Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
59
4.7 out of 5 stars
Peter Sellers Collection - Comic Icons [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 November 2011
The minute Peter Sellers discovered America (or vice versa) he became unfit for human consumption, but here are three early films made before the rot set in. Although I'm Alright Jack has to be the heavyweight of the collection, I particularly liked Only Two Can Play. I saw it when it came out all those aeons ago and always had a fond recollection of it, which was in no way diminished on viewing it again recently. The weakest by far was Heavens Above, which veered from being mildly amusing at the beginning until it degenerated into puerile nonsense by the end.
Still, Sellers himself managed to reign himself in for all 3 pictures in this collection, so that none of his latter day excesses,so beloved by his American fans, is in evidence here.
I would gladly have passed on Heavens Above, but in view of the very reasonable price, 2 out of three is quite good enough. The forth disc is a senseless collection of clips from just the kind of rubbish he devoted himself to from different films made on the other side of the pond.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
I'm alright Jack - if there's a better satire on unions/management then I don't know it. Sellers as Kite, the strikingly moustachioed Union leader, just about steals the show from the cuckoo in the nest Ian Carmichael.

Heavens Above is another striking Boulting Brothers satire on the church in society, as relevant today as it was when it was made. Appealing air of innocence in both these films that encourages you to watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 January 2016
Good to have these three films which I enjoy and am glad to have in my library.

However only four stars as the fourth disc is a short compilation of scenes from many films, but the titles are not given when being shown, only at the end. Somewhat unhelpful.

The other downside is no subtitles for the hard of hearing. I know it did not mention but these days many DVDs do manage to include this feature. However if considering purchasing and you have trouble hearing then this might be a note of caution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 August 2016
Fabulous selection of truly impressive classics. They really deliver a punch in terms of hard-edged social comment!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I love Peter Sellers and apart from one or two of the later Pink Panther can do no wrong.
The films are well known and the set is worth the money
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
A wonderful chance to experience the multi-layered actor that was Peter Sellers.
The collection contains 3 great films, all of them from the 60's heyday of British cinema.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
All three films are brilliant. I especially liked Heavens Above. The Smith family are hilarious. Great acting on all parts. Sellers at his best in these films where he plays totally different and believable characters in each role.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
What can you expect from the late great Peter Sellers in this great collection of classic B/W films. Worth watching even for nostalgia!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
its sellers you either love him or hate him guess which camp I fall into, go on give yourself a little star if you said I love him
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
There was, and always will be, only one Peter Sellers and this collection shows him at his most magnificent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)