Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
60
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2010
Ian Dury is associated with punk/new wave, and both certainly shared some common ground, but he was a product of the pub-rock scene of the early 70's and his roots stretched much further back to rock `n' roll and then further back still to music-hall.

He was the mouthy geezer always dropping wise-cracks and double-entendres, though as this was the 1970's rather than the 1870's the entendres tended to be more of the single variety. First with Kilburn and the High Roads and then with the Blockheads he ploughed his furrow (oo-er!) until a link-up with Stiff Records suddenly made him fashionable. This was his breakthrough album and despite its rather flat production fully deserves its continued status as his best.

I'm not a fan of the rather forced sentimentality of 'My Old Man' and 'If I Was With A Woman' gets right on my 'ampton but the rest are great. From the lustful good-humour of 'Wake Up' and 'Abracadabra', the touching hero-worship of 'Sweet Gene Vincent' and the music-hall bawdiness of 'Billericay Dickie' the music veers from funk to rock 'n' roll and back again before the final punky blast of the last three tracks; the very funny 'Blockheads', the very sweary 'Plaistow Patricia' and the very nasty 'Blackmail Man'. The Blockheads were mostly made up of session-musicians who suddenly found a chance to break into the mainstream and they responded with real enthusiasm and no little skill.

There are five bonus-tracks on my copy which, for once, are worth the trouble. The singles `Sex And Drugs etc' and `What A Waste`; and some B-sides, a tale of teenage thievery `Razzle In My Pocket', the saucy `You're More Than Fair' and the raucous `England's Glory'.

It's a shame about the production because they were a great live act and this album doesn't quite do them full justice - but still a worthy memorial to a true individual talent (must see that film!).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 September 2006
Diamond Geezer...pub rocker...artist and artiste...urban poet. Step forward the uniquely brilliant Ian Dury.

'New boots and panties' was one of those post punk albums, like The Stranglers 'IV Rattus Novegicus' and The Jam's 'This is the modern world' which slipped out of the new wave without fanfare or celebration.

Sporting a front cover which showed Ian outside an Army & Navy emporium looking 'well hard' and posing alongside a passing scally waif, NB&P was the absolute anthisis of the pomp and ceremony of the Led Zeppelin-esque albums which clogged the album charts.

Fortunately,word of mouth meant that the album garnered a new legion of Dury admirers,going on to sell 500.000 in the UK and a million world wide.

Using a unique blend of vaudeville,funk,R & R, pub rock,cockney rhyming, humour and some spicy lyrics complete with obscenities...'Plaistow Patricia' is not a track to play in polite company !...NB&P rips along like a joy rider down Peckham High street !

The Blockheads display superb musicianship and are such a tight funky unit that it must have been a joy to provide the vocals.

Conjuring up now legendary characters, 'Billericcy Dickie'..'Clevor Trevor', the aforementioned 'PP' and the dirty old tom 'Nina'.. Dury paints a vivid picture of street life 'darn sarff !

Great stuff !
77 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2002
this is an amazing funky album that really shows what a funny bloke ian dury was. Wake up and make love to me, has one of the most funky intros that you will ever find on record and the lyrics are classic too, and the album manages to keep this feel all the way through. the bonus tracks on the album contain Sex and Drugs and What a Waste which are too utterly brilliant songs. this album should be brought by any one that likes good tight jazz rock and who has a sense of humour.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2009
New Boots & Panties is a masterpiece; anyone who has a pulse should own a copy! DOn't bother to read this. Just order in now!

There are many versions of New Boots available on CD. I took this one for the demos & they are an interesting addition; CD 1 has the original album plus the singles while all of the demos are on the second disc. The demos show that the arrangements were all in place before the real recordings were made. The Blockheads were an amazing band & New Boots shows that their backing was always sympathetic to the song; never getting in the way of the lyrics but adding a real groove.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2009
Over 30 years old but still sounds great. This is a seminal "new wave" album from Stiff records. The tracks are classics, if you don't have it then the remastered version is slightly clearer than the original in my opinion.

