Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2006
A collection of songs spanning a 20 year career (so far) that sit perfectly together. If I was asked to give a talk on what I love about music, I would be able to find all the examples I need on an album like this. Other bands come and go, but Deacon Blue are still here. A class act.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2011
The other day I got The Beatles' 'Twist and Shout' stuck in my head and couldn't remember if it was a Lennon-McCartney song so I searched it at Wiki (no it wasn't), saw the link 'Twist and Shout (Deacon Blue song)', jammed over to YouTube to check out the video, loved it, watched the 'suggestions' 'Dignity' and 'Bigger than Dynamite' and bam, an addiction was born! I couldn't believe I'd never heard of this band before but this compilation contains some of the best music of our time, from Ricky's and Lorraine's passionate vocals to the band's perfect blending of dreamy technopop and straight-up rock and roll, a consistently fresh sound spanning some twenty years (!), and of course to Ricky's incredible songwriting. The songs are energetic and heartfelt and make you feel both nostalgic and happy all at once. With 19 tracks at 77+ minutes, 'Singles' is a CD to cherish.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2006
I find it difficult to believe that the above reviewer would take the time to listen to the whole album right through, finding most of it so objectionable. Deacon Blue have been around for a long time and the songs cannot be new to him, if he's a music fan that is. This compilation is for people who know the band and like the work. Like many other bands of their time, there have been previous Best Of compilations but this one comes with three genuinely worthy new tracks. Ricky Ross in undoubtedly one of Britain's most gifted songwriters, having some exquisite solo material under his belt and hit songs for other successful artists. The strength and variety of his work is shown here, with rock, pop, country and soul influences. Genuinely thoughtful lyrics and stirring melodies and arrangements run through the whole track listing. And, it has to be said, unlike other 80s bands, this band has had the good grace to grow older with a measure of Dignity...not the biggest hit but the song with which they're most closely identified.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2006
This album is a superb tour through Deacon Blue's musical history, taking the listener on an audible journey through the years. From the early classic live Dignity and When Will You Make My Telephone Ring? to the latest tracks, their talent, enthusiasm and shee ability shine through!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2007
a good album, however if you like deacon blue already you will have these songs on other albums (rip off rehash) if you haven`t get the original albums. the DVD of this called THE BIGGER PICTURE is better value. love everything deacon blue but hate seeing people ripped off.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
About to go to Deacon Blue concert so got this too just remind us how good they are. Delivery was very quick and it was in excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
anybody who's a fan of deacon blue, please, buy this album!!! it's a must have!!! I love it and I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Brilliant piece of music collected on one album. More than glad I got it. Hope to get many more in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
I,m not from this country and don,t remember this group.Heard them on tv and bought right away.Really good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
Fantastic album, wish I had bought it years ago!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)