Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars
Okonokos [Live]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 May 2017
perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
A++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2006
I was alerted to My Morning Jacket by Uncut magazine and bought their current studio album 'Z' on that recommendation. It's great but this live album is even better and deserves to get the band the attention they surely deserve.

Right from the first play I was inspired by the passion of the performances by the band and the quality of the songwriting. The first CD kicks off with tracks from 'Z' , with 'Gideon' standing out even more than the others. The mix of the more mellow recent songs and the guitar driven older tunes is great with the melodies shining through and giving loads of opportunity to sing along .

Buy it -you won't regret it !!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2006
The last 2 studio albums of MMJ were excellent and I had heard good things about their live performances. After listening to this I can only agree. Few live albums improve upon the 'studio' versions but this one sure does.

Catches all the excitement of a band running on full steam and is a good intro into the band.

They played a few UK dates recently and I missed their show at Birmingham which really peeved me off when I heard this CD. Imagine my delight when I later found out that this gig had been cancelled! Come back to Brum soon.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 3 September 2009
I have always enjoyed live performances and have often felt that many a band have failed to capture that raw energy of a live performance on record. MMJ are consistently excellent in thier studio albums and still manage to turn out new and impressive versions of all of the 20 songs on this excellent double album. They recognise the limits of a live performance on songs like 'The way that he sings' where they are unable to do all of the over vocals and so leave it to the guitars instead and it brings a new warmth to the song.

They do seem to be overly indulging in 'Dondante' and 'Run thru' on the second part which both go on for over 10 minutes, but you really dont notice, they further stray into prog rock territory with a bleedin drum solo towards the end.

All that being said it is a brilliant album that left me with a smile on my face especially the encore and last track 'Mageetah'and as far as I am concerned that ended far too soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2006
Its not often you see those words but rest assured this is a great piece of work from a great band. I was luck enough to see them when they played a short series of dates in august and they blew me away. Conert footage is never as good as the real thing but this comes pretty close and I cant wait for the next album and (hopefully) tour. My only critisism would be the intro footage which seemed totally unnecesary but its short and thats what the remote control is for. This is a great dvd from a great band.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
I enjoyed some songs, others not so
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2007
My Morning Jacket's studio albums are a bit patchy in places, never quite living up to their initial promise. Often fond of including lengthy jams and work-outs, some of their material seems like it would have been more fun to play than to listen to.

"Okonokos" suffers from no such complaints. This is a double live album the way they used to make them. The sound quality is amazing, and every note just sparkles. The double album format allows them to really stretch out and show the different sides to their character, and there is rarely a note wasted.

There is no radical reinvention to be found here, but rather than just getting perfectly played versions of the album tracks, we get all the bruised glory of these songs, occasional mistakes and all, which lets them really take flight and become living, breathing things.

By all accounts, this album doesn't really capture how good they are live. If that is the case, they must be one of the greatest live bands on the planet.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2007
this band are very good the dvd is the best live performance i have ever seen and i have seen plenty this is a five star rock band anybody dissapointed with these guys dont no much about rock and roll
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Z
£20.00
It Still Moves
£9.99
AT DAWN
£20.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)