The Blockheads were a fine band with great musical compositions nicely set off by the slightly loony Ian Dury with his bawdy lyrics of life and loves in London and the South East. Billericay Dickie is a personal favourite of mine.

The DVD is taken from the excellent BBC concert series "Sight and Sound" which was broadcast simultaneously with Radio 2 (in the days before stereo TV for those of us old enough to remember). This was one of the Blockheads finest live concerts and well worth a listen although only 30 minutes / 7 songs in length.

I'm well pleased with this 2 disc set.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you already own the September 2004 2CD Deluxe Edition on Edsel MEDCD 751 (Barcode 740155175122) of "New Boots And Panties!!" – then this March 2015 reissue now housed in a very fetching 'hardback book cover' offers nothing new - expect improved packaging. But if you don’t own it - then Ian Dury’s breakthrough debut album is a bit of 1977 New Wave peach you frankly need in your shelllikes. Here is the Ealing gospel according to Plaistow Patricia and Billericay Dickie (if you know what I mean my son)...

UK released/reissued March 2015 in a Hardback Book form – "New Boots And Panties!! Deluxe 2CD Edition" by IAN DURY on Edsel EDSK 7080 (Barcode 740155708030) breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (50:06 minutes):
1. Wake Up And Make Love With Me
2. Sweet Gene Vincent
3. I’m Partial To Your Abracadabra
4. My Old Man
5. Billericay Dickie
6. Clever Trevor [Side 2]
7. If I Was A Woman
8. Blockheads
9. Plaistow Patricia
10. Blackmail Man
Tracks 1 to 10 are the album "New Boots And Panties!!" by IAN DURY – released 30 September 1977 in the UK on Stiff Records SEEZ 4. The 11-song American LP on Stiff STF 0002 was released in 1978 with "Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll" tagged on as an extra - Track 1 on Side 2.

BONUS TRACKS:
11. Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll
12. Razzle In The My Pocket
13. You’re More Than Fair
14. England’s Glory [Live]
Tracks 11 and 12 are the A&B-sides of a non-album UK 7" single released August 1977 on Stiff Records BUY 17. "Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll" was also an extra track on the American version of the LP (Track 1 – Side 2)
Track 13 is the non-album B-side to "Sweet Gene Vincent" – a UK 7" single released November 1977 on Stiff Records BUY 23
Track 14 was the bonus track on the 1996 CD reissue of "New Boots And Panties!!"

Disc 2 – DEMO VERSIONS (68:13 minutes):
1. Wake Up And Make Love With Me
2. Sink My Boats
3. Apples
4. England’s Glory
5. Tell The Children
6. I Made Mary Cry
7. Sweet Gene Vincent (Backing Track)
8. Blackmail Man
9. My Old Man
10. Something’s Going To Happen In The Winter
11. Wifey
12. Sink My Boats [Alternate Version]
13. I’m Partial to Your Abracadabra
14. If I Was A Woman
15. Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll
16. Clevor Trevor
17. Blockheads

Like the Todd Rundgren Hardback Book Editions of 2014 for "Runt", "Something/Anything?", "A Wizard, A True Star", "Initiation" etc (see reviews) - this is the first of six Hardback Book Reissues for IAN DURY (see list below). Each has the same August 2004 WILL BIRCH liner notes and photo-spreads - there appears to be nothing new added. "Booties" comes with a 30-page centred booklet that includes lyrics to the album and the 4 bonus cuts, trade adverts from the NME and New Musical Express and of course (expert) Birch’s witty and informative history of the band and Dury’s struggles to get the album made post Kilburn & The Highroads. The remaster is the same as was done in 2004 at Alchemy Mastering (no engineer name) – top-notch audio from original master tapes (even the Demo version on Disc 2 Rocks out). The four bonus tracks on Disc 1 turned up on the rarities CD in the "Studio Albums Collection" Box Set of 2014 – but so far Disc 2 on this edition remains exclusive.

