Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
75


on 22 November 2014
A beautifully present well made transfer of the Johnny Weissmuller films, my only disappointment is the box art is all in Spanish.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2011
excellent collection and deleted scenes are put back. so you get to see jane swimming nude with tarzan .its a realey nice scene, but its not maureen o sullivan you see swimming but a double, sullivan hated being under water. enjoyed all the films. only one thing theres no extras with this box set.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2015
Boys never grow up, I love all those old Tarzan films.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2016
old but good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2011
Can't possibly add anything to Russell Clarke's review, only to point out the current knock down price.A great wallow in Hollywood's more innocent age.(Note:-the price has considerably increased since my comments of two years ago)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2017
a great service good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2016
It's a very good box
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2015
good set
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 May 2016
This collection of six Tarzan movies - starring Johnny Weissmuller - consists of: "Tarzan the Ape Man" (1932), "Tarzan and His Mate" (1934), "Tarzan Escapes" (1936), "Tarzan Finds a Son!" (1939), "Tarzan's Secret Treasure" (1941) and "Tarzan's New York Adventure" (1942), all produced by the MGM studio.

These are classic movies from the age of the silver screen! Each is enjoyable in its own terms, and as a collection they represent an excellent saga. Of course, they're dated ... the first film especially shows its age. There has been some restoration work, but these movies deserve more care and attention than they're so far received. It would be nice to see fully re-mastered versions on Blu-ray.

In the first film, Tarzan is introduced. He is shown to be a heroic - yet rather wild - character. As the series develops, Tarzan is slowly tamed, and made more 'civil', yet he strives for his earlier life-style - and enjoys having Jane and their son live with him in the African jungles.

This box-set has 3 discs (2 films on each; with both sides of each disc being playable).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2010
I remember watching these films on TV in the 70's, as a kid. they still hold a great fascination for me, though their quality deteriorates through the series. Weismuller will always be Tarzan for me. He was no great shakes as an actor but he brought charisma and humour to the role. The shower scene in Tarzan goes to New York still makes me chuckle. Of course the star of the show was Cheetah, the chimp, who always got into scrapes an often saved the day. I was pleasantly surprised by how well these films hold up 30 years after I first saw them and some 60 years and more after they were made.The box set is well presented and the transfers are sympathetic to the material. The first film also features some risque restored footage of Jane swimming naked which is beautifully filmed and very tasteful. Modern directors and movie studios could take a note.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse