Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
Prendimi l'anima [DVD] [2013]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.27+ £1.26 shipping


on 24 April 2017
Very good heart rending tale. Based on true events. Plays in English if you change preference in menu. Italian import.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
I bought this film because i am a big fan of Caroline Ducey, and indeed, she portrays her part with conviction and empathy, even though it is not the main piece. That is played with heartbreaking feeling by Emilia Fox as Sabine Spielrein, patient, lover and finally collegue of the famous Carl Jung, friend of Sigmund Freud. This film shines a light on the private torments of this very famous man, and tells the story of the lives of the jews under Nazi control through the eyes of Sabine. All who would like justice will enjoy this beautiful but sad film for it's honesty, and told perfectly under the direction of Roberto Faenza. I am really glad i bought this film.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
I was surprised by the quality of this film, which deserves to be known better. Despite its age (2002), I had not heard of it before and only chose it because of the lead actress, Emilia Fox. The film recounts the true story of a female patient of Carl Jung, who went on to become a psychoanalyst in her own right. It provides fascinating insights into the human condition: both the changing treatment of mental illness in the 20th century and the changing circumstances of European Jews. The story ends in the middle of WWII - need I say more!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
It seems that the former reviewers prefer this film to 'A Dangerous Method', directed by Cronenberg. I would differ from this perspective, since, though the film demonstrates the affair between Jung and his patient, who eventually becomes a clinician herself, there are some glaringly important omissions, in my view.
Firstly, the absence of Freud does not add to the film. Rather, it omits one of the most important elements; that the actual presence of Freud affects the transference for Jung, with whom he differs theoretically. Freud is the omnipresent 'father' figure, from whom Jung is attempting to distance himself and thereby establish his own thinking and theoretical and clinical approach. I sense that his affair with his patient, is an attempt to make this more concrete, especially since she is also very psychologically aware, if ill. He treats her differently to his other patients and cannot hold his analytic attitude with her. It is as if he chooses, with her, to deny utterly, the incest taboo, until his conscience, rather than his ethical beliefs, get the better of him. Or is it perhaps, that crossing the line between patient and clinician, forces him into choosing a different and less overtly rigorous transferential approach, since he cannot sustain it.?
In effect, it is the presence of his wife, who is aware of his breach of boundary, though nothing is spoken between them, who, in this film, causes him to restore boundaries, but also to forge his own approach, thereby rejecting the blank screen Freudian method.

Both films have merit and it is good that directors are grappling intelligently with the complexities of psychoanalysis, with regard to the patient's and the clinician's inner struggle to free their patients from their torment. Yet the verbal discussions on the 'Method', which take place between Freud and Jung in relation to theoretical approach and method in 'A Dangerous Method', rather than offering tedium, offer insight to the interested viewer. Overall, I experienced it as the more interesting film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
We saw this a week after the Cronenberg film "A Dangerous Method" about Carl Jung's early use of Freud's theories in treating Sabine Spielrein, who went on to become both Jung's lover and a psychologist in her own right, and this is much more moving and convincing, especially in the areas the hyped-up later film is silent about, such as the White Nursery years. Other advantages include Emilia Fox showing that you don't have to look as if you're turning into a werewolf to portray Spielrein's early madness, a more understandable Jung's wife and a Freud who remains unseen without the exaggerated weighting given to him by Cronenberg.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Emilia Fox was just fantastic all the way through just as she is in Silent Witness.
If you watch this you wont be disappointedPrendimi l'anima [DVD] [2013]
[...]
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
A superb film, most moving. Emilia Fox is brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Great movie, will watch it again soon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2009
You will not find many reviews about this movie. In fact it's an hidden gem.
33 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)