Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
18
Love And Hate [DVD] [2006]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 January 2018
Another really good story about racism. Bought it for my class at school. It is about a romance between an teenaged Asian girl and a white boy from up North. It explores the racism from both cultures. It is another must. There is lots of swearing so make sure you get parental permission before watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2015
Excellent film and a sound track to match . Tried to buy the sound track with no success.highley recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2014
This was dull and boring and needs to be binned. so highly not recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2007
I bought this on the recommendation of friends and have to say that it was a very well made film, the acting was very 'natural' and in the extras it is shown why.

The story may not be 'original' as in you could compare to Romeo & Juliet, West Side Story etc, but it takes an interesting slant which encompasses very real problems of today, racism and bigotry from both sides of the fence, the Iraq war and the hypocrisy of religion as a whole.

I too felt empathy for all sides involved, and felt a huge thumbs up is due to the director, Dominic Savage, who managed to achieve this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2007
This movie is really good, its realistic, its gripping and i like that it doesnt give a one sided view of racism, it shows it from both sides, and the horrible affects it can have. this movie is really good, buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2008
Watching this excellent film gave me, for the first time, some understanding of what keeps racism alive - it is a subculture with pressures of its own. Being from a progressive, white and asian families my partner and I have never experienced any negativity about our own mixed race relationship, so public racism has been something we have never related to. Now I can see that the "wanting to belong" and the "need to please" explains both the problems for less educated/liberated asians and whites to admit to their own that they are attracted to someone fundamentally different. I think this film shows both sides that we are all human and respond to less superficial things when we find a soulmate. I missed the humour in the ending that another reviewer referred to, but I was left with a warm feeling combined with welling tears. I hope that skin colour and religious beliefs quickly cease to have any bearing on human relationships - at our core we are made of the same DNA and have the same moralities.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2006
this is a great little movie.

with a message for us all about love, life and racial tension.

the acting from the 2 main characters is superb.

i found it vey informative and gave me a whole new insight into racial discrimination from both sides of the ''divide''.

an absolute must see movie, and i can't wait for the soundtrack to emerge, the music is great.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2007
There's a lot of truth in this film, which focuses on the conflict and confusion surrounding interracial relationships in northern, working class Britain. You might feel you've heard this truth a million times before, from Romeo and Juliet to Save the Last Dance, but it's a storyline that always bears retelling whilst race relationships in our society continue to be ambiguous, contested and emotive.

The main problem is that to fit the whole storyline in, the plot is pared down to its essentials so that it can seem at times unbearably didactic. There is little time for subplots and context when there are two couples to create, divide and (finally, for one couple) reunite.

However, this is a film which has some surprises. The amateurish performances, whilst occaisonally wooden, are sometimes quite incredibly good. In particular Nichola Burley who plays Michelle - the white girl who's old before her years yet frighteningly young at the same time - really succeeds in bringing a complex character to life.

There are weak moments. It fails to truly explore why Naseema falls for Adam, it's just rather convenient that she does. Once that hurdle is surmounted, the relationship is brought slowly to life, but a chronic lack of dialogue between them makes it inconvincing right to the end. Also, some of the acting is hollow, in particular from the generic white youths and occaisonally from Naseema (the heroine) herself. Finally, the contrived entangling of the two families, through Naseema's brother, is definitely a twist too far, however neat and tidy it keeps the plot.

Whilst I would agree with an earlier reviewer that this film can draw too heavily on steretypes, and the story line is somewhat predictable, it is inevitable that in exploring such a social issue the story and its characters must be somewhat familiar to us. It does not, in my opinion, entirely detract from what is essentially a good film which manages the difficult task of being touching without being saccharine, and maintaining its slightly gritty realism right through to the quasi happy ending.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2012
Seldom one to write reviews, I feel totally compelled to comment on this incredible film and am amazed at how little exposure/discussion it has illicited online.

I really cannot rate this film highly enough, it is affecting from the outset. From the amusing warmhearted store Manager to the vitrionic and hypocritical prejudices of other characters that unfold... there are so many layers to this amazing film.

The young actors blow you away... they are almost too good to have been trained.. if that makes any sense at all.

I am a white woman, schooled in a 'black' school and raised in a 'black' area. I have had friends, partners, bosses, teachers, flatmates from every background under the sun. I have seen and known the filth of hatred from each direction and the beauty of love and enquiring minds. This film has so much to bring to the table in an honest look at modern Britain and would be a great resource for anyone doing social and personal education with schoolkids/youth centres (of a certain age)to stimulate thought and discussion, particularly so in areas of racial tension - because it draws so beautifully on commonalities of human need (and desire). Truly a modern masterpiece.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2006
Absolutely brilliant - You can't really go wrong with a British film, and this is no exception. Don't be put off by 'another' Romeo & Juliet tale, because this is well worth watching. Great acting, very true-to-life, fantastic soundtrack and softens even the hardest of hearts.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)