Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.37+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2006
Motörhead seem to be one of the few bands out there to get heavier as time goes on. Their last album, Inferno, was at times bordering on thrash metal and Kiss of Death has a similar sound and style to that.

Album opener 'Sucker' is in fact one of the weaker tracks on the disc but once you get to track 2, its a wall-to-wall cacophony of pure heavy rock. Blues-tinged rock n' roll numbers like 'Christine' and 'One Night Stand' are simply awesome, dirty and sleazy rock - pure Motörhead really.

'Devil I Know', 'Trigger' and 'Sword of Glory' are fast-paced metal tracks, whilst 'Living In The Past' and 'Kingdom of the Worm' are slower, almost Sabbath-style tracks.

Without doubt the strongest track on the album however is 'God Was Never On Your Side' - its a brilliant track - very different from everything else on the album. The lyrics and music on the track are some of the strongest of Lemmy's career (long may it continue!).

All in all, the entire album is brilliant - right down to its slick black packaging. If you liked Inferno you'll love this - Kilmister, Campbell and Dee are on top form again - can't wait to see 'em live (again) this November!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2006
They just won't go away, will they. I thought they wouldn't be able to follow the last album 'Inferno' too easily but once again the 'Head have produced another quality album. Standout tracks are Trigger, Under The Gun, God Is Never On Your Side, Be My Baby and the best of all Kingdom Of The Worm. Definetly an album that grows on you, the first time i heard it i thought it was a bit of a let down but repeated listens and the tracks start opening up, just like Inferno. Can't wait for the November UK tour
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2006
Not only does Lemmy's physiology continue to defy medical science, but his Band, who should have long since began to run out of ideas and sound stale, continue to come up with slabs of the rawest,catchiest,loudest, dirtiest rock imaginable. Best thing they have done since 1916 - the album not the year ;-) . LONG LIVE LEMMY!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2006
as a long time Motorhead fan (I'm on No Sleep 'til really I am) I can confidently say 2 things;
1. this is one of the best albums anyone has ever done...ever
2. Lemmy is wearing considerably better than I am!
buy it and enjoy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2007
This was the first proper Motorhead album that I bought, even though I've been a fan of their stuff for years. This album rocks, and it rocks hard.

This album only lets up once throughout and apart from that Ian, or Lemmy and the gang show no mercy. It's all good old-fashioned Metal.

The album opens up with 'Sucker', which is, in my opinion the album's weakest track. The songs are played mostly at breakneck speed and that's how Motorhead are at their best. Nevertheless, 'Sucker' merits 8/10.

Track number two, 'One Night Stand' is a faster, heavier track, and it's from now onwards that things begin to get interesting. 'Love at first sight, love of the travelling man, I've been a slut all my life, wish every night was a one-night stand.' Lemmy grunts. Indeed. 9/10.

Track three is ferocious. It opens up with a rip-roaring riff and a cracker at that. This one is called 'Devil I Know'. I love Lemmy's lyrics here: 'I might be a dog, but honey, you're a b****.' If one thing is clear, it's the fact that this album needs to be played loud. If it ain't loud, clearly you shouldn't be listening to it. This rocks. 9/10.

Track four, 'Trigger' is another brilliant track. How the 'Head maintain this consistency is beyond me. It must be Lemmy's indestructibility or something. Kilmister's roaring, rasping vocals combined with chugging, crunching riffs make for a fantastic metal track. And that's exactly what you get here. Top track. 10/10.

Track five, and the longest track on offer here, 'Under The Gun', is a down-tempo track. Don't let that fool you though. It still rocks hard. Especially the chorus- crunching riffs and rasping vocals. Brilliant. 9/10.

Track six is where things do actually slow down. The ballad, 'God Was Never On Your Side' is the softest thing heard since 'Inferno''s 'Whorehouse Blues' back in 2004. This, however is a much stronger album than 'Inferno' ever was, and this song is a brilliant song, so much better than anything the 'Head have done in years. Listen to it and you will not be disappointed. 10/10.

Track seven, takes things back to normal. 'Living In The Past' is a normal, metal track as they were before track six. Not the strongest track, but strong enough, and Motorhead are doing what they do best- rock hard. 8/10.

