Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
25
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2011
Immortalised by Adam and Joe, Taffin has reached a new audience that would otherwise have missed out on it the first time around. Although it has to be taken with a rather large pinch of salt, this film will actually reward the viewer with a love of classic action movies. It's basically Death Wish meets Ballykissangel. Brosnan puts in a strong performance as the intellectual hardman alongside a who's who of Irish actors from the era. Even Father Ted and Father Jack make an appearance.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
this film is worth watching for the line delivered so well by Brosnan, "THEN MAYBE YOU SHOULDN'T BE LIVING HERE!!!"
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2001
Taffin is a film that should be up there in the ranks with other cult films such as Blues Brothers, Blade Runner, Animal House and suchlike. Pierce Brosnan from 1987 as a hard man debt collector - brilliantly acted, he is smooth as a cucumber.
55 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
An Irish debt collector is asked by his local community to help rid the town of developers bent on building a chemical plant on the outskirts of town.

The developers are ruthless and have sent their heavies into town to keep the locals quiet....

Brosnan plays the tough guy with aplomb in this, typical generic thriller from the eighties, which owes a lot to Burt Reynolds 'Malone'.

The only thing missing from this movie is a Leprechaun and Liam Neeson, because it's as Irish as can be. Everyone drinks Guinness, eats stew and knows Patrick Bergin. It's borderline archetypal to the demographic, but it's handled okay.

Brosnan is the thug with a heart, and we know this because he threatens people with a twinkle in his eye, loves his family. and takes great care of his hair.

it's all pretty bland stuff, and the Local Hero meets Rambo vibe doesn't really hold, but it's funny for all the wrong reasons.

The siege with the old man is funny, and for some reason, everybody shouts at one point in the film, and Brosnan wears dark glasses indoors at one point.

It's no wonder that this film has been forgotten about, because in all fairness, it's forgettable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Pierce Brosnan at his best - and in that I include his outings as Bond and after. An age old story of a man drawn back into his unsavoury past, and having to become again the very thing he is trying to escape from to save those around him who don't even respect him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 February 2013
Mark Taffin is a hard man and to prove it, he never shaves! There's a fair bit of action on offer here and the plot surrounding big business and small town corruption is interesting. I particularly like the scrap with the hired thug when Taffin holds aloft a shotgun saying "It's just you and me and one of these." There are plenty of well known faces in the cast and Brosnan is ably assisted by Alison Doody who is great as the love interest stranded in the small Irish town.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Good , i like this film i have watched this a few times over the years when it has been on tv , I got it at a good price so now its in my collection , its about some people who need some muscle & brosn .an is your man
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
I first heard about this film from the Adam and Joe radio show and the Bronhom's inmortal line about two thirds of the way through the movie.

It was on the BBC a few weeks back and the film actual made very good viewing. Deffinitly a cult classic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 August 2010
I reckon it is. A community cowed by unscrupulous big business, hired thugs ready to beat up naysayers, a hero with an unsavoury day job, and a hot blonde to keep him motivated.

Taffin is more realistic, both in the problems and the solutions. It lacks the cartoonish qualities which elevate Road House into the so-bad-its-good category; no improbable martial arts or lashings of beefcake here; just cool machismo and sawn-off shotguns. Taffin has more to fight for and to lose in a world we can believe in: Road House seems to function in a town where the police don't even exist.

Brosnan is excellent, as are all the cast (including Fathers Ted and Jack). If you know the big budget Road House, make an effort to see Taffin. He's alright.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2007
Taffin is a story you will be well familiar with as it's been done many times in may ways by many tough-guys. It basically goes: local tough guy gets called on to prevent conglomerate baddie from doing something nasty in his hometown due to crooked officials greedy dealings.

I enjoyed this film, not tremendously - but enough to while away an hour or so with interest, even though the conclusion was fairly predictable.

What I liked about the film was the setting, being a nice feel-at-home town, which was refreshing from the normal Americanised locations. Brosnan was superb, a good character, and well played. Throw in Alison Doody for some eye candy (she didn't do much else) and it was worth watching.

What I didn't like was a lack of effort in some parts. The 2.3 police in [whatever the town was called] were non-existent. Taffin seemed to have the freedom to run around threatening people without any likely consequences. Also, the whole chemical plant thing was so badly plotted that it was a bit of a farce, and stood out as being `thrown in for a reason to give Taffin something to do'. The baddie-thugs themselves were also rather weakly portrayed, and only really threatening to the imbecile locals in the town that objected to the plant being built.

So, good and bad points. If you're looking for a nice relaxed story, good setting, and to see a good act by Brosnan, then you should enjoy this, even though it's a bit dated now. If you're looking for high speed, adrenalin pumping thrills and action, you'll want to avoid this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)