Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
61
New Captain Scarlet - Series 1-2 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£29.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 2 September 2013
The CGI reboot of Captain Scarlet was a major departure from its original source.

Although staying very close to the original, we see new hardware with animal names that'll please any fanboys, and the Interceptors are given a sleek makeover that doesn't stray too far from the superb design of the original.

One of the things that drives this series is characterisation. The original characters were pretty one dimensional, but here we start to see some substance to them, and some of the back stories are fleshed out. There's even a love triangle between main characters, which is used to great effect in some of the stories.

The stories and action is faced paced, and will engage.

A very enjoyable series, and well worth this great purchase price!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2008
Gerry Anderson shows have always been special. Although most were made with only puppets and models, they had the same production values of acting, camerawork, music etc that a live action production would enjoy. This helps the viewer immerse themselves in the fictional world and the drama becomes more believable, even if it's just puppets. That's the secret of good engaging storytelling. It was amusing to see Thunderbirds wipe the floor with imported US shows in 1992 when the BBC screened it. So what's the new Captain Scarlet like?.

In short, brilliant. Like many of my age (40's), I grew up with the classic shows and was severely disappointed with the turkey that was the Thunderbirds movie (it's truly awful) and so was reluctant to watch the new CGI show. I needn't have worried. This show is arguably one of the best TV shows of recent years and gives Hollywood a run for its money.

The new show is action packed and fast paced with rounded characters, now with first names, backgrounds and relationships. The technology is suitably beefed up and `fetishised' is the Gerry Anderson style. This is a bold reworking of a classic show, stunning in parts but there are some changes to contend with. Cloudbase is now Skybase, Colonel White can now walk and Lieutenant Green has had a sex change from male to female. The old Spectrum Pursuit Vehicle (SPV) is now called the Rhino and there's a flying motorbike with guns and missiles. But Scarlet's red car is back and the mysterons are even creepier, still appearing as two `torch' circles and booming baritone voices. Oh, and the famous `drumbeat jump cut' is used as a scene transition device. Captain Black is still the baddie, killing people is bizarre ways so that his Mysteron masters can `reanimate' them. And you don't want to mess with the Angels!. Pity about the rather bland theme tune, but it's a minor gripe in an otherwise outstanding piece of TV.

It's Captain Scarlet all right, but on steroids.

For the most part, the CG animation, complete with motion capture, is impressive but does vary a little between jaw-dropping `money shots' and looking a bit like a playstation game. The variable quality is largely due to time constraints, but Ron Thornton (this guy crashed the USS Voyager on a glacier!) and his team have, on the whole, created a lifelike believable world and some pretty awesome pieces of animation. The `money shots' have been wisely spent on the action sequences, especially the Angel dogfights. The flying sequences (based on real aircraft footage) in the episodes `Circles of Doom' and `Fallen Angels' are utterly brilliant pieces of animation, visually quite mind-blowing and exciting too boot.

It's such a crying shame, however, that poor marketing and ITV scheduling effectively killed this show before it got into gear (a third season would have been brilliant). But for now, there are 26 episodes to enjoy and it's worth buying the DVD set. I watched the whole lot in a weekend!!.

This is a terrific update of a much loved show which is intelligent, just as dark as the original and hugely entertaining. Lots of guilty pleasures for adults. My inner child loves it!.
66 Comments| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2017
Great series hate to say but better than the original for stories and character development
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2010
Wow! Captain Scarlet brought up to the 21st century without losing any of the detail (well, except for the Mysteron voice at the begining). I bought it for my daughter, but have watched it as much as her. Animation is good, the characters are much more life like and interact with each other more than in the original series. Captain Black is upgraded from the unshaven baddie of the original series to be a much more rounded - but still potent - Mysteron. However, they still do not explain why Scarlet managed to escape the control of the Mysterons but Black does not. You will not regret buying this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2010
I've always been a Jerry Anderson fan but of all his work I loved Captain Scarlet the most. Racing home from school as a nipper to watch the series was the highlight of much of my youth. Now we've been blessed with a digital re-boot that still appeals to parents and children alike.
This slip cover boxed set of series one and two of the new adventures of the captain leave you wanting more and sad that it was shown at such stupid times on TV that it didn't get enough ratings to merit more episodes being made. A great quality product and excellent entertainment.
Buy it and recapture your youth and get your kids hooked.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2009
As a big fan of the original Captain Scarlet series it was with a little trepidation I watched the new CGI series and boy was I in for a shock.While the puppet series was a little bit limited as regards to action,but still very good nevertheless,the new series literally blew my mind.After the first two episodes which show how Captain Scarlet became indestructible and why the Mysterons want to destroy the Earth I was completely hooked.The New Captain Scarlet Series 1 & 2 Slip Case DVD is fantastic as not only does it show all the episodes from both series but the extras include detailed accounts of the many vehicles at the disposal of Spectrum.This DVD is a must have for fans of the original series as in my opinion it surpasses it.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2009
I was brought up on looking forward to either Saturday or Sunday teatime when one of Gerry Anderson's shows would be on. To me they were magical and imaginative. The original Captain Scarlet was terrific and this reimagination in CGI is, in my opinion, a work of art. The storyline is simple-we discover a strange alien city on Mars and blow it up. The occupants magically rebuild it and swear revenge on the human race.The worldwide organisation Spectrum is tasked with defending the earth.

It was simply a great shame that this didn't get a wider audience when first shown in 2005 and was buried in Ministry Of Mayhem, each episode split in two, instead. I'd recommend anyone who can remember and liked Gerry's work to get this. If you're too young to know the old show but if you like adventure filled Sci-Fi then it's definitely worth a go.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2015
Really impressive. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Shame Gerry Anderson didn't male a season 3. Comes highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2013
Actually I thought this was a CD animation of cheap actions but my expectation was perfectly wrong. Each story is complicated and every scene comes with active movement of individual characters and I was excited to watch all the stories. And the mysterons are eviler and the plots are all worse generally than the original Gerry Anderson's Captain Scarlet. The CG animation is not perfect but enough in the present stage with the good stories and this films succeeded as a great sample of CG animation today. I recommend everybody who enjoyed any of the Gerry Anderson's supermarionations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2013
This is a very surprising DVD set the art work animation is just the best the colours superb and the stories captivating for children and adults the 12 rating is too high my son watches it and he is 5 believe me this is the best entertainment. The standard is so high it should have been blue ray.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here