I recall 1977 and long into 1978 when this LP seemed to be in every bedsit in the world (well England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales anyway) – and rightly so. The opening wit and sheer fresh-air-ness of "Wake Up And Make Love With Me" was like nothing that had gone before it – and that magic continued with "Sweet Gene Vincent" – a wickedly tender/wild homage to his British Rock 'n' Roll hero - "...I miss the voice that called my heart..." I first began to realise his poetic genius with "My Old Man" where the No. 18 to Euston is driven by his father and his cheeky-chappy persona beloved him to the young with "Billericay Dickey" where "...she took me to the cleaners...and other misdemeanours..." He rocked out with both "Blockheads" and "Blackmail Man" (probably the angriest song on the album). The Bonus Tracks on Disc 1 only add icing to a very tasty cake – my crave being the saucy and terrible UNPC "You're More Than Fair".

The DEMO VERSIONS disc gives us songs that aren’t familiar like "Sink My Boats" which you can’t help but think would have been a hit if included on the LP. It’s also a blast to hear a studio version of "England's Glory" rather than the familiar live version B-side we’ve known as these years. Although slight and at odds with the album’s wittier side – there’s something lovely about "Something's Going To Happen In The Winter" where he duet vocals with a squeaking Chaz Jankel. And I can never get enough of the Funk in "Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll" where Norman Watt-Ray slaps his bass and Charley Charles keeps that Rhythm Section cooking (even in Demo form this is so good).

A fantastic album and one that makes me miss him so much. There’s a 'Parental Advisory Explicit Content' sticker comes with this 2CD set of "New Boots And Panties!!" on the outer shrinkwrap. And with that - you just know you have to own it...

PS: releases in this IAN DURY Hardback Reissue Series on Edsel are:
1. New Boots And Panties!! (Edsel EDSK 7080, 2CDs)
2. Do It Yourself (Edsel EDSK 7081, 2CDs)
3. Laughter (Edsel EDSK 7082, 2CDs)
4. The Bus Driver's Prayer (Edsel EDSK 7083, 2CDs)
5. Mr. Love Pants (Edsel EDSA 5034, 1CD)
6. Warts 'N' Audience [Live] (Edsel 5035, 1CD)

PPS: Amazon lump all the 2004 and 2015 reviews together in the one place (a nasty habit of theirs) – so if you want the Hardback Book Edition I’ve just reviewed from 2015 – make sure to use the Barcode I’ve provided above to get the right issue...
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 June 2008
Despite being well into his thirties when he and his band made this debut album, Ian Dury fitted easily into the 1977 music scene. Anything that looked or sounded different in that year was likely to be labelled punk rock and Dury, with his unglamorous image and London accent was quickly accepted as such. He had though slogged around the pub circuit for several years with Kilburn and The High Roads and recorded an unsuccessful album with them before founding this latest bunch of apparent misfits. In truth, The Blockheads were a superb band, and their music was more funky than punky, even if Dury himself sounded like an articulate, intellectual punk poet. Even on the slower tracks, The Blockheads' rhythm section make your body want to move.

'Wake Up...' kicks off with some tasteful piano before launching into an infectious groove. A revered rock and roll homage to Gene Vincent follows, featuring one of Dury's more intricate lyrics. As the album progresses, there's an increasing element of artful, often smutty music hall mixed with the funk and most of the songs are character sketches. Though 'Clevor Trever' is more subdued, Dury's lyric, full of negatives, captures the sense of insecurity superbly. The second half is generally not quite up to the quality of the first, but the band finish with the album's three most manic and musically anarchic tracks. The fast boogie of 'Blockheads' brilliantly takes the mickey out of the male half of the population. The string of obscenities between tracks, though musically delivered are, however, unnecessary. This isn't an album you played to Grandma.

