Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
7
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.32+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 February 2010
One can understand why Bach traipsed across Germany on foot to hear the Master. This CD set has provided the opportunity to have all Buxtehude's works for organ in one place. A very important collection for the organ enthusiast. The use of different organs for some of the recordings gives an added dimension to its enjoyment.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2010
These are good recordings with nicely chosen organ registrations. Good straight playing, although personally I feel it is slightly lacking in enthusiasm and excitement. Highly recommended if you appreciate a scholarly rendition (which is no criticism). Even if you prefer more personality in the playing, I would still recommend this set as well worth the 1-2 pounds per CD I paid.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
A good deal of fine playing on this set but a few of the recordings have a strange background tone, as if something was vibrating in the vicinity (other than the organ!), or a fault in the equipment or 'pressing'. At least it didn't cost much.

Mike Gray, Dumfries
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2011
I agree that this is wonderful music; well played and recorded and super value for money and, except for one caveat, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as an adventurous exploration to anyone who's not familiar with the music.

Since no other reviewer appears to have mentioned the fact, am I alone in not having received any documentation whatsoever with the CDs? If this is standard for this box, then it is a great shame, since it would be useful to know a bit about the music and the circumstances under which (and for which)it was composed. For me this prevents a 4 or possibly 5 star rating. On the other hand, it's possible that I was unlucky and that they forgot to slip the booklet into my box.

If you're not bothered about documentation however, heartily recommended
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
I have have two other interpretations of the complete organ works of Buxtehude. I would place Rene Saorgin's interpretation as the best overall - if you can get it. There is another very fine overall interpretation by Walter Kraft. It is currently available (June 2012) and very reasonably priced.

I am inclined to rate the interpretation by Ulrich Spang-Hansen of the chorale-type works as possibly the best of the three organists.However, I cannot find much praise for his interpretations of the toccata/prelude & fugue works despite his virtuosity in playing them. This CD set is well worth the price just to get the excellent chorale interpretations.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
A very good-value survey of Buxtehude's fine and important organ oeuvre, its content well-organised into the six main portions of the Christian calendar. One's principal regret is the absence of liner notes, which one has to seek from other sources; but the performances are very acceptable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
This is an outstanding set. The playing is imaginative and musical, the organs characterful and well-matched to the music, and the recording clear yet with a pleasant bloom. Admittedly the documentation is limited to a list of works and performance times on the back of each cardboard CD liner. In short, this is a wonderful set at a bargain price. I have several other sets of Buxtehude's organ works, and I rate this with the best, regardless of price. Bravo!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)