Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
29
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2017
Excellent series well worth watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
It's eighteen months since the last series and Kim (Olivia Hallinan) is out and proud. Though it is a shame that we don't see the in-between part, I think it fits well with the programme that it skips straight to the action. Not every show with gay characters has to have a big coming-out scene and the way in which Kim is outed is wickedly funny. What makes the show so addictive is that it is outrageously over-the-top whilst still being realistic. It manages to be entertaining and strikes a chord; it's even blackly comic in parts, remembering in Series One where Kim contemplates spiking Sugar's (Lenora Crichlow) drink. I think the only weakness in the show is the character of Matt (Kurtis O'Brien), Kim's little brother. The writers didn't quite know what to do with him and whilst I liked the fact that the programme didn't judge Matt, he just didn't develop in the way that Stella (Sara Stewart) and Nathan (Richard Lumsden) and of course the two leads did.

For me, the main point of this series is to show Kim as independent. In Series One she was obsessed by Sugar but now she has grown up a bit and moved on. It shows how tight their friendship is that the two girls manage to maintain it, even if there is a slight role reversal. The lesbian aspect is more prominent in this series as Kim is out and proud. Some reviewers think that it is too prominent; I think that it works. The idea of Kim falling in love with a sex shop owner, Saint (Sarah-Jane Potts), is true to the tongue-in-cheek attitude of Sugar Rush. The show never hides away from sexuality and I think for teenage viewers that it is a positive message, particularly as it is not simply standard heterosexuality. Basically, anything goes and anything is accepted. I think that's another appeal of the show; it never judges. It allows a fantasy world where you can be who you want to be and have what you want to have.

Whilst Series 2 does not top Series 1, it is a brilliant continuation of the show, actually developing the situation and the characters without rehashing or outstaying its welcome. If you simply want the love story, you could stick to Series 1 but you would be missing out on the pay-off: Kim's transformation from awkward schoolgirl with a massive crush to confident lesbian woman. So although Series 2 ends on a cliffhanger (and I would have loved another series), I think that they wrap things up satisfyingly- even if you do get withdrawal symptoms.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 January 2010
The first series of Sugar Rush was wonderfully original, and the makers felt they needed to take the show forward second time round. Instead of out-doing it, they have over-done it.

No plot twist is too ludicrous, no coincidence too implausible for Series 2. I won't spoil it by giving examples, but time after time (at least twice in each episode) a character walks in (or out) at PRECISELY the wrong moment. Unfortunately, the unfolding story totally depends on these ridiculously implausible coincidences. The plot has become so utterly contrived that any sense of realism is lost. Upping the sex content is a poor substitute for good writing, although presumably the need to get straight (so to speak) to some girl-on-girl action explains why Kim's coming out to her family was allowed to fall into the gap between Series 1 and 2. And what happened to the humour?

Characters that were charmingly batty have become lurid caricatures of themselves. Sugar, who was obliviously self-centred in Series 1, is by now so consciously devious and manipulative as to be positively evil. Kim's father Nathan was neurotic enough in the first series, but his hand-wringing self-pity is now nauseating. Her mother Stella only avoids the same trap because her character is reduced to little more than shrugging her shoulders and reaching for another glass of wine while her husband prattles on. Olivian Hallinan as Kim is again excellent, but even she struggles to make her character's gullibility convincing.

Over-written and over-acted, Sugar Rush 2 is a perfect example of a series over-reaching itself. What a shame it went so wrong so quickly.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2006
The first series of Sugar Rush was one of the best pieces of original television in recent years. It combined satirical humour, drama and poigniancy into a single lively, trendy programme. Somehow the producers managed to come up with a way to make a second series just as good, without just re-hashing the first.

Kim's new object of desire is Saint, the magnetic Sarah-Jane Potts. What with Sugar's interference, Kim's mistakes and Saint's enigmatic personality, much of the drama is in whether or not they will actually get together. Kim is a more driven character than before, partly through maturity and partly because her sexuality is now out in the open. Sugar, on the other hand, is having a tougher time of things and shows a more vulnerable side on occasion.

The acting, particularly of the three leads, is excellent and causes real empathy with the characters. There are several moments when the viewer may be genuinely moved, and the brilliance of the programme is the humour in and around those same moments. There is perhaps more of both comedy and emotion in this series than the first.

The DVD contains several extras: There are a lot of deleted scenes, some of which fill in background events; an odd, brief behind-the-scenes montage; some good cast interviews (but sadly not all the main characters are included); and commentaries on 3 or 4 episodes. The commentaries have some awful sound quality in places, which is a shame because the content is quite interesting for those fans wanting to know more about how the programme was made.

Whilst this series inevitably loses the freshness and originality of the first, it is by no means a re-hash, nor has it lost the essential ingredients that made the first so watchable. In fact, in some ways I prefer this series for it's balance of different sources of comedy (sharp dialogue, slapstick, irony, farce...) and it's slightly more complex main plot thread with more emotional ups and downs for the characters.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2006
I was a bit sceptical when I heard about there being a second season of Sugar Rush, as I doubted it could beat the sheer brilliance and originality of the original series. I was soo wrong! After watching the second series from start to finish, I can safely say it beats the first hands down!

