Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2013
This addictive game combines a great theme (Greek mythology) with good tactics and some basic math thrown in. It plays quickly and we often bring it out with our 8yo son, equally enjoyed by him and us adults.Highly recommended, as well as the other Gamewright card games, where the ones we have tried all have great staying power:

- Sleeping Queens is currently our family's favourite card game, requested over and over again by our 5yo and (almost) 8yo and equally enjoyed by us parents. While the age recommendation is from 8 years, our 5yo has no problems with the rules and tactics of the game (although she does need help with basic addition which is a minor component).

- Duck Duck Bruce (simple push your luck game, perfect from as early as 3-4 and great fun for adults as well, our favourite after Sleeping Queens, perfect to bring to restaurants/airports)

- Rat a Tat Cat (the first Gamewright game we tried with our then 5,5 yo, a firm favourite for a year or so until displaced by Duck Duck Bruce, but still very much recommended.)

Frog Juice also get great reviews, will be ordering it for Christmas this year!

(Come to think of it, we have also tried Too Many Monkeys which is quite uninteresting, at least to adults. Try the above ones instead.)
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
I am a mum and a secondary school maths teacher and all the children I have played Zeus on the Loose with absolutely love it. My son is 6 and manages to play independently. When we play at school maths club play is a bit more fast and furious. My children like Percy Jackson and Horrible Histories and like the Greek god cards. It's good for mental maths and thinking strategically.

When purchasing this I thought it seemed expensive for a card game, but we've played this so much, that I have truly had good value for money.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2010
On the plus side:
- Game is fast paced, can change quickly and provides twists and turns
- It provides some number practice with adding of numbers, rounding to nearest 10 and reversing numbers
- God theme is fun and engaging

However:
- A lot of luck is involved with winning, however well you play
- Opportunities for strategic thinking are limited due to the luck in which cards your opponents happen to have

Overall:
- Not the most satisfying game
- As a family we've enjoyed and played other GameWright games far more e.g. Loot, Rat-a-tat Cat
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
My son loves this game and it is suitable to play with a range of ages of children. It helps mental maths in terms of quick adding and knowing the next ten in a sequence and is fast and fun. The Greek characters have been described in a fun way which also links to school Greek topic work! Would definately recommend!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2016
A fast, fun game to play with nieces/nephews, with enough luck and randomness that any round of the game could be won by any player! We play it with more than the 5 people max that it lists (we've done 7 just fine). Just make sure that the kids have decent addition skills so that they can keep up with the total as cards are played; that will help to keep the game moving quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Great game. Not only are the cards well made and the concept of mathermatics adding and subtractiing to reach 100 relovant in reinforcing mental arithmetic. The taking of turns and sequencing while also getting my children 13 7 5 to research some greek gods made the game a big hit in our house.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
This is a proper, fun game that my children really love to play. It involves some strategy and luck, like all good card games. While playing the game children are practising their numberbonds and adding 1 digit numbers to 2 digit numbers. My special needs child loves playing this and has made real progress with his addition skill. I'm now desperate to find something that's as much fun for other maths targets!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
We got this game to play with our 7 & 8 yr olds. It is a fun game for all and the adults don't need to hold back as there are enough god cards that turn the tables in an instant. However, it is not so much to chance that it is frustrating and it is good for the mental arithmetic, so good practice for the kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
This is a fab and engaging game designed to help kids with their addition and times table. A great way to get kids to do maths without realising it. Had played this game at a family learning session at school and just had to order it for home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2016
Great for playing with ones children as it will sharpen their mental maths .
A quick fun game which relies on strategy as well as luck .
The aim to get the card total to 100 or more with Zeus figure in your hand to win while opponents scheme to take him .
At first glance one may be put off by the maths aspect , don't
Once playing the goal is all you think about and games don't last more than 10 minutes at my house
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here