Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
The Ultimate Collection
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 5 September 2017
Excellent value 3 disc collection. Vikki is referred to as a "one hit wonder" in the UK- all down to her 1967 No2 hit "It Must Be Him"- despite the pejorative label she did manage to score a couple of lesser hits and has recorded a vast number of "standards" over the past five decades during which she has gained a reputation as a top line performer. Her big hit - "It Must Be Him" is often mistaken and attributed to Shirley Bassey by many casual listeners. This collection squeezes nearly 80 tracks over 3 cds. It captures Vikki's ability to sing almost any style of music from pop, country to jazz standards. A number of tracks are live recordings and many more are sung in Spanish which reflects her Mexican roots. A few tracks do sound a bit cheesy twee and dated but the vast majority showcase Vikki Carr's impressive talent as a true vocalist, an interpreter of lyrics. A great collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2013
I grabbed this set as soon as I became aware of it. Great sound and nice booklet with some rare pics, however the big thing that really grates with this set is the lack of thought in the sequencing of the material. The sound just doesn't flow at all and leaves one with the distinct impression they just shuffled the titles in a barrel and pulled them out at random. The songs should have been arranged in something resembling chronological order. Just to illustrate the issue, her earliest Liberty recordings, which are of the teen variety, are mixed in randomly with her later torch and show-type tunes in varying spots on all three CDs. It doesn't work at all. I'm not knocking these Snuff Garret productions, in fact they are some of her very best work at Liberty, however they should have kicked off the set on disc one. As for the actual selections for this set, it seems incredible to me that no spot could be found for 'The Lesson' (Vikki's excellent follow-up to 'It Must Be Him') in the 78 songs which make up this set. Those criticisms aside, I recommend this set to anyone even remotely interested in great female singers.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2014
Sounding like an American Shirley Bassey at times, but with her own distinct voice, this is a great collection of songs from Vikki Carr, the first I've ever bought. 'It must be him' was a record that resonated with me from way back and after coming across it on YouTube I thought I'd like to hear more of Vikki as we never did hear much of her in England. A few tracks are in Spanish which I like, and 'It must be him' are in both English and Spanish versions here. Some real belters are included as well as many of her early hits and I really enjoyed the whole set. Her forte is really wringing the emotions out her soul and few singers meet the criteria like she does. Excellent box set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2016
THIS IS AN EXCELLENT THREE CD SET OF VICKKI's 60's RECORDINGS IN TOP NOTCH SOUND. A GREAT BARGAIN 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2016
What a wonderful voice. I was given an LP of hers in the 80's by a professional singer because she was and still is regarded as the benchmark for female singers.On this CD there are some tracks from her live recordings (LPs still available for these) and they show how pure it is; no studio twiddling just clear singing. 3 CDS. Very good value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2017
great CD. Delivered before due date. Packaged well. Very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2017
cccc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2015
Wonderful compilation by most under-rated singer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2009
I bought it for the Spanish version of "It must be him" and got also the Italian version. Much cheaper in the UK than in the US.
And I also got plenty of songs for this low price. I'm pleased.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 1 June 2009
Born in Texas near the Mexican border, Vikki Carr eventually signed to Liberty records in 1962. During her eight years with Liberty, Vikki firmly established her reputation in the music business, both as a live performer and via a series of brilliant albums. Hit singles were a rarity but it didn't matter because Vikki was so successful in other ways. Vikki had plenty of success after leaving Liberty, but this collection is limited to the Liberty years.

This collection brings together 78 tracks from those early years, showcasing Vikki's ability to sing a diverse range of material. It clearly shows that Vikki can sing up-tempo songs but that she really excels when singing dramatic ballads. The collection also shows that Vikki can sing songs culled from diverse sources including sixties pop songs (Anyone who had a heart, Call me, Never my love), Broadway songs (Surrey with the fringe on top, Look at that face, Hey look me over), old standards from the Great American Songbook (I only have eyes for you), translations of French songs (It must be him) and even a few country songs (The ways to love a man, True love's a blessing). Most of this compilation is devoted to Vikki's English language recordings, but a few Italian and Spanish tracks are included, some of which are versions of songs that also appear here in English.

While all the obvious tracks are here, there are many other tracks here that Vikki's fans particularly enjoy. Vito Cifaldi, Vikki's official fan club president and webmaster, helped to compile this set. His tireless devotion to the promotion of Vikki's music is admirable. Let's hope that his efforts to release more of Vikki's music on CD continue to be successful. In the meantime, this triple CD has much to offer committed fans of Vikki's music as well as those who are just looking for a representative selection, but who want more than just the hits. As for me, I'm not as committed as Vito, but I've got plenty of Vikki's music on CD and will buy more in due course, because she is one of the finest and most versatile singers in the history of popular music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)