Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
26
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2011
What can you say? I am sure Greene wouldn't turn in his grave to find his name on this box. I originally bought it in order to get a sensibly priced and reasonable quality copy of the classic Third Man, with a bit of extra footage. But Heart of the Matter: a superb performance by Howard. Brighton Rock will be forever Brighton Rock. Fallen Idol will not disappoint as I get to better appreciate Richardson's performance.

I'm sure I'll be viewing these again and have already lent them to a younger film buff, who is going to be in for a treat. I didn't think the sound quality was lacking for an old classic. You wouldn't expect a 1930s Bugatti to always sound like a Prius.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2010
This boxed set is excellent except for the sound. The sound is so poor that it is difficult to understand what is being said.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2011
This collection contains the Fallen Idol, Brighton Rock, the Third Man and the Heart of the Matter. Three of those films are excellent. Brighton Rock could be shown today in cinemas - it tones down the violence of the novel so that it is pallatable for an audience whilst retaining suspense. The Third Man is a classic film noir. The only fly in the ointment is the Heart of the Matter, which is badly acted and put together, with subplots and characters left out or watered down. The plot ending was changed so that the central point of the story (the heart of the matter!) was lost. But the boxset is still very good value for money as the other three films are so good. Also, the set is nicely presented and was delivered quickly.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2008
All of the films in this collection are well worth seeing, and more than once. My favourites are "The Fallen Idol", an intimate, suspenseful film in which Ralph Richardson plays an unusual role, and "The Heart of the Matter" in which Maria Schell is particularly affecting. "The Third Man" is probably the best of the films in this set, but it was also the one disc with a manufacturing fault - and for that reason I have taken a star off the rating. The other films are good digital transfers.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2009
All the films in this collection are first-rate, each with distinctly outstanding performances from the likes of Joseph Cotten, Trevor Howard, Richard Attenborough and Ralph Richardson. DVD quality is also very good, although obviously the US Criterion blu-ray is the way to go for Reed's masterpiece THE THIRD MAN. Greene is extremely well represented here by films all worthy of his work. Superb cinema at a great price.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
This is the cheapest way of getting Brighton Rock. To buy it on it's own costs more than this box set.
Richard Attenborough's chilling performance of "Pinky" is haunting. William Hartnell (Dr Who) is in this film too.
A good collection of Graham Greene's work.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
We read Brighton Rock for our Book Group, and subsequently did the film for the Film Group! The movie was not totally true to the book,but captured the dark underbelly of Brighton post war-would still recommend!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
This collection is wonderful and these films will bear watching over and over. The Third Man is an atmospheric masterpiece. The Heart of The Matter is gripping. Brighton Rock is a one off and Fallen Idol is a hidden gem. I like the fact (wherever you stand on Catholicism) that these films, like Graham Greene's books do not shy away from presenting you with complex moral dilemmas and make you ask - just what is right and wrong. Perhaps this is something we need a bit more of in these troubled times. Who can you trust?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
The movies were, as far as I could tell, excellent. But the transfers are dreadful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
There are some terrific movies here; some better known than others but all well worth watching. I think the collection is a great addition for any movie enthusiast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
null