Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 2 May 2017
It's okay - well, not really. It stinks. I kept wondering, while watching, what kind of audience it might have picked up. A number of excellent actors are wasted - Joan Greenwood and Roland Culver as well as Cushing, Pleasance and Milland. Why? What was going on in the minds of the people who wrote, produced and directed this garbage? Then, as a cat lover, I found it pretty offensive - as did my very gentle moggy.
No, nothing to recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2018
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2017
Mysterious, very creative.
Extraordinary.
Peter Cushing is always great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2016
HAPPY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2012
Both the Carlton and Network dvds are letterboxed with black bars. The Carlton dvd has subtitles and i thought it looked a little better. The only thing in favour of Network is the artwork and they included an interview with Peter Cushing.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2013
great film this really classic oldie thriller about killer cats dont miss out one of the films you will want to watch again
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2016
3 tales of how cats are the evil master race! On the plus side is a good cast headed by Peter Cushing (who never gave a poor performance), and the atmosphere is fairly good; the problem is of course the idiotic premise; non cat lovers will dismiss the notion of cats being intelligent (they can't be thought daft tricks like dogs); us cat lovers know otherwise, but evil intent, no way!
I'll just check this out with one of my 2 cats that's sitting next to my laptop, yep ok to post.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2012
The uncanny consists of three storys all of them portraying cats as evil creatures, now this film is mild by todays standard but in the 1970's i can imagine many cat owners at the time having second thoughts about their choice of pet after watching this film.

The film starts well with an author(peter cushing)going to see his publisher with his new book filled with stories he believes are proof that cats are evil.So the first story about a wealthy old woman begins, the woman has alot of cats and has decided to leave everything to them, not a decision that goes down well with those around her.

The second story is much different with a young girl having lost her parents in a plane crash she is sent to live with her aunt and uncle and their daughter who is less than friendly but the girl still has her pet cat and some books on black magic that her mother owned, a great recipe for revenge.

The third and final story, they have saved the best for last here with an actor(donald pleasence)and his mistress deciding to kill his wife so they can be together however his wife had a pet cat which he inherits and when the cat has kittens the actor takes them away from her and that leaves the cat with a desire for revenge.

Overall this is an excellent film, well written and directed with great performances from peter cushing and donald pleasence.If you are a fan of classic horror films then you are sure to find this one very enjoyable all the way through
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2011
This fim I have to tell you starting driving my cats mad, they scattered around the television whilst one overlooked to approve of the chaos. I would absolutely without a doubt watch it, perhaps I wouldn't spend £8 but it is comic and very cute at the same time whilst the horror of being physically attacked is actually quite scary!!!!! You'll without doubt find a few cats that look or resemble your very own. It is interesting to see them terrorising your enemies!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2016
had this on video years ago...saw it on here in DVD just had to have it, a great old film..classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse