Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
78
4.8 out of 5 stars
Batman: The Animated Series - Volume Two [DVD] [2006]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 January 2014
I've re-watched a few cartoons from my childhood, and this is one of the few which has stood the test of time and still appeals to me now as an adult.

If you need to you can make most DVD players region free by:
1) press eject & leave tray open.
2) press 98790.
3) a message will appear saying region is now 0.

The episodes are ordered by the date they were made (1992-93) which is different to their first UK air dates, below is the order in which they appear on these DVDs (villains in brackets).

DISC 1
Eternal Youth (Poison Ivy)
Perchance to Dream (the Mad Hatter)
The Cape and Cowl Conspiracy (Josiah Wormwood)
Robin's Reckoning, Part I (Tony Zucco)
Robin's Reckoning, Part II (Tony Zucco)
The Laughing Fish (Joker)
Night of the Ninja (Kyodai Ken)

DISC 2
Cat Scratch Fever (Roland Daggett)
The Strange Secret of Bruce Wayne (Hugo Strange)
Heart of Steel, Part I (Holographic Analytical Reciprocating Digital Computer)
Heart of Steel, Part II (Holographic Analytical Reciprocating Digital Computer)
If You're So Smart, Why Aren't You Rich? (The Riddler)
Joker's Wild (Joker and Cameron Kaiser)
Tyger, Tyger (Emile Dorian)

DISC 3
Moon of the Wolf (Anthony Romulus)
Day of the Samurai (Kyodai Ken)
Terror in the Sky (Man-Bat)
Almost Got 'Im (Joker, Poison Ivy, Two-Face, Killer Croc, and Penguin)
Birds of a Feather (Penguin)
What Is Reality? (the Riddler)
I Am the Night (Jazzman)

DISC 4
Off Balance (Vertigo)
The Man Who Killed Batman (Sidney Debris)
Mudslide (Clayface)
Paging the Crime Doctor (Rupert Thorne)
Zatanna (Montague Kane)
The Mechanic (Penguin)
Harley and Ivy (Joker, Poison Ivy, and Harley Quinn)
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2017
After volume one I was eager to get onto this. Batman is Batman and just how I like him. Joker and other characters are portrayed brilliantly. Half way through currently and cannot say I have disliked any episodes. All have been good. Both volume 1 and 2 have been brilliant entertainment and value for money. Must buy for batman fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2017
It was good to watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2015
Class series.. Pity that only half the collection available for Europe region...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2017
Great, thank you very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2017
Again brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2015
great dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 April 2016
This DVD set is season 2 of Batman: The Animated Series (B:TAS). It is a continuation of the saga established in season 1, and it provides viewers with 28 more episodes from this timeless, classic show.

This is a truly awesome animated series. Batman has never been imagined or portrayed better. So influential was this series that it has inspired developments in DC Comics continuity (e.g. the introduction of Harley Quinn) and has led to big-budget video games that are semi-related to it (e.g. using many of the same voice actors).

While the show is, in many ways, aimed at adult viewers it nonetheless is thoroughly enjoyable by kids. I first watched this in my 20's, while my younger brother - aged just 7 - watched it with me. We both consider this Batman to be THE Batman.

The show serves as the basis for the wider DC animated universe (which consists of several series, including 'Batman Beyond' and 'Justice League Unlimited'). There are also several animated films set within this fictional universe.

This second season is excellent. Personally, I slightly prefer it to the first - as, here, the characters are now fully developed and allowed to demonstrate their skills and talents without hindrance. Yet there's very little in it ... all of the seasons (especially 1-3) could be watched back-to-back and you wouldn't really know where one ended and the next began.

Fantastic voice acting, art work, story-telling, and music. Batman doesn't get any better than this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2009
A Brilliant Animated take on the Batman. And in my opinion the best. I have volumes one and two but I am most chagrined that volumes 3 and 4 are not available in Region 2 DVD!!
55 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2005
Batman the Animated Series returns with a second helping of 28 episodes from the show, with more villains and appearances from Robin, Batman's sidekick in different episodes. In this boxset we get a closer look at Batman's past in episodes like Night of the Ninja where he was in Japan studying martial arts with his teacher Yoru Sensei, his adversary Kyodai Ken who hated Bruce Wayne because he got kicked out of the school for breaking into the dojo, and after all these years returns for a showdown against Bruce Wayne for revenge.
But he comes back for a second time in Day of the Samurai to kidnap Yoru Sensei's best student as a challenge for Batman to battle him one last time. The newest villain is the Riddler(Edward Nygma)who gets sacked from his job at a software company who immediately starts terrorising his old boss which means Batman & Robin come to the rescue, they then have to enter Nygma's own maze and save his boss from death, Nygma returns once more and begins causing havoc for banks and the stock exchange.
Whilst all this is going on a box arrives at Police Headquarters, Batman & Robin manage to crack the puzzle and discover a huge computer mainframe within, Robin hacks into the program to check it over but gets careless when Commissioner Gordon puts on one of the virtual reality helmets and gets trapped in the system leaving Batman to enter the program and save him!
The extras is fantastic, there's an interview with a few members of the cast including Kevin Conroy (Batman), Mark Hamill (The Joker), Adrienne Barbeau (Catwoman) & Efrem Zimbalist Jr (Alfred), as well as various writers and the team behind the show. I cannot praise this show enough for giving me hours of enjoyment watching Batman battle on foe after another throughout, I can't wait to buy Volume 3 when I get the chance, go on buy it, it's the best thing you'll ever do!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse