film even manages to become a period zombie piece towards its conclusion when the alien resurrects the sightless bodies of its victims to do its bidding. Not bad for a film whose idea was born from a need to use the model train left over from the filming of Pancho Villa.
First class entertainment, and a cracking dvd release by Severin, full of great extras. 5 out of 5.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
love this film remember it from when i was a child
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Good movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
horror classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
First off I'm sure you know the plot of this movie, who's involved, the bad dubbing, hairy hands, red eyes etc. etc. So let me tell you about the blu ray disc.
First off, the sound and picture quality is not great, it is poorer than some blu ray transfers (of similar aged movies) I've seen but Horror Express has never looked so good. This version is way better than the one I got on dvd years before, so for that reason it was worth the upgrade. Another reason are the extras. There are interviews with the director, producer, composer and surprisingly Peter Cushing (albeit an audio one from the early 70s). Each one is very different to the other and even though the producer and Peter Cushing interviews don't talk about Horror Express they are well worth a listen. Producer Bernard Gordon was blacklisted by Hollywood and his interview is very interesting. The Peter Cushing interview lasts for nearly the full run time of the movie itself and as such plays kind of like an audio commentary (with the film playing silently in the background). Add to this a trailer and an enthusiastic intro by the editor of Fangoria magazine and that's your lot.
All in all, a lot of love has been invested in giving this cult classic a good old fashioned brush up. Fans of the film will really appreciate this upgrade, just as I did. Well done Severin!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
This wasn't quite as scary as I remembered it being when I watched it 30 years ago, but it was, nevertheless, extremely entertaining. Top performances from those giants of horror, Cushing and Lee, are actually surpassed by Telly Savalas in his brief role as the arrogant Cossack leader, who takes his men in pursuit of the phantom wreaking havoc on a trans-siberian train. Silvia Tortosa adds glamour and beauty to the film as the Countess Irina and there's even a bit of humour thrown in for good measure.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
I was very disappointed by the bad quality of the recording. I would recommend to buy another version of the film (several alternatives are available on Amazon). The film is great, but the recording is dated and it shows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
Back in the 1980s I replaced most of my collection of 8mm movies with VHS and I have been going through a same process of upgrading to DVD for the last few years. This has given me the excuse to revisit many films that I have not seen for some time and I have watched this movie again just recently for the first time in several years.

This is a classic from 1972 starring Christopher Lee, Peter Cushing with guest star Telly Savalas. Not a Hammer film as often mis-credited but independently filmed in Spain for release with both English and Spanish soundtracks. Gene Martin had some unspent budget, some contract time for Telly Savalas and a train film set, and the movie was put together and filmed in almost record time, but was an instant success in British and Spanish cinemas.

An anthropologist ( Lee) has discovered a prehistoric humanoid frozen in China and is transporting it across Russia by train, as the ice thaws out something ancient and evil stalks the train, killing the passenger.

Well worth watching and a must for the serious horror movie collector.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)