Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
46
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2010
5/5 - Hits the ground running and doesn't let up, every track outstanding, every track with a character of its own. Whilst remaining sufficently pounding this album somehow still manages to groove like hell.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 March 2005
Slayer's 5th album and, amazingly given the high quality of Reign in Blood and South of Haven, their third bona fide classic album in a row. As with South of Heaven this is a very varied collection of songs - opener War Ensemble is an obvious attempt to write a new Angel of Death, and while it cant quite match the intensity of that song it's still a fantastic piece of speed metal, with Born of Fire and album highlight Hallowed Point being another pair of blistering tracks that wouldn't sound out of place on Reign in Blood. At the other end of the speed scale we have the moody title track, with Dave Lombardo bowing out with some fantastic drum rolls, and the chilling ode to serial killer Ed Gein Dead Skin Mask, complete with a young victims voiceover. The remaining more mid-tempo tracks continue the high quality, with the split vocals of Tom Araya on Temptation and Kerry King supplying some rhythmic chugging with Skeletons of Society and Expendable Youth. With songwriting on a par with South of heaven, and an improved gritty production courtesy of Andy Wallace Seasons In the Abyss is yet another Slayer classic, and absolutely essential to anyone interested in thrash metal.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2005
'South of Heaven' was a good follow up to 'Reign in Blood', but this is something different - 'Seasons in the Abyss' is in a class of its own in terms of thrash metal.
'War ensemble' opens the album with those shredding heavy guitars. Then there's 'Sirit in Black' and 'Temptation' (my personal favurites) which both have great rythm guitar sections and amazing solos. The title track has to be mentioned aswell with its strangely catchy chorus. Every song is very good on this album and is heavy and fast.
The style is much the same as 'South of Heaven' but the song writing is clearly better. Its hard to compare this to 'Reign in Blood' however, because they are so different - 'Reign in Blood' was simply a pure adrenaline rush and was played at a 100mph, while this has longer songs, slightly slower, but somehow even more powerful.
Easily one of the best metal albums ever.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2000
Seasons in the Abyss is one of the best albums ever recorded by any band. Unlike some earlier albums, there are marked contrasts in the speed of each song - 'War Ensemble' & 'Born of Fire' are VERY fast (just try playing them if you don't believe me) and these compare nicely with slower songs such as the title track and the triumphant 'Dead Skin Mask'. The solos on this album push guitar playing to its limits and some of the riffs themselves are nearly unplayable (eg. the riff for the 3rd verse of 'Spirit in Black'). In addition, 'Blood Red' provides as fitting a memorial to the Tianenmen Square Massacre as will ever be written. Thrash metal just doesn't get better than this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2001
Thrash kings Slayer display their musical abilities on this album rather than purely their muscle. Not that it doesn't have its thrash elements (War Ensemble being one of my faves), it shows shows that beneath their morbid views of world, Slayers ranter Mr Araya can actually sing as well as demonstrated on the title track, Blood Red and my probably my favourite song on the album Dead Skin Mask. If you want to move up a notch in heaviness from the Metallicas, Megadeths and Anthraxes of this world, I'd start here with Seasons cos if you don't like this you'll despise such classics as Reign In Blood
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
Possibly Slayer's best album, without the legendary status of Reign In Blood, but for me, an album that exudes confidence, maturity, speed and power and allows a wider audience to sample one the great heavy metal bands of our time at their peak, and when the Thrash genre also peaked with bands like Megadeth, Pantera, Sepultura and Anthrax all releasing fundamental albums around the same time. Anyone who has seen Slayer play live, and wintnessed songs such as War ensemble, Dead Skin Mask, Seasons in the abyss, Expendable youth, will know how intense these tracks are and how they have become classics in the Slayer set. The production is spot on, with all four members of the band providing first class inputs to the album. A cornerstone album for the genre that no aspiring metal-head should be without.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2000
SLAYER TRULY ARE THE GODS OF METAL, AND THIS ALBUM IS THE CREME DE LA CREME. SEASONS IN THE ABYSS IS A MUST FOR ANYONE THAT CALLS THEMSELVES A METALLER. IT CLOSELY PIPS REIGN IN BLOOD AND SOUTH OF HEAVEN TO THE POST.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Over the last 4 years I have been buying cd versions of albums that I already have on vinyl because recording vinyl on to mp3 format is not ideal at all. This is one of my very favourite Thrash Metal albums of all time and Slayer really shine on this album. I believe it is safe to say that this album has the best elements of "Reign In Blood" and "South Of Heaven" plus some new forays into sonic experimentation. Each and every song is a masterpiece and in my humble opinion "Season In The Abyss" is one of the must have Slayer albums for any collector. If you love Slayer then there is no excuse for not owning this album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1990 record for the kings of metal; this album is halfway between their much acclaimed ¨Reign In Blood¨and ¨South Of Heaven ¨ predecessors in that it still contains a lot of the thrashcore elements of the former and a lot of the thrash metal purity of the latter. The drums are absolutely OTT and stand out too much in the mix while the guitars are performing rhythm but OK during dual leads which has been a constant on the production of Slayer's records but it's more pronounced on this one. The drumming is fantastic so I didn't turn my sub down thus rocking the whole house. Guitar sound is a little more subdued and there's less upper end than on SOH, had to eq it quite a lot but got it right and HEAVY. Solos are overall not as fast as before maybe in favour of intelligibility ?. This record is a turning point in their career and the last one to feature Dave Lombardo on the drums stool, they'd slow down from here on till the latest ¨Christ Illusion¨ which is another thrashcore corker. Not my fav but worth a spin and an absolute must on any Slayer's fan collection and certainly better than anything from their 90's output (1990 is the last year of the 80's !!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2012
For me personally this is their best album. Everything on it is simply perfect: the sound, the aggression, the diversity, the guitars, the drumming, the voice and lyrics - you would not want to change anything about it. In fact I am certain this is one of the best metal albums of all time, and surely my favourite!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse