Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
80
Time After Time
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 March 2017
Ever since i first heard Eva on a Terry Wogan show & fell in love immediately. When i watch her video or hear her sing i just want to cuddle her " sadly I'll never be able to now"......Anyway if i had have done I'd probably have been arrested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2017
LOVE IT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2017
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2015
Like this ladies music and this song
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 February 2003
I've just received an email from my friend Varna in Denver Colorado asking why I rave about Eva. Well it so happens I was listening to 'Time after Time' on my PC and replied that it's simple EVA has the Sweetest Voice I've ever heard, she arranges songs and plays a guitar like no one else. Just writing this review and reading other Amazon comments send shivers down my spine.
This CD is a superb collection of songs starting with the Paul Simon classic Kathy's song that Art and him sang so well she takes to another level. Bill Wither's Ain't no Sunshine with piano accompaniement and just on at the moment Joni Mitchell's Woodstock sung with so much passion and grace.
There is such a lovely mix from a touch of folk, blue in 'Way beyond the blue' a brilliant Vocal rendition. How she pulled off such quality, control etc is beyond most of us?
This CD is a great and lasting testiment to her a brilliant artist because that's simply what she was.
If it hadn't been for Paul Walters of the Terry Wogan BBC Radio 2 breakfast show it may have taken a bit longer for her talent to be recongnised here in England, but as soon as you hear the first notes from her guitar and voice you will realise why he had such faith and conviction.
This is certainly one of her best CD's if not the best just go out and buy it you won't be disappointed & if you want an excellent book on her life with pictures of her art you wno't go wrong with 'EVA Cassidy SONGBIRD, Her Story by those who knew her' ISBN 0-75284-779-1'.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2017
Another quality album from one of the greatest singers I have ever heard. Eva Cassidy's early death was a huge loss to music and to her devoted fans of whom I am one.
Gerry Mc Menemy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 March 2004
It's positively horrifying to grasp that Eva Cassidy died in her thirties, a victim of melanoma (skin cancer.) This talented singer had several careers; in between gigs, mostly near her hometown of Annapolis, Maryland, she worked as a landscaper and a mural artist. Some of her mural work can be seen in the Annapolis area and of course one speculates about the constant sun exposure in landscaping leading to her untimely death. She never wanted to become a huge recording or concert star, and it was almost always by word of mouth that people found out she was performing.
Once you hear her sing, it's an unforgettable event. The effect Eva has on me is to totally stop me in my tracks so I can listen intently to every single note and lyric. What's even more extraordinary is how she takes an overplayed, well-known pop piece such as "Time after Time", made hugely popular by Cyndi Lauper, and creates this song completely anew. I have no idea how Eva could do this, but it's true of everything she sung.
I got this album for the title cut alone, but every song on here is gold and honey. If I play the album too much because I end up getting so depressed that she's gone from us--but I enjoy every moment just the same.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2003
This is a fantastic album made up of songs to suit the tastes of everyone. certain classics such as "time after time" and "woodstok" are reinvented using her unique picking patterns. a must have album for any music lover- a fan of Eva Cassidy or not!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 February 2003
You'll listen to this many times over and hear something new each time.
Starting with a great rendition of Paul Simon's Kathy's song, Eva drifts effortlessly into Bill Wither's Ain't no Sunshine. She will take you on a journey several decades ago and bring a fresh interpretation to these famous songs.
There is so much feeling in all the tracks that you know she really understood and studies what the original authors of the songs wanted to convey.
As a Join Mitchelle fan I enjoyed the way Eva appraoched Woodstock and then in contrast finishes with a traditional gospel version of Way beyond the Blue combining extremely well with the choir. I think you might just join in clapping, humming and singing along. One to thoroughly enjoy.
I'll leave you to explore the remaining tracks some you may know and others perhaps not but enjoy them all I'm sure you will.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 November 2004
This album has to be listened to to be believed. It is simply amazing with more of my favourite songs all on one album. This album was released in 2000 even though Eva died in 1996 of cancer. Unfortunately, the album only reached number 25 in the charts unlike Songbird, Imagine and the most recent American Tune which all reached number 1.
For those that have never heard of Eva, she was an American whose style could never be categorised which proved to be the biggest downfall in her career as no one would sign her unless she was in a specific genre. I would say the style of this album is a little more folk and bluesy than some of her other albums and the tempo is a lot slower in e.g. Anniversary Song than you may find in other songs such as 'How Can I Keep from Singing?' on Eva by Heart/Wonderful World or 'Cheek to Cheek' found on Live at Blues Alley.
Eva manages to put her heart and soul into every song that she sings and each song will fit whatever mood you are in, whether it be love, sadness, or pure happiness. There is clarity not seen by today's modern artists and Eva's talent is hard to be described or discovered.
Fans all over the world have trouble putting into words the feeling and emotion they get from listening to her music and voice. Although some songs may not be perfect, it does not discourage from the emotion felt in her voice. 'Kathy's Song' and 'I wandered by the Brookside' are heart touching songs brilliantly covered and it's hard to believe that this voice also sang timeless classics such as 'Ain't no sunshine' and 'Way beyond the Blue'. You will be singing along, Clapping, Crying or tapping a foot in no time!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)