Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
16
4.1 out of 5 stars
On The Buses - Series 6 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 April 2017
the final seris to a fantastic tv,series and set of 3 films to it.in this final.stan has left home and now works up north.blakey rents his (stans) bedroom from him and the usual chaos begins including a new manager,,,,flooding the house and street.,leading the last episode to the start of two separate new shows.a greatly missed show and happy memmories .RECOMMEND
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
This is the wrong show it is private hire not union trubble
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2006
Well, this is it. The penultimate series and the last series with all the crew. The episodes themselves are perhaps a bit weaker than previous, but still very funny (the episode where Olive tries to make Arthur jealous is hilarious). Four of the episodes were co-written by Blakey and Jack and sadly none by Chesney and Wolfe (who contributed to 13 episodes of the last series) and I think these episodes reflect that. This DVD is only a single disc and down from 15 shows to 7, but network have included some wonderful extras. We have part of the Reg Varney Hour, which ironically lasts 1/2 hour and a couple of minutes of silent raw news footage of the crew opening a housing estate in Braintree and Reg opening a menswear store called John Walton. Very interesting. The episodes themselves are complete.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 October 2007
The penultimate series of 'On The Buses' with a meagre seven episodes. There are more written by Bob Grant and Stephen Lewis here; including others by George Layton. In one episode we see the 'Butlers' as they were before Arthur married Olive in flashbacks (Arthur looking good with a fall head of hair!) This is the season we say farewell to Michael Robbins, as his character 'Arthur' divorces Olive in the first episode of the last season, but does not appear. The Ad. Bumpers in this set are intact.

This was the first DVD to include any bonus material; the first is a collection of clips from 'The Reg Varney Comedy Hour' and the second is two newsreel features, where unfortunately the sound has been lost.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 February 2011
Series six of "On the buses" was originally transmitted between February and April 1972 and only a few weeks after the end of series five that had concluded on Boxing Day.

This series was shorter than the previous series one to five with only seven episodes. The previous five series had been mostly written by Ronald Wolfe and Ronald Chesney, except for two episodes in the previous series five when actors Bob Grant (Jack) and Stephen Lewis (Blakey) wrote two of the episodes.
Here in series six four of the seven episodes are written by Bob Grant and Stephen Lewis and the other three are by George Layton and Jonathon Lynn.

There are some funny moments in this series. But it also sees Olive and Arthur argue and the marriage looks doomed.
Generally I don't think this series is as good as either series three, four or five but it is still worth watching and has plenty of entertainment. The episodes written by Bob Grant and Stephen Lewis are very good.
With only seven episodes in this series this release is padded out with some special features. One is an episode of "The Reg Varney comedy hour". This was a variety show that London Weekend Television created for Reg Varney because of the success of On the Buses and the fact that Reg came from Variety Theatre. This is quite interesting and parts are written by Ronald Wolfe and Ronald Chesney who had written some episodes of On the Buses. The second feature is some Archive news footage. This features silent news film of the cast of On the buses opening a new housing development in Braintree and Reg Varney opening a menswear shop and multi story car park in Chelmsford. This is an interesting insight into the popularity of the show and its cast.

Stan Butler is a driver for a London bus company. He works with conductor Jack, his mate. They work the number 11 bus to the cemetery gates. Stan and Jack are always trying to dodge their Inspector Blake (Blakey) who is always trying to catch them up to no good.
Stan lives with his widowed mother, and a dowdy sister Olive and her husband Arthur. Stan gets into farcical situations usually as a result of trying to date a busty clippie. He never seems to get a life of his own while under the watchful eye of his mother.

Stan and Jack seem like the focal characters in each episode. But the other characters are equally important to the success of the show. The whole concept is full of great characterisations. For example Arthur is always critical of Stan and his antics and often has something to say when Stan is skiving, scheming or ogling girls, and yet he is lazy, mostly unemployed and doesn't miss an opportunity to impress the ladies himself. Also Olive is an important character. She is presented as very ordinary, fat, dowdy, not glamorous, short sighted and a bit dim. But you cannot help but feel sorry for her with her kind hearted manner and how she becomes the butt of jokes and comments from the likes of Stan and Arthur. And at the same time this situation creates some great farcical comedy moments. Olive wants her marriage to work and has an idealistic and dreamy outlook while Arthur gives the impression he is less enthusiastic, middle aged and stuck with a less than glamorous life. This is more amplified by the comparable bachelor free lifestyle set by Stan.
Stan's Mother also is a great character. She has Stan under her thumb. She doesn't want anything in proper happening. This provides farce as Stan often has no where else to take his girlfriends except his moms house.
It goes without saying that the character of Inspector Blake is a good one. He tries to keep things in order at the depot as Stan and Jack get up to mischief. He is ripe for comedy situations and his catch phrase "I hate you butler" is certain to at least raise a predictable smile.
All of the characters are played by a fine cast. And all of the actors have perfect comedy timing.
Network DVD has not done any restoration on these episodes that I can see, but the picture and sound are very good indeed. The whole of series six is worth seeing either for the first time or a nostalgic re visit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2008
I admit it.. I'm a bit of a fan of 'On The Buses' mainly because of the down to earth 70's humour reminiscent of the period that I was brought up in and there are some episodes in series 1 - 5 and the three feature films that really make me laugh even today - but sadly, having seen the sixth and seventh series recently for the first time for many years, these are both very disappointing.
It all seems tired, full of obvious cliched gags and even the acting is second rate compared to the earlier ones so if your like me and this sitcom has a welcome place in your nostalgic memory and you want to leave it that way, then I advise you to avoid six and seven and watch the earlier ones again instead.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
Owning the first and second series for a number of years on VHS and I love them dearly
so I decided to upgrade to Dvd versions and collect the later series.
But I have stopped with this one because some how the series has lost its magic at this point
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
Great to watch anytime of the week. Really funny and always got time to watch these. Thanks for the prompt delivery and sorry for the late review. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
I love this programme,really funny,i got series 6 recently,i love it so much so that i watched all the episodes in 1 day,worth every penny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Am buying the full set of the On the Buses series. Great comedy from bygone days. My mum loves it and so do I!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)