Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Opera
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
15
4.4 out of 5 stars
Opera
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 October 2011
If you're looking at this CD because you want a nice collection of arias you don't need to look any further. Anna Netrebko has a such a glorious vocal tone that the days when a soprano meant grab the volume control are over. I have played this to many people who do not know opera and in every case they can listen to it long enough to like it. In short this is ideal for people who want to hear some lovely soprano arias that are well recorded and sung by someone incredibly special. It is quite possible she will change your life and suddenly 1 Opera Cd will become a collection. Anna is completely addictive BE WARNED.

I can see where this CD is a little 'manufactured', there are 4 arias from Traviata; but also 3 from Sonambula which is not, to my knowledege, out on CD so that's a bonus (why not DG?!) While many of the tracks here are available on Sempre Libera and Opera Arias, two other Netrebko CDs, I would still have to say get this instead of the other 2. I have listened to this collection many, many times and I am not tired of it nor of her. There always seems something new to hear and in some of the tracks 'Ave Maria' notably she sounds like she is close enough to touch, it is incredibly intimate. I know of no other current soprano who could sing this repertoire so effortlessly and so well.

I cannot imagine a scenario where anyone would regret buying this disc - none. There is no 'bad' Anna, there is 'spectacular' Anna and there is 'stunning' Anna and that's about it. Just buy it, and enjoy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 2 June 2008
Anna Netrebko's `Opera' album I think successfully builds some bridges to satisfy today's broad range of opera listeners.

There are a growing number of singers who are taking on opera music and including it in their repertory, often to the dismay of those dedicated followers of `real' opera who believe it should be left to those able to perform an entire on-stage theatre performance. Undeniably though there is a public desire to hear short, familiar opera arias and excerpts which provide enjoyment as stand alone pieces, and I am fully in favour of any artist, whether truly qualifying as an opera singer or not, taking on anything providing they do it well - a good singer can sing a three minute aria, an opera singer is required to sing the other two hours of the score!

I'm all for `crossover' artists if they broaden the awareness and appreciation of opera to a wider audience.

But, Anna Netrebko definitely qualifies as an opera singer, and I think this varied collection is a great example of how to offer opera music to those perhaps not wanting the complete works, but do want to hear a familiar piece the way it would sound in the real performance. I enjoyed her `Russian Album', and this one too. The duets with tenors Rolando Villazon, Saimir Pirgu and Joseph Callejab certainly broaden the scope and Netrebko's lush voice and flamboyant style I really couldn't criticize.

This is an album of lovely music performed as it was intended to be heard.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
Perfect, exactly as described!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2009
This is a wonderful recording by the most fantastic female opera singer since Maria Callas. There is so much warmth in her voice and it is difficult to choose a track that is better than the others. My personal favourites are and always will be Verdi and Puccini, which Netrebko excels in, but Dvoraks' Song to the moon is very haunting as well. Only a live performance is an improvement on this selection. Purchasing it from Amazon also made the purchase much less harassing than trying to find it at a store. I give it all the stars available and more!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2007
Another reviewer predicts the New Callas... and some repertoire overlaps...but the New Callas tag is unfair, as - to do justice to Netrebko - she doesn't even attempt to sound like Callas (and some may be glad of that!). What Netrebko offers is the first Netrebko, instead: Her voice is rich, dark, has a slavic gutteral quality at times, and slightly unreliable top notes. She's like a very young and much more florid Vishnevskaya.

HOWEVER, I'm not convinved that she is singing the right repertoire. She can get through the coloratura, but it sounds like a lot of work. I don't think she has quite the right sound for the French repertoire here, either. Certainly, her technique lacks the runs and trills which made Callas, Sutherland and co such astonishing bel canto singers. Above all, when singing more technical music there's little variation from mezzo-forte, and it's quite an intense sound. I prefer more ebb and flo, more shading.

On stage, she gives a fine old performance, and she's a generous and exciting singer. But I do wish she hadn't turned her back on the Russian operas which first brought her fame. Her Russian Album is quite magnificent. This is enjoyable, But I'm not quite in love with her here. On the Russian album, I was. This is missing something. Good but, no, not Callas
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2007
great arias from a truly sparkling talent, you will definetly recognise some of the work on here. truly some of her best work, she is destined for greatness - this has some tracks i already have on her other cd opera arias but still the new tracks are great - i also received a different album cover than shown on this site - still a great cd. possibly one of the biggest potential opera stars ever - she may soon be knocking on callas' door.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
The content of the CD is great! Anna at her best! However, if you have Anna's "Opera Arias" and "Sempre Libera" albums, the content of this CD may seem redundant. If you don't have the previous albums, than you will fully enjoy it. The CD has a wonderfully inspired selection of tracks and the booklet covers the libretto for each aria. The jewel-box case looks nice, and overall the same Deutsche Grammophon's high quality touch... The delivery, on the other hand, wasn't what I expected! The CD case was not sealed, so the brand new feeling was missing. Also, the case had a crack, not very big, but unpleasant... The package in which the CD arrived was of the cheapest quality, in fact just a cardboard envelope, with no shock-absorbing material of any kind. An envelope with air-bubble film protection it's in present days a more decent way of dispatching such products.
So, a marvelous CD for any opera lover, but a below average shipping from Amazon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2009
A truly sumptuous offering from this superbly talented artist. She conveys with effortless ease the story in whatever she sings, engaging
the emotions of her listener from beginning to end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2011
In my search for a contemporary soprano who would live up to Callas and Sutherland, it was inevitable I should turn my intention to Anna Netrebko. And I am delighted that I did. I would say that this disc is a great overview of Anna's repertoire and her vocal prowess.

And what a voice has been bestowed upon her! In many ways it's 'fuller' and more soothing than Callas's, and certainly stronger, more secure than that of Angela Gheorghiu today. One quibble that I have with Ms Netrebko's signing is her breathing technique. I am not an expert but she does need to work on it. She is often out of breath and you can hear her breathing in quite often. During 'Brindisi', for example, she is literally gasping for air.

Anna is without a doubt the most beautiful soprano out there, and if she could only perfect the signing technique and eliminate the breathing issues (make it less audible so as not to detract from the singing) she would in my opinion also be the finest voice of Opera today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2010
This singer has opened a new page for opera. Her recent performance at the Met in Don Pasquale had the audience out of their seats with her sheer exuberance and joie de vivre. This disc encapsulates her enthusiastic approach and sensitive rendering of many favourites. Just buy it and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Sempre libera
£18.84
Verdi
£12.77
Opera Arias
£8.08

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)