Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
68
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2017
I normally like Trollope's works, they are light and generally have happy endings. But the romantic entanglements in this are dull and tedious. Would not watch it twice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Great story .....great cast....well made....Mr suchet is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Brilliant performances
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Great acting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
Love David Suchet. He is his usual brilliant self in this mini series. Lighthearted witty wacky and entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
Quite an insight into how different characters of a different era held their priorities in life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
As excellent as when we first saw it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2015
Superb acting. Good screen adaptation of on of Trollopes best novels
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2007
Anthony Trollope's tail of deception, greed and social climbing may be set in the 1800's but is as pertinent today as then. Augustus Mellmotte is a devil - complete with charm by the bucket, cunning and guile he arrives in London and sets about hosting stunning parties, forming limited companies and clawing his way into the best circles. The aristocracy may not approve of him - but they do approve of his apparant wealth and he has no shortage of backers when he announces his plans to build a railway in Mexico.

But Mellmotte is a fraudster of the highest order and those who look like unmasking him soon see the real man - cold, threatening, bullying. As Mellmotte sets his sights on Parliament his web of deceit begins to unravell and his house of cards looks set to crash down - taking many of the top British families who invested in him with it.

With lavish costumes and a flawless cast, this is a must-see DVD of a great book. If you enjoyed seeing David Suchet's recent portrayal of Robert Maxwell you may well believe that his performance as Mellmotte was instrumental in landing him that role!
11 Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2008
This production seems to have attracted low ratings from those who have read the book - I haven't and coming to it with an open mind I think it is brilliant. I originally watched when it was first broadcast, and have just rented it from Amazon. I enjoyed it so much the second time that I've ordered a copy. One reviewer criticised the acting - were we watching the same thing? David Suchet, Matthew McFadyen & Shirley Henderson in particular are outstanding. Rather than portraying Marie as an imbecile (as one review suggests) I saw Marie as a young woman of great spirit and strong will. I've also been a fan of Matthew McFadyen since first seeing him in this. In addition there were some lovely touches of humour that had me laughing aloud. Well done to all involved. PS the extra feature on Trollope is also worth watching and explains some of the changes made from the book.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)