Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
18
4.9 out of 5 stars
Elite Beat Agents (Nintendo DS)
Price:£32.00+ £3.99 shipping

on 15 February 2009
Like many i bought this because it looked different and because of all the reviews, and i have to say i love this game!
Okay, solving various problems by dancing does seem a bit ridiculous, but hey, this isn't real life, and it is brilliant fun. You start on breezin' then move to cruisin and then sweatin, the level i'm currently on. I love the comic strip animation and in no way is it bad. It is usually funny, but mission 12 nearly made me cry, so it can go to many levels without trying to go overboard. It is bright and colourful and very addictive- i was playing it in bed, something i never do!
There are a few slight niggles with this game- the first being that as you dance, there is action going on at the top of the screen, which can be very distracting, especialy in the later levels where it gets harder and something catches your eye. You only have to take a quick glance and you lose the beat. The second being how hard it gets- it happens quite quickly and throws you in the deep end before you know it. I found the last two songs were very difficult on breezin level and it took me ages to do. I'm now stuck on mterial girl because of the sudden jump- lucky i love thisbgame so much!
There are three tips i'd like to give you- buy screen protectors because you will end up bashing the screen. These should be the first thing you buy anyway for games like zelda, nintendogs and drawn to life where a lot of rubbing is required. Second- after you play the game, re-calibrate the screen because i haven't done it and it sometimes doesn't respond, so i'll be doing it shortly. Lastly, don't rely on the circles- follow the beat of the music. Before you know it, you'll be tapping along and not even notice the circles. Just let the music take you!
I love this game- it's different to everything else on offer and so much fun. You'll be trying to beat your best score before you know it. So come on, let's dance!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 October 2007
Elite Beat Agents is another one of those DS games that are easy to learn, tough to master and appeal to people of all ages. You will have a lot of fun with this game and it's the kind of thing you can pass around on Christmas day. The challenge level is just right and oh boy is it addictive. This is one of the few games with an `expert' mode that you will actually want to play through once you've beaten the normal setting.
For my money the songs and the humour are more fun in Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan! (the original Japanese version of the game). But Elite Beat Agents is just as entertaining to play, cheaper then an imported game and has English menus.
Hardcore gamers will love the challenge. Everybody else will enjoy tapping their DS along to the music. Either way this is one of those games that is definitely worth getting hold of.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2007
I want to start out by saying in no way is this a substandard version of the Japanese original, Ouendan. The flaws have been ironed and the western flair really adds a lot for me. Yes, this game is absurd, outrageous and extremely wacky, but it's so much fun tapping out the beats to some catchy tunes!

Sure, the game is challenging, but for the newcomers you get a literal helping hand to show you what to do, and there's a gradual progression as songs get increasingly more difficult. That's not a problem though, because you'll rise up through the ranks nice and quickly and eventually you'll be stepping out with some insanely fast rythms!

In short, this game is pure fun and it really does have that addictive quality that makes you keep coming back to better your old high scores and unlock some extra tracks! Let the good times uuh, spin!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2008
So, here you have the "Westernised" version of the Ouendan series, a rythmn-action game, and, fan of the genre or not, I certain you'll enjoy it.

It works like this, you select a mission for the Elite Beat Agents to take, the EBA are a special government unit that helps people in need by, well, dancing. As expected, the agents are always there to help, and each mission has a song that's vaguely related to the problem at hand. As for the actual gameplay, it's all about the beat. Markers appear on the screen, all you have to do is tap them along with the beat when prompted by a circle that decreases in size. When the circle decreases to the size of the marker, you tap and are given a score based on your accuracy.

The overall main goal of each mission, is to accurately hit the beat markers to keep your "Yes" bar up. This "Yes" bar is basically the enthusiasm and quality of dancing the EBA can perform to help the person in need. If the bar gets to the bottom, as a result of missed notes, you'll fail and the person in need will be at loss.

What's surprising about such a simple concept is the depth and addictiveness of it all. The stories of the characters are told so well you'll actually care about the outcome and you'll find yourself getting really into the experience. The level of excitement you'll feel by the last level is almost bizarre.

There's a limited single card multiplayer along with a downloadable demo for those who don't have the game, I've not played it in multiplayer but I can guess it'll be just as good.

Overall, it's a fantastic game, the visuals are simplistic but a lovely comic book stlye, and there's plenty to keep you coming back, improve scores, ranking, or just for the experience all over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2007
I guess you could describe EBA as being the lovcchild of Dance Dance Revolution and the Nintendo DS. But what a child!

This is quite simply a must-buy for any DS user. No game uses its touch screen technology as much as this one, and through its humour, replayability and sheer fun you'll spend hours upon hours trying furiously to keep up with this high-paced rhythm game.

A number of people post videos of their EBA exploits on Youtube, and this is probably the best way to see how the game looks. Don't be put off by how difficult it will look - these are just the guys doing the hardest level at the hardest setting. Sit back and enjoy the witty comic-book scenarios, the cheesy music and the funky dancing of the Elite Beat Agents themselves.

And after that, come back here and order it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2008
I'm a fairly new convert to rhythm games. I bought one of the Dancing Stage games and a mat for my fiancee and was eventually persuaded to try it myself. From there it wasn't a big step to Guitar Hero (on both the Wii and the DS). I saw that Elite Beat Agents seemed to have been getting good reviews in lots of places, and Amazon were selling it for just over a tenner, so I figured I'd give it a try.

The opening stage pretty much set the tone for the rest of the game. The game alternates between gameplay and short humorous cutscenes, so you're not tapping through the entire game. The stories are incredibly silly and don't make much sense (and quite how three male cheerleaders can influence the situation is never explained). But it's fun to have them there rather than simply following the rhythm for its own sake.

Personally I enjoy Guitar Hero on the DS a little more, but Elite Beat Agents is a very good runner-up. Both games manage to squeeze an impressive amount of music into a DS cartridge. It's always going to be a bit of a compromise (sound quality vs number of songs) and I think they both get the balance just right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2008
Basically when I first played this game I thought it would be a laugh, but not really THAT challenging, imagining it would be simple rythyms. 5 hours later and a few levels in, I saw just how wrong I was. Incredibly addictive and fun, this game can eat away your time. Also the songs, although not immense quality, are all the full versions of the song, and really are quite well chosen. On top of this the storylines, which are difficult to watch while playing, are really well animated, and funny, with some incredibly wacky missions. If you also have played rayman raving rabbits 2, on the music levels, you will find out tht this is child's play compared to EBA. Incredible game, would recommend to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2008
The concept is bizzare - you have to tap the screen in time with the music to get the 'agents' to dance which helps the game's characters to overcome various problems in their life.

This is irrelevant to the game itself which is very simple fun and addictive. Some songs are better than others, but you get really into each of them when you have to tap and slide the stylus in time to the music.

Completing the game on easy is, as expected, relatively easy but the game becomes more challenging when you unlock the advanced difficulty levels.

I would definitely recommend that you add this game to your collection no matter what type of game you like to play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2008
My uncle bought this game for my DS last year. when I first played the game I thought it was really funny at first because I was so rubbish at the game. I started to play for a bit and then I became hooked on it. My favourite song is "The Anthem" by Good Charlotte, playing along to this one is really fun especially on the really hard level. I would recommend this game to anyone who loves music and action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
If you've never played Elite Beat Agents, now's your chance. Quit possibly the most bonkers DS game; 'Agents sees you play the role of three dance specialists whose moves are capable of avoiding potential catastrophes. Essentially just a rhythm game using the stylus, but the excellently depicted off-the-wall scenarios take this game into the realms of cult classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)