Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2004
For an album virtually disowned by the band and slated by reviews ever since, it is actually pretty good. It is, in so many ways, a million miles away from their classics, 'Gentlemen Take Polaroids' and 'Tin Drum'. Influenced by the early glam-rock sounds of Roxy Music and Bowie, it is Japan rocking out. But more than that, on a few tracks, there seems to be a heavy funk sound going on back there. And while it seems to jar with the punk aesthetic so widespread at the time, there are definite influences. But while it is so different from their later work, there are some definite links: Mick Karn's bass is still key (although far more straightforward and less adventurous); David Sylvian's voice still dominates, mixed quite high on most tracks; and Richard Barbieri is definitely enjoying getting to grips with his toys.
The album has a rawer, less particular feel about it, but for all that it, each of the songs seem to me to be complete and well-rounded. 'Suburban Love' has a Chic-feel to it, and feels slightly subversive. 'Adolescent Sex' sounds just as the title suggests - a little rough, a little fumbling, but kinda fun and naughty all the same. The Streisand cover, 'Don't Rain on my Parade' is performed with great gusto, and feels like fun - and so it should. 'Television' has a rhythm which could house a lounge-jazz tune, but gradually builds into a crescendo of frustrated angst - 'It's all you ever wanted!'.
All in all, it's never going to be their greatest album. But it has a variety of interesting qualities - which, if you are like me, is plenty enough to give it a listen. The flaws are there, for sure, but there is definitely something of note in there too. Give it a whirl, you might be glad you did. I was.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2003
25 years on ... I still listen to this, it's a cliche, but a great test!!! I was turned onto Japan by a mate at college (now RIP), but this is not why I still give AS a spin. As a teenager in the late 70s I was caught between punk and rock - going with the former and swinging back to the later once the bubble burst. Japan, and AS in particluar, stood out because it had energy and was clever. Not either, but DIFFERENT.
If you want to make music with a guitar (or just listen to it) you should hear this at least once, what's the worst thing that could happen (Belious Some ??) :-)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2003
After seeing Japan endure the worst reaction ever from a Glasgow audience, supporting Blue Oyster Cult, I dashed out to buy this album on vinyl. Yes, they had a borrowed, androgenous, look which leant heavily on the New York Dolls, but they were entirely out of keeping with the times - a good thing in my view. AS prompted a 5 star review from "Sounds" Geoff Barton at the time. I followed them through all the changes, right to the end, because Japan never failed to provoke and challenge. Listen to this album and find out why.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
This is a superb album from Japan, especially for a debut, it's a strong work and there's not a weak track on it, every song is memorable and holds the attention straight away, this album shows what a great all round band they were and able to play many styles.
I love all 5 of their studio albums as each one shows a progression towards something different, not better but just different and still brilliant.
Please don't discount this debut as it's a fantastic album full of energy and power.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
I bought this album when it first came out in 1978. This was the year when shedloads of great punk/new wave bands released stunning debuts, but to me this was in the true punk spirit as it was so out of sync with everything else out there. The music is a fusion of Heavy rock and funk and had the sass of early seventies Bowie and Roxy music running through it. The musicianship is excellent, with twin guitars to the fore, some great riffs and solos. Lush sounding keyboards, a thumping drum sound and the bass is astounding, refusing to do the normal things and snaking through the tracks with melody and cohesion. The only slight weakness is the vocals, which are a little on the thin side but the delivery and lyrics make up for this in the same way that Televisions classic "Marquee moon" did. Above all this though are the actual songs, all of which are class, from the short "the unconventional" to the 10 minute epic "television".
The album that came next, "Obscure alternatives" was almost as good but was more reggae influenced and not as rocky, the third album "Quiet life" ditched the rock guitar in favour of a disco type sound and that was the end for me. A friend owned the supposedly classic "tin drum", which, to my ears, was souless, cold and typified the awful 80's music scene.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
In my opinion, the most under-rated rock album of alltime. You can see how they are somewhat in thrall to the New York Dolls, but the musical blend of punk, glam, funk and rather prog-era electronics is quite unique. More importantly, every track is fabulous, and a real spirit of adventure and creativity is at work here. I'm mystified as to how this has slipped under the radar of rock classics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 October 2007
I actually prefer the two first Japan albums over the introspective noodling that came later - and which most people seem to prefer. It was a breath of fresh air amidst the punk offerings of the time - it had good lyrics, internal tension, a band that sounded together and played tight music. And, after all these years, it still works. The opener, 'Transmission' was pretty weird even in 1978: pounding drums and bass, a tight guitar warp, and an organ floating through - strange background vocals, daft solos. And still it works. They might disown it - I love it! And like 'I wish you were black' there is a biting intensity to David Sylvians voice that keeps the attention going, as well as the feet moving; 'Performance' is another good track in this vein. But I like all the tracks, with 'Suburban love' another tense favourite. An excellent album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2009
I love this album as a long time Japan/David Sylvian fan. Even though I know he has said that he doesn't feel any connection to Japan's earlier music as it is so dramatically different to the music he writes nowadays, I still think it is brilliant and shouldn't be written off! It has a kind of 'seventies' feel, dabbling in hard rock and disco sounds but the music is incredibly melodic and catchy and David's vocal style varies considerably, from his usual gentle, 'pure' voice to sexy and breathy, to all out rock god! Complemented by the excellent musicianship of Karn, Jansen, Barbieri and Dean. My favourite track is 'Television' which goes on forever with David's breathy vocals and a hypnotic groove! I would recommend this album and the even more fabulous 'Obscure Alternatives' album where you can hear glimpses of David's unmistakeable, unique style starting to come through.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2010
Just to clarify just what this item is:

This is an excellent reproduction Release by Dutch Label 'Music on Vinyl' (My own copy is pictured above).

Japan Adolescent Sex Limited Edition 180gram Red Vinyl Audiophile LP + 7inch on Red Vinyl.

This release comes with a bonus 7-inch and the first 1000, numbered, copies of this set will be pressed on red vinyl.

Featured Tracks
Side A
A1 Transmission (4:45)
A2 The Unconventional (3:04)
A3 Wish You Were Black (4:48)
A4 Performance (4:35)
A5 Lovers On Main Street (4:06)
Side B
B1 Don't Rain On My Parade (2:45)
B2 Suburban Love (7:26)
B3 Adolescent Sex (3:43)
B4 Communist China (2:43)
B5 Television (9:12)
+ Bonus 7":
A1 Adolescent Sex re-recorded 7" version (4:15)
B1 State Line (4:48)
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2000
As basic as music gets. The raw sound just fights it's way out of the speakers. The version of Don't rain on my parade is magnificent.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)