Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
115
4.0 out of 5 stars
Dracula Prince Of Darkness [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 June 2017
They sure don't make 'em like this classic! Lock up your daughters and get the garlic necklaces out! Christopher lee was the best Dracula, like Boris Karloff was the best Frankenstein.
This film is the one for the die hard horror fans and is always worth having in your horror collection. A very fast response from the seller and I happily recommend this seller to anyone who wants a fast response of a quality item.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Smashing film!! My all-time favourite Christopher Lee in this film and a great one it is too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
Brilliant film. Christopher Lee at his best and a top class supporting cast, plus the advantages of Blu-ray. No more needs to be said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
THE MOVIE

DRACULA: PRINCE OF DARKNESS is the first sequel to 1958's Hammer classic Dracula and not only one of the best Hammer Dracula movies, but also one of the best Dracula/Vampire movies in general.
Needless to say that Christopher Lee gives another superb performance as the Count, relying only on body language, his presence and charisma and mimic, as again he does not speak a single word, which is very effective as it makes him more menacing. As usual he steals the show.
Unfortunately Peter Cushing does not reprise his role in PRINCE OF DARKNESS, but there are a number of good actors to make up for his absence, namely Andrew Keir, Francis Matthews, Charles Tingwell, Barbara Shelley and Suzan Farmer.
Great direction by Terence Fisher, who doesn't rely much on effects and gore, but on a good score. I especially like the way Dracula feeds by lifting his cape, the camera remains in a distance and the picture fades out. That is brilliant filmmaking without special effects, but very effective. The actual violence is only imagined.
The very few effects PRINCE OF DARKNESS has are very dated and won't shock anyone anymore. This definitely could be a PG today.
I prefer these Hammer Dracula's to any modern Dracula movie, even to 1992's Bram Stoker's DRACULA or INTERVIEW WITH A VAMPIRE.

RATING: 10 / 10

THE BLU-RAY

Reviewed version: 2012 StudioCanal UK Blu-ray
Feature running time: 90 mins. (Unrated)
Rating: Unrated (MPAA) / 15 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.36:1 / 16x9
Audio: English 2.0 Mono
Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired
Chapters: 12
Extras: Commentaries, Behind the scenes, World of Hammer, Documentary, Restoration comparison, Trailers
Region: B (locked)

Picture quality: C (average picture quality, nothing spectacular)
Audio quality: B (remarkably good for 2.0 mono)
Extras: A (plenty of new extras)
22 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
Various reviews have surfaced online that report noticeable audio sync issues on both the blu ray and DVD copies in this set. I have cancelled my pre-order until such time that this issue is fixed and either a re-release happens or a replacement disc is announced. Very disappointing news for Hammer fans who have looked forward to a decent home video release of this film.
2020 Comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
I have just done a like-for-like comparison with my really old Anchor Bay DVD copy and though on that the sound has a kind of divorced pro-synced look and sound, the blu-ray is definitely out of sync and badly so at certain points.
Also DNR (Digital Noise Reduction) has been applied quite aggressively in some places. Notably in the flashback to the original Hammer Dracula at the beginning. I was quite horrified when I first put the disc in. It has a real painting-by-numbers look about it, with all the tones flattened out. I suspect some idiot who hasn't a clue what they were doing thought all that smoke over the image was wrong. Admittedly the rest of the film visually gets better after that truly awful opening.
It beggars belief a lot of the website reviews have not picked up on this really sub-standard release. Plus even the Hammer restoration website tried to tell us everything was alright.
I suggest we all reject this release so something will be done.
What a shame after the superb Quartermass and the Pit blu-ray.
44 Comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
Well I got the replacement discs today and it's a vast improvement. The sound issues have been corrected, the pretitle sequence has been totally redone. I0000% better. Still not happy at the amount of DNR in the main film but it's still the best version to date until we see what any USA company does.
Impressed with the fact that Studio Canal listened to the complaints. Hopefully there will be no more problems with the widescreen hammer films and leave the grain alone.........

Roger Shore
99 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
Having watched them all recently, I am awarding this one the accolade of best Hammer Dracula! It has its flaws and the second half of the film is weaker than the first and feels rushed (budget constraints, one imagines) but this is the only one in the series that created any real tension. It is a frightening tale, recounted as such, without any of the ‘Carry On’ slapstick and poor acting that affected the later offerings. Made 10 years after the original Hammer Dracula, a fine film, it benefits from losing much of the 50’s stiff-upper lip, restrained dialogue - plus we get to see a little more of the fantastic Barbara Shelley than we did the wonderful Melissa Stribling! Andrew Keir’s vampire expert is just as convincing as Cushing’s van Helsing and steals the film with some powerfully delivered lines (‘Just because it isn’t marked on the map doesn’t mean that it doesn’t exist: STAY AWAY FROM IT!!!!!)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
my favurt hammer movie of all time 10 out 10 simon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Just as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)