Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
91
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2004
In the tradition of the "Evil Dead" movies, Bruce Campbell is back in true form in this horror/comedy/drama flick that's a roaring good time. You just don't know what to expect next once you start this bad boy. Filled with laughs, horror and surprisingly, heart, "Bubba Ho-Tep" is everything you'd want from a B-Movie and more.
Campbell stars as an elderly Elvis who lives in a Texas retirement home. People keep thinking he's just an impersonator off his rocker, but in reality he had traded places with an "Elvis" impersonator so he could get away from all of the fame and hardships of a rock-n-roll star. However, something strange has been happening in this retirement home. Folks are dying mysteriously every night without any clear explanation. As it turns out, an Egyptian mummy is the cause for the deaths and it needs to feed on their souls to stay alive. It's up to Elvis and his buddy, JFK, to take on this monstrous foe before it slaughters every living person in the retirement home. The end results are unpredictable and off-the-wall.
The premise alone intrigued me to see it. That, and Bruce Campbell. I'm always in the mood to see a good funny horror movie, and this movie did a great job of fulfilling that need. Not one minute went by where I was bored or disappointed. While the story may be over-the-top, it's done in such a creative and clever way. The movie has fun with itself and it's very easy to see. Bruce Campbell does a marvelous job as "Elvis," and let's not forget the great Ossie Davis as the one and only "JFK." The movie combines elements of comedy, drama and horror. It doesn't know what it wants to be at times, but the cast knew that from the get-go and they even goof on that fact (watch the featurettes and listen to the commentary).
The DVD has some outstanding features. The movie sounds and looks really good for a flick that was done under such a low budget. The commentary tracks are definitely worth you time, and you MUST listen to the commentary track where Bruce Campbell does it as "The King" and stays in character the entire time. It is the funniest thing I have ever heard. Other extras include featurettes, a music video, deleted scenes, the original trailer and more. All of this makes one heck of a great package.
"Bubba Ho-Tep" is a great time from Campbell and company. Any fans of the "Evil Dead" movies will definitely want to put this on their list. Just keep in mind that this is a movie that you watch to be entertained and nothing more. This movie was pure enjoyment from beginning to end. It's bound to become a classic sooner or later. The King still lives, Baby! -Michael Crane
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2006
If you were after a simple horror movie, why pick one with Bruce Cambell in? C'mon, you know exactly what you're getting! On the face of it, the concept is wierdly original - Elvis (lumbered with his dead imposter's identity) lies in an old peoples' home with a dodgy hip gotten whilst 'pretending' to be Elvis, and with a wierd growth on his penis. Add a black John F Kennedy, obsessed with being assassinated by Lyndon Johnson, and have them both assaulted by a zombie mummy that sucks the souls out of old folks.It's great!

The pace is slow to start, but it fits the scenery of the home. Cambell's elderly Elvis is fabulous, and Ossie Davis is superb! It has comedy, horror (some, mild, infrequent) and Elvis fighting a zombie mummy who dresses in cowboy boots and a ten gallon hat. It had cult classic written all over it.