Track eight, 'Christine', believe it or not, could have been written by Guns N' Roses. The guitaring is quite bluesy-rock, and you can just imagining Slash playing these riffs. Even the drumming style is similar. Maybe even Velvet Revolver could have written it. Quite different for Motorhead, but a possible release and why the hell not? It's brilliant and very catchy. 9/10.

Track nine, 'Sword Of Glory' is much more like usual Motorhead. Back to the grinding riffs and unmistakeable rhythm. This is Motorhead, alright, although not their strongest. 8/10.

Track ten, 'Be My Baby' is outstanding. The opening riff is astoundingly heavy and distinctly ferocious. Motorhead specifically set out to rock the balls off whoever listens to this song. Turn this one up to eleven and head-bang, this is is the kind of song you want. Old-fashioned Metal, about sex, drugs and so on. Fantastic. 10/10.

Track eleven, 'Kingdom Of The Worm' is very 'Ace Of Spades', in its rhythm and poise. Lemmy growls 'Do you remember?' This song oozes power and ferocity. Lemmy doesn't really sing here. He just growls to scare all the little kids who call themselves metal-heads away crying to their parents. This is proper Metal. 10/10.

Track twelve, and the final track, is called 'Going Down'. Going back to the subject of 'Doctor Rock' which, of course was a song title on a previous release so it's a bit of a tongue-in-cheek reference to exactly that. Fast-paced and hard-rocking, this is 110 mile an hour tempo to finish an already exemplary album. 'Doctor Rock' is Lemmy Kilmister and he is going to rock your socks and your feet. 10/10.

Overall, it is an astoundingly heavy album, and Motorhead are still doing what they've been doing for the past 30 years or so, just that they're more uncompromising than ever.

A contender for the Metal album of 2006, along with Iron Maiden's 'A Matter Of Life And Death' and Trivium's 'The Crusade'. This runs them both pretty close, in my opinion. And one final comment. Lemmy Kilmister just will not grow old gracefully, will he? Thank God for people like him, that's all I can say. An album deserving of a solid 9/10. Excellent effort.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2007
I'm an old fan of Motorhead (On Parole was my first album) and have to admit I don't think Lemmy and the boys have ever really topped Bomber and Overkill, so I was pleasently surprised to hear this latest offering. Some great 'head tunes (tho' lemmy's lyrics are getting (even more) ridiculous in his old age!! (hence the 3 stars!)

"Be my baby","Living in the past", "Under the gun, "Trigger","Devil i know" and "Sucker" are great proper Motorhead toons and make this album worth it's asking price. Just avoid "God was never on your side" (oh dear!) but don't hold it against the big L-meister, and I have to say Sword of glory is a surprising grower. All in all it would have been a fantastic EP.Instead you get a good album but hey, you can't knock 'em too much..there a blinkin' institution! So rock on!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2006
Is it that Motorhead work so well with producer, Cameron Webb, or have they hit a dynamic peak of creativity again? Like our friend, The Jazz Man, someone downloaded an early copy, but I didn't wanna cheat by early reviewing it, so I'm well into the tracks by now, and must say, and it's only my opinion, it's better than 'Inferno'! Coupled with this 'official limited edition release,' we also get 'Whiplash,' the '2004 Grammy Award Winner for Best Metal Performance' as an extra track, a splendid fold-out digi-pak, a booklet, (which every release will get), and a small poster. Indeed, not only have Motorhead done the deed by surpassing themslves, so has sleeve artist, Joe Petagno, his art is superb throughout! Top notch all around - buy it now and gibber and drool at the 'Heads latest blinder!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
i would say this is a great album for the most part but cant really compete with the manic madness of inferno, there is enough here to make it an album of mass appeal but there are the odd wasteful track for sure, i cant deny that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2006
thirty one years in buisness lemmy and co have recorded a master album, packed full of grinding power chords and thunderous beats along with the usual grade of poetry ripping through lemmys characterised voice, this album has enough punch to snap your ears off. Bands who are new on the rock scene should take a good listen, because many of them, young enough to be lemmys grand childeren will never have a sound this sound or tallent or be this tight. The albums highlights are SUCKER, TRIGGER and the powerfull bonous track WHIPLASH
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2008
I love this cd. Personally, I prefer it to Inferno, although I do agree with some of the other comments here. Overall, Inferno has a great sound, production-wise, and consistently good songs all the way through. The reason I prefer this one is simply because I think the outstanding tracks here stand out more than the outstanding tracks on Inferno. I would recommend both cds anyway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)