Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
27
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 6 May 2013
If I were to lose all my individual recordings of the Beethoven PCs, then this would be fine.
Excellent performances. Sound quality is good. You cannot expect modern overwhelming high-bit digital quality, but not necessary to enjoy well-balanced recordings. Barenboim's playing is exemplary, with faultless runs and Klemperor controls the speeds admirably - no sense of slowness in his tempi.
Most enjoyable all round.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2017
I have know these concertos for masny yearsd and have always enjoyed them I ried this Barenboim recoding nd can rate it as good as the others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Marvellous music and a good quality recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
True Beethoven by the masters of the art. Quality sound. The Choral Fantasia bonus makes this a possible first choice for anyone considering a box set purchase.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
Excellent recording
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
This must one of the best version of these concertoes on disc. I originally had them on vinyl and then I was impressed by the partnership between Klemperer and Barenboim.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
A superbly detailed set of CD's of Beethoven's 5 piano concerto's, superbly performed and played by Daniel Barenboim, and conducted by Otto Klemperer exactly as I am sure Beethoven would have wished.
A serious complete set that every Beethoven, and indeed piano audiophile, should consider adding to there collection, though I doubt any of these CD's will be out of their CD player for very long, so addictive and brilliant are All the concerto's and the Choral too.
Very Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
I got these recordings when first issued on vinyl and found the performances unbeatable and the sound very good. I waited patiently for the recordings to be released on CD but was disappointed by the transfers when they appeared in 1990.
But this re-issue is a complete re-mastering from 2006 and is a complete success. Excellent sound and the artwork of the box is also a big improvement on the 1990 version. Strongly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
This recording is to me the ideal recording of this music. I'm totally convinced by Klemperers natural flow of the music and his clear reading. Here is nothing exaggarated or artificial.
And Barenboim leaves me almost speechless. How can such a young musician have that deep understanding of this music? There is a balance and a consequence in his playing that make me say: "Yes, this is how it should be!" And the sheer joy in his playing is unique.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2010
This is an immensely stimulating and enjoyable set of the Beethoven Piano Concertos . The combination of Barenboim and Klemperer in 1968 was inspired . The elderly and frail conductor bringing all his skill as a seasoned and serious Beethovenian with the New Philharmonia to create a real conversation with the young Barenboim .

There are lots of highlights - the slow movement of No2 , the finale of No4 and the opening of No1 all are marvels but most of all the wonderful performance of the Fifth Concerto . Barenboim's playing , fresh from his Beethoven sonata cycle - is dazzling , triumphant and almost unbearably moving by turns .

A fabulous bargain and likely to have you hooked on Beethoven for life if it is your first experience of his music.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)