I URGE you to buy it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2005
On the face of it this film has one of the most dodgy plots ever: Elvis(Bruce Cambell) is secretly living out his old age in a bad texas retirement home, where his best friend is a black man claiming to be JFK. The old people start dying and it transpires that an ancient egyptian mummy (dressed as a cowboy???) is sucking the oldies' souls out of their rear ends. So Elvis and JFK team up with Zimmer frames and wheelchairs to defeat the creature. The film is strangely ponderous, with Elvis philosophising about his life quite a lot. But when the humour does come it is hilarious, especially the one liners provided by JFK. If you like this kind of heavily tongue in cheek humour and performances you'll really enjoy the film, but avoid if you want a predictable slasher movie. Give it a chance though and you'll love it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2004
when i first heard about this film i thought what a dumb idea!
then when i had watched it my sides hurt for almost 2 hrs you will think that i am exagerating but im not the twisted satrical comedy contained in the movie hasent seen its match in almost 2 decades and bruce cambell has made a triumphant return to the quality of the evil dead series. on a down note the film has not
been released in the uk as of this time and yet most people would sell there grandmother to get a copy and are forced into sharing with friends
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2004
Geriatric Elvis, wonderfully played by Bruce Campbell, fights off redneck mummy and saves the resthome.
Helped by JFK, who's not dead either(only dyed black by the CIA), Elvis kicks ass and squashes bugs in this fantastic movie that actually tells the true story of what happened to THE KING.
You got to see to believe.
A must have.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2005
Bubba Ho-Tep is a modern masterpiece. Simple as that. Considering the budget that the director had for this film you begin to wonder how it ever got made in the first place (they couldn't even get one Elvis song for the soundtrack because if they did - all of their budget would be gone).
This film has everything the movie-goer wants:
1. An original story
2. A story that flows at a neat pace
3. Wonderful characters that grow on you
4. Comic relief
5. A suiting soundtrack
6. An ending that leaves you satisfied
Bubba-Ho-Tep has all of these. This movie shows the viewer how low-budget movies should be made. You don't need a heap of special effects and overatted/overpaid actors. What every viewer wants is a film that grips you and gives you great viewing experience.
Bruce Campbell was born to play Elvis. He gives a fantastic and unforgettable performance that will stay with you long after the film is over. The late Ossie Davis as JFK also gives a great performance as the paranoid 'ex-president' - its worth buying the film just to hear him explain why he really is JFK and how the government covered up his death by dying him and removing a piece of his brain.
Words can't describe how much I love this film. Buy Bubba-Ho-Tep. Buy it. Buy it. Buy it! If you don't buy it you are missing out on a whole lot of fun.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2006
I had heard of this film as it starred Bruce Campbell who I really like but it's odd premise always acted as a bit of a stumbling block. "Elvis and JFK, both alive and in nursing homes, fight for the souls of their fellow residents as they battle an ancient Egyptian mummy". Would it be a horror film or a comedy or an uncomfortable mish mash of the two.

I've got to say that I thought it was brilliant. It may have been a B movie with a wild concept but once you'd embraced it, it was great. The script was funny and thought provoking. Yes it had killer lines for Campbell as the King to deliver but it did paint a darker, more thoughtful picture of the pitfalls of getting old and forgotten. I really engaged with the characters and thought Campbell was outstanding.

The film had panache and style and although it didn't take itself seriously it still took the making of the film seriously. The music for the film was excellent and lifted it another notch, portraying very deftly the ageing of a rock star. It reminded me that films made outside of the restraints of big budget Hollywood can still deliver a blast if handled well with originality and energy. A really good film that I enjoyed immensely, so much so that I bought the two disc special edition the following day.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 March 2005
I've been waiting for this film ever since I heard it was being done, the premise is just too good to ignore.
An ageing Elvis (who isn't actually dead because he swapped places with one of his many impersonators to escape the limelight) and J.F.K. (who is black after being dyed to cover up the truth) do battle against an ancient Egyptian Mummy who is slowly knocking off the residents of their retirement home by sucking out their souls.
As you'd expect, there is a lot of comedy here, the ageing Elvis doing karate is particularly special. Besides the comedy though there is an underlying point to the film in that it shows us the way we think of old people in todays society and tris to show us that these are still people.
Bruce Campbell is on top form and really gets into his role of Elvis, making it fun and believeable at the same time. I wasn't sure if it was all going to work though but as it turns out I needn't of worried as this is a great film with a lot of humour and some very poigniant moments to. If you enjoy the low budget films then this is for you and even if you're not sure, it's well worth a watch, you wont see a better B-Movie for some time I'm reckoning.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2004
forget bruce cambells previous outings or the films title and premise which promises an hour and a half of zany hilarity or your going to be disapointed.just approach with a"blank canvas" and let the director and actors surprise you.yes it is funny(quietly)and mildly scary but above all this unusual little movie is moving.cambell and davis are peerless as two lonely neglected old men,whether they are who they claim to be is neither here nor there,it's what they've been reduced to that matters.the uncaring,matter of fact way that the steadily increasing pensioner body count is dealt with sets the tone for what really counts here and the ending is the sort of simple,pointed conclusion so few directors seem to manage any more.watch and I challenge you not to feel uncomfortable about your own too fast approaching twilight years.
By the way if its outright hilarity your after then cambells in character commentary is one of a very few you could listen to more than once.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
The good news is, the King is alive, the bad news is poor fella's not too well. Elvis (Bruce Campbell, of Evil Dead fame) lives out his days in a east Texas nursing home after cracking a hip when performing as an impersonator playing himself. He regains his zest for life by joining forces with a delusional black JFK attempting to stop an Egyptian mummy from killing his chums by sucking the soul's out off there bumarses. Cult classic stuff.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)