Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
52
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 December 2006
I bought this as soon as it came out on the strength of enjoying Long Way Round and wasn't disappointed. It follows Charley Boorman and crew on his preparation and participation of the world renowned Dakar rally and shows the struggles and high points of the most dangerous rally in the world. I was impressed by the strength of the whole team especially Simon Pavey and Patsy Quick who had great mental strength. Even though it lacks the Ewan McGregor element it proves that Charlie can do a great series without him and he is highly entertaining. It also made me realise that this wasn't simply a silver spoon actor following a whim but a serious challenge and as they reach the final stages it almost brough a tear to my eye.

The only down side to this DVD is that I've watched it and have to wait for the next one!
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
very good DVD but lots of swearing so carful if you watch it with the kids
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2006
Highly watchable and fascinating. Far less jokey and fun than LWR, but properly so; this is a seriously punishing race, and the series conveys astonishingly well the anguish and hurt involved, and we glimpse the irrational but intoxicating spirit that drives these people on day after day.. Boorman carries the series well, and to his immense credit doesn't dominate; his support team are all given their fair dues, we share their journey as well. A worthy piece of viewing; unfortunately it probably falls too far in the shadow of LWR, but then again so will the recently announced Ewan and Charlie "Long Way Down".
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Bought as a present recipient loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
Great watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2009
Bought this DVD on spec as we'd watched the other Ewan/Charlie DVds and seen By Any Means. Race to Dakar did not disappoint - plenty of Charlie with his very natural and unpretentious on screen style, lots of African scenery and lots of drama. Only gripes: the highly annoying theme tune, which you got to hear too often because of the highly annoying recaps and pre-caps which you got to see too often because of the highly annoying ad-break style sections to the programmes. I accept that this must have been made for a commercial channel, but I really don't need reminding of the plot every ten minutes.

Never mind: overall very good and you can fast-forward through the bits which would have been either side of ad breaks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2007
An account of how dreams become a reality. It shows that you really can try and do something significantly outside of your comfort zone. It shows all the preparations and the Lisbon-Dakar journey itself through the eyes of Charley and his two other partner riders, as well as their back up team. You get the a true sense that you are with them - going through their highs and their lows. You see just how dangerous this event is. I know nothing about motorbikes, but found the DVD just as rivetting as Long Way Round. Whilst Charley and all the other contestants might all be crazy, they all deserve our utmost respect!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2007
knowing how this ended (I won't spoil it for you!) before watching and being a big fan of long way round I had low expectations of this video, but having just finished it - I thoroughly enjoyed it. I had to keep reminding myself that Charlie is an actor, and you have to question how much is actually staged. Eg the camera is running in the production office exactly when the phone rings from Africa ? Maybee? The other slight irritation was Ewan MacGregor poping up to keep kissing Charlie although he didn't seem to have any role other than star power. The main story though portrays how much preparation (and cost) needs to go into something like this, and how incredibly hard and brutal the rally is. Like bikes and adventure - recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
If you're going to set yourself a 'biking' challenge then this is it. To compete in thousands of miles of off road desert racing through Africa, on a motorcycle, persued by a hoard of manic racing cars and trucks must rank right at the top of the list. All credit to LWRs Charlie Boorman for being good to his word and taking on this mammoth task.
This seven episode series takes you through from the conception of entering the rally, preparation, departure to the race itself all the way to the finishing line in Dakar.
It's a brilliant tribute and insight into the bravery and madness of everybody concerned with the race as a whole and with some excellent camera work really submerges you into the power and adenaline of the event. The use of helmet cameras with live comentry from the riders, aerial photography, stage end interviews and footage of the support team is all balanced and edited together very well.
In fact one of the most enjoyable parts of the production is the even coverage of all the people involved, from Charlie and his two fellow racing team mates to the crew, camermen etc.
Make no mistake this is as much a motorcycle adventure as LWR and LWD, it differs only as it's an actual race instead a time scheduled trip. The characters of all the participents is brought to the fore, their pain, discomfort, exhaustion and ultimately their total support for each other make this a really authentic study of loyalty, strength and companionship.
For anybody interested in motorsport, especially bikes, this is an excellent behind the scenes documentry of a very dangerous sport and what it is that sets these racers apart. Brilliant
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)