Less time is spent on the sex antics of Kim's best mate Sugar, but rather the focus shifts onto Kim and her over-active sex drive. Saint is a great addition to the series, and brings in a third element that, if it hadn't been included, could have meant the series becoming a duplicate of the first. And what a cliffhanger it ended on! At least it means there has to be a third season!

Anyway, if you've already watched the series, buy it, because you'll definetely want to re-live some of the hilarious, raunchy and often cringe-worthy storylines over and over again! And if you havent watched sugar rush season 2 (or season 1 for that matter) get them.....they're too brilliant for words

5 stars all round, this show is refreshing and new compared to the same-old rubbish that's on TV today!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2006
Sugar Rush season one was amazing television because of how believable it was. You felt as though Kim could easily be a girl living near you, with the same sort of hardships and family drama.

Season two seems to have lost some of its realism. Some situations really grated with me - the main one being when Kim, Sugar and Saint have to steal back some money from a local gangster called Dimitri.

I couldn't identify with the new Kim, and we never got to see one of the most defining moments of her teenage life: Finally getting over Sugar. Because of the fictional 18 month gap between the events of Season one and two, we are expected to just accept from episode one that Kim is over Sugar and has moved on. It would have been nice if we could have seen this, even slightly. Kim went from being dangerously, obsessively in love with Sugar to seeing her as nothing more than a slightly irritating best friend that she was fond of.

Then there is the new love interest, Saint. As the reviewer below me has said, Saint is as dull as dishwater. She has no quirks, no outstanding personality traits, no real character at all. We know literally nothing about her, and she is basically nothing more than a plot device that was not fleshed out in the production room. She has to be the most boring sex shop owner ever created. No wonder I was rooting for Kim and Sugar all throughout. At least the veiwer gets the sense that Sugar has a life, a past and a family. Saint seems to have been created from thin air and plopped into Brighton for the sole purpose of hooking up with Kim.

Kim's family's hardships have been kept to the background this time around, and Kim doesn't seem to care too much about her parent's marriage falling apart, which is another example of something that troubled her deeply in season one suddenly being not that big of a deal in season two.

Highlights include the brilliant soundtrack as ever, an amazing performance from the cast all around (I actually feel sorry for Saint's actress having been given such a dull role) and Kim's brother Matt finally realising his true calling as a fourteen year old goth cross-dresser. Hey, whatever makes you happy!

Overall, I was fairly disappointed with season two of Sugar Rush. It was reasonably entertaining on TV when there was little else to watch, but I wouldn't recommened investing in the DVD. Wait for the repeats on E4, they're bound to come round sooner or later.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 August 2006
of Sarah Jane Potts, though there are other good reasons such as the sharp funny dialogue and the acting. The plot centres round an emotional menage between Sugar, Kim and Saint (the wonderful Potts) Kim's new older girlfriend. All three characters are screwed up in their own way and at times you want to give them a (metaphorical) slap. Sugar remains totally unreliable and selfish, Kim is just as self-centred and short-sighted in her own way, and Saint is... well, I don't want to spoil that for you.

Kim's family don't play the central role in her life as they did in the first series. Her parents try being swingers in an attempt to resolve their marital problems and you can imagine how that turns out. The subplot concerning Matt her younger brother and his voyage of self-discovery from Marilyn Manson into something even more outrageous is sadly given short shrift and deserved more emphasis -the young actor does a lot with so little.

Never dull, always engaging, often funny, sweetly tastefully sexy, Olivia Hallinan is terrific, and if that isn't enough, buy it to watch Sarah Jane Potts smile, it's a smile to fall in love with.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2006
I was a massive fan of the original Sugar Rush, but this unecessary sequel has come as something of a disappointment.
The series doesn't seem to have any particular direction. It has lost the simple, central device of unrequited teenage love which drove its predecessor and, as a result, each episode seems to be just a rehash of the one before it; a problem perpetuated by what appears to be an overiding urge on the part of the writers to tie up all the loose ends by the end of every episode.
The drama is treated flippantly or passed over completely, whilst much of the humour has been replaced with vulgarity. Things aren't helped by the addition of a dull new central character called Saint; she is as monochrome as her appearance suggests. On a further note, the sidelining of Kims' family has risked alienating certain sections of the audience; I found myself increasingly unable to relate to the situations on display in this series.
On the plus side; most of the excellent original cast return, the soundtrack (on the TV version at least) is brilliant, and the series remains a visual feast. As pure escapsism, there is little else on TV to match it.
Overall though, for all those who have been seduced by the more superficial improvements this second series has made, I would recommend rewatching series one to remind themselves what Sugar Rush is really all about.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2007
sugar rush two is brilliant - really there are no other words for it. granted it is not as great as the first series, but then few sequels are. the acting is still top quality and the characters are believable. and as for those people who are disappointed that she isn't still pining over sugar - get a life! kim did. it would have been a boring series indeed if kim was still mooning over sugar like she was in the first series. kims growth as a character is believeable, she got "over" sugar but still cares deeply for her which is evident in the fact that she repeatedly considers sugars feelings over saints, therefore adding tension to her new relationship, which is all dealt with with equal amounts of humor and heartache. if you've seen the first one and you believe that people must change and grow, then you will love the second one. kim exerts herself and puts her needs first for a change, and it's brillant to see!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
This second series was nice and funny, just like the first one. I really enjoyed it, although I wish they hadn't cancelled the show afterwards!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse