Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
46
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2017
I first heard of the tube when I seen the DVD of it on amazon. When I watched it I thought it was good. It is like Top Of The Pops.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
Lovely to see the series again about the hustle and bustle of The Tube. Coolest gift he has been given for a long time my nephew says. The whole family has been enjoying watching these DVD's. So all thumbs up.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
I initially got this as a recommendation from a friend because i had enjoyed The grey whistle test so much, The Tube has got alot less organization however its what really gives the feel of what the eighties were really like! Crazy and fun! its got some fantastic rare footage of guys like Sting, Iggy Pop, Mick Jagger and bands like Yazoo..who i always forget how amazing Alison Moyets voice is. Just Fantastic 2 disc dvd collection. id definitely recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2010
Great show. We just need volume 2 out in DVD. There's so many more bands that were not on volume 1
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
A great snap shot of my early Friday evenings in the 80's...
The interviewing is amateurish and trite.....which I think is what gives it the "charm"
...but the music is what it's all about. I don't think any other show has had the variety of styles that THE TUBE gave...
So, for those of you who want to re-live those Friday evenings, be aware it's not as good as it seemed all those years ago - but it's still great fun!!!!!....
and for those of you who want to see, music played well and from lots of genres, from a time when fashion regularly mixed up its arse with its elbow.............give it a go!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
A great bit of nostalgia from the early 80's where the Tube broke ground for the new Channel 4.

Along the lines of The Old Grey Whistle Test, the tube mixed pop performance and interviews with new bands and new releases of music before it hit the charts.

Ably fronted by Paula Yates and Jools Holland and supported by a cast of interviewers including Muriel Gray, the series did behave like the original Ready Steady Go type of music show, indeed looking back now at some of the performers, you can see just how good many of them were live on stage often without the overdubs and backing musicians, in common with how many of them are on Jools Hollands 'Later' programs.

Great to see these old bands as they were in their heyday and interesting to note where they are now and who isn't talking to who nowadays!

This would have been better as a bigger DVD set with more live music on it, maybe covering the whole Tube run, but you never know, they just may do that.

Brilliant nostalgia anyway.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Not as good as I was expecting but with some classic moments. The guided tour of the Tyne Tees studio was a nice trip down memory lane. I used to really fancy Paula Yates when I watched the series in the 80s (when I was in my 20s) and was most upset when I heard of the sad news about her. She was a lady yet could give as good a she got, no mean feat. I respected her. Looking forward to playing disc two very soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
A great disc for people who love their music. Features Altered Images, OMD, Paul Young, and more early 80s artists. I wish it didn't feature that silly man Inbetween the music scenes has he's totally annoying! But apart from him and another silly presenter it's fabulous! First shown on Channel 4 in 1982-83
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2008
A fascinating insight into the worlds first underground railway, a must-have for anybody with an interest in the underground or railways in general.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)