Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 20 July 2017
Great documentary,I already had this but only as a dvdr copy from video tape so I wanted an upgraded version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Very happy . Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Best live band around...great video!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
Great DVD quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
One of the best documentarys of Rock of all times. The Blu Ray quality is good enough for a U2 performance. It has all the magic of the Joshua Tree and Rattle and Hum records and captures the best of the Joshua Tree american tour.

But all the blu ray titles before this century (90s, 80s, etc.) have a bad definition, so the 1080p experience is not as good as it could be.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
This is a great film and will be enjoyed by anyone who has any interest in U2 - if you're not a fan it's unlikely to convert you. I've had this on Video and DVD so it's safe to say I like the movie. There is a lot of passion in the songs and there are some interesting time afoot as Sunday Bloody Sunday is sung on the day of the Eneskillen bombings in Ireland - very raw.

It's an interesting mix of Black and White (indoors) and Colour (outdoors) footage but the black and white works best. Some real classics on here which will be enjoyed by all.

As for the Blu-Ray conversion? Well, contrary to most old conversions the sound has come over intact which is really good for a soundtrack based movie. As for the picture? Well, most of it is shot in grainy Black & White so what you get is very high resolution grainy Black & White. It doesn't look soft and does actually look a little more real as you pick up bits of detail you didn't see before, but maybe that's just me viewing with a fresh pair of eyes.

Love the film, sounds awesome, picture is rock solid, absolute bargain on Amazon.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
An excellent documentary perfectly capturing the exact moment when a band reaches it's creative zenith, takes one small step, and then begins to disappear up its own arse.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2002
I'd read a review following the original release of the original LP on vinyl. That review affected my judgement of Rattle and Hum for years, until a few days ago. I sat and watched an old TV taped version of Rattle and Hum that I'd done myself in the early nineties but never had the time to absorb properly until a few days ago, and I was spellbound. I had to get the DVD version. There on the shelf at a snip sat the best music DVD I've ever bought. Lovely guitar work of course by The Edge, particularly the solo song he does, and this version of Sunday.. is a moment to be seen, particularly poignant because of Enniskillen...sums up everything about the Troubles, takes all the terrorists' excuses on both sides in Northern Ireland and throws them in the bin. OK, enough of the politics. Yes, I can understand the not so glowing LP review, particularly if you had the preceding LPs in your collection, but the DVD? Fantastic. There's an extra 11 tracks that aren't on the CD for God's sake!?! The sound is a mite patchy in places with a couple of dropouts, but, heck, what do you expect when it's live. I'm going to buy the Essential tour by U2 next! Truly worth every penny, especially at this knock down price!?!?!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2002
if youve ever seent hem live and yearn to try and relive some of the magic then this is it. An amazing dvd, featuring the best version of sunday bloddy sunday ive ever heard with bono and the capacity crowd roaring NO MORE! - magic. Then the gretaest live performance of any song ever in my opinion, and possible the greatest way to finish a concert ever - Pride, the crowd join in as per ususal but this performance is a one off special which left me gaping, so emotional and spine tingling, i owuld have killed to have been there. The video work is also amazing with some momentsa of brilliance.
get it now
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
One of the most controversial U2 releases that divides fans and critics, Rattle and Hum sometimes comes off a bit too serious and puts the band into a different perspective. The film was made during the 1987 Joshua Tree tour during the band's American obsession which gets a bit annoying after a while. The film was shot on 16mm black and white film (colour on a few outdoor songs) blown up to 32mm which gives the film it's intentional grainy look. Even when the print is scanned at its highest resolution it still looks grainy and dull - the picture isn't much better than the DVD release or the HD-DVD but the grain isn't as bad on this Blu-ray.

However, the audio is fantastic and will sound great in headphones, surround sound or just coming out of your TV's speakers.
Rattle and Hum is a good release considering that it was one of the first of the format released. What really lets it down is the lack of extra features. There is a 30 second teaser trailer and that is it. Considering the amount of archive footage U2 fans know exists (check out 'From The Sky Down' - it has plenty), this is a huge disappointment.

An average release but it is a classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)