My version of the album contains five marvellous bonus tracks. The title of 'Sex and Drugs and Rock and Roll' has passed into comman usage as an expression of a certain lifestyle, but the single itself, banned of course, is a great track. I've also always had a soft spot for the b-side, 'Razzle In My Pocket' about a teenage dirty book thief on which Dury plays drums. The band's first hit, 'What A Waste', is also included, completing one of the landmark albums of the 1970s and it's still a great listen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
Ian Durys best ever album, i bought this to replace my worn out vinyl.Dont bother with any other remixes or best ofs this is the original mix perfect 10 out of 10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 November 2013
This 1977 album by master tune and word-smith Ian Dury has, for me, lost none of its inspirational wit and vibrancy, and is as good a testament to one of Britain's finest ever lyricists (nay, poets) as anything the man ever did. Strange to think that the album (with its stunning photo cover of Dury and his then 5-year old son Baxter standing to attention in front of an 'old-fashioned couturiers') is credited to Dury as a solo artist, the Blockheads not having 'officially' been formed just yet, but the presence of ace rhythm section Norman Watt-Roy's bass and Charley Charles' drums, plus Dury's chief song co-writer Chaz Jankel confirms the sound of the album as Blockheads in all but name. Of course, 1977 was also the year of the first Stiff Records tour on which Dury was joined by Elvis Costello, Nick Lowe, Wreckless Eric and Larry Wallis, a tour which confirmed that Dury was set to become one of the greatest British live acts of the era, showcasing the band's almost unique mix of punk/new wave (with a touch of music-hall thrown in for good measure).

To be honest, although Messrs' Dury and Jankel were clearly the creative force behind this band, I have always had a particularly soft spot for Norman Watt-Roy, simply one of the greatest 'rock' bassists ever (whose subsequent work with Wilko Johnson's band was equally impressive) and opener Wake Up And Make Love With Me is a prime example of the man's rolling bass in action (plus, of course, some hilariously 'rude' Dury lyrics). Thereafter, the quality of songs simply does not let up - nor the savagely biting, and often obscene, Dury lyrics - from the heavenly melody/rock n' roll fusion in the elegiac Sweet Gene Vincent (one of Dury's finest ever in my book), through the evocative Cockney banter of the fondly nostalgic tribute My Old Man ('three piece whistles'), the brilliant, tongue-twisting lyrics of the ironically defiant Clever Trevor, the vibrant beat and brutally honest lyrics (given Dury's reputation) of If I Was With A Woman, through to album closer, the brilliant two minute blast (or rant) Blackmail Man on which Dury runs through a whole series of rhyming slang (ironic) 'racist slurs'.

On the extended CD also included are five extra tracks, the superb singles Sex And Drugs And Rock And Roll (another Watt-Roy tour-de-force) and the smoothly rhythmical What A Waste, the hilarious tale of 'girly magazine' adolescence in Razzle In My Pocket and two Ian Dury and the Kilburns songs, the reggae-inspired You're More Than Fair and a stonking live version of England's Glory (another Dury lyrical gem as he runs through a whole series of English 'heroes').

(Still) an essential recording for the collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2004
Cockney geezer Ian Dury's first album backed by the Blockheads is nothing short of a British institution. It's like a good cuppa, or fish'n'chips - it's part of what being British is all about, or more specifically what being a geezer in London is all about.
This is in some ways the most personal of his albums, with a nod to his stage hero ('Sweet Gene Vincent'), and a monologue about his relationship with his long estranged father ('My Old Man') sitting between the irreverent but lyrically genius tracks like 'Billericay Dickie' and 'Clever Trever'. Like most musicians who make social observations, he sticks mostly to his own 'manor'. This is East London/Essex throughout, but very accessible to anyone from anywhere in the UK.
The musical talent of Chaz Jankel shouldn't be ignored either, as all the great Ian Dury material involved him as writer/arranger/keyboard player/guitarist.
Brilliant!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.00
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)