Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
163
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2014
A good movie, also a lot of scares from the master of suspense, in this classic film. It never seems to be outdated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Yes they digitised the spider and the devil running through the door but to be fair it doesn't ruin the movie it makes it look slicker - nice documentary and great performances to a great film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
I had already decided to keep my original Anchor Bay DVD, in addition to buying the BD, just by virtue of the fact that the cover art is fantastic. Now that I have read that Hammer have tampered with one of their greatest titles I have decided to cancel my pre-order. The transfer of the Anchor Bay DVD is a great one anyway, so no great loss there.
Hammer are completely out of step with their audience here. Much of the appeal of the movies is that they are of their time. As well as the great performances by the casts and the great sets, direction etc, they have a nostalgia value which is not to be underestimated. If we wanted modern effects, we would watch something more recent, of its time. They have missed a trick with this one.
The people behind these restorations seems to be going off on their own tangent. I have spent a kings ransom on my Hammer collection and am just the sort of person which the company relies on to keep buying their new releases but I'll be holding onto my Anchor Bay DVD until a BD comes out which shows some respect for the original and improves on it, rather than tries to airbrush over it.
44 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
I was very much looking forward to this Blu-Ray release of "The Devil Rides Out" because it is certainly one of Hammer's best films, with superb performances by the cast and beautiful direction by Terence Fisher. However, unlike most reviewers here, I think it is one of the worst film-to-video transfers I have ever seen.

The image has clearly been transferred using an abnormally high gamma curve, which has resulted in stretched blacks and compressed whites. Faces look flat and devoid of proper tonal gradations, and highlights lack any 'kick'. Colours look artificially enhanced, and frequently lean too much towards blue, making flesh tones unnaturally magenta (although, as with everything else, there's no consistency about this). In the accompanying documentary, the people who did the transfer said that they were trying to give it the "Technicolor" look, which perhaps explains why colours are so bright and garish - the trouble is, they have overdone this and the colours just look unnatural.

The grading between shots is dreadful. In the scene where the Duc and Rex break into Simon's house in the dark, there is a close 2-shot of the pair in the hall which then cuts to a high-angle shot of Rex going up the stairs. The 2-shot is dark and gloomy (as it should be), but the high-angle shot has been graded so that the house suddenly looks like it is lit up like Marks & Spencers! Frankly, the grading is so crass that I wonder whether it was just done by a computer, trying to average out the brightness level of each scene.

Sadly, this transfer looks like it was done by amateurs. The cinematographer, Arthur Grant, would be horrified if he were still alive. It is a hugely missed opportunity, and I would urge any film-lover to avoid this Blu-Ray release like the plague. Studio-Canal's previous DVD releaseThe Devil Rides Out [DVD] [1968] is infinitely superior: more natural colours, a proper tonal range from blacks to whites, and a decent grade. It's also got the original effects, of course.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2010
This film is definitely one of the best of the Hammer films, and I've got them all.
I have to admit I didn't buy any of them as I taped them off late night tele in the 1980s on VHS, and recently copied them all onto DVD. But I watch them regularly and have to say that no other film company has ever matched Hammer for atmosphere.
However, The Devil Rides Out is fairly unique in that Christopher Lee is the chief 'Goodie' rather than in his usual role of chief 'Baddie'. Not entirely in line with the book in that the ending doesn't involve flying over half of Europe and going to the top of a Greek mountain, but none the worse for that, and some of Dennis Wheatley's more politically incorrect observations have been necessarily omitted, but still in my opinion one of the best horror films ever made.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
Excellent hammer horror, very atmospheric and well made for its time.
Its been over twenty years since I have seen this film, great fun.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
one of three of my favorite films ever had it on vidio for years so thrilled with dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
The kind of sensory assault that I've come to think of as synonymous with latterday 'Horror' cinema is largely absent here, with the excellent cast expertly intimating the dreadful much more than the latter is shown. Rather this is the kind of film where the gorgeous settings, lush period detail, fine score, compelling plot and truly excellent performances coalesce to hypnotise one as if whispering in your ear (or holding your gaze from the rear-view mirror). Christopher Lee plays the Duc the way you wish the aristocracy were: civilised, warm, cultured, noble - a natural leader. I've never see him better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
My favourite ever film. An absolute Masterpiece. Charles Grey is magnificent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
I bought the Blu Ray version with some apprehesion, as i only read the most recent reviews which did not approve of the modifications to the special effects.

Ignore these reviews, they are complete nonsence, you would have to have both versions playing side by side to notice the difference, i know, i also have the original. The changes are slight & are an improvement and do not detract from a great Hammer movie. The colours have been restored to their original splender, also the film is a massive improvement on the book, which i also bought. Buy..Buy..Buy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse