Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
38
4.4 out of 5 stars
Wombling Free [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 January 2017
Watched this with my daughter after telling her about some of the programs from when I was young. She loved it and was enthralled by the wombles, she is now watching the original episodes on youtube.
The film made me feel very nostalgic and it was great so see David Tomlinson on screen again.
The story was as you would hope, light, fun & entertaining and suitable for the whole family.
I expect it may seem dated to older kids or to some that were not from a wombling era. But give it a chance, you may just enjoy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Fabulous if outdated film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
I watched this many times when I was a child so I bought it for my own. They need to be a little older to properly appreciate/understand it(5 & 3 yro) but I loved watching it again with them all the same. The message it has about being environmentally responsible was lost on me as a child, but as an adult is very relevant. Love the music, love the quality.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
Bought as gift for Grandson as he loved the Wombles song on another CD he was given. I was hoping it was going to be a set of the former TV programmes but it is more like a short film. My grandson loved it
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2011
This is the story on Wombling Free

Based on the popular children's series, Wombling Free follows the adventures of the furry loveable litter-pickers from Wimbledon Common - The Wombles.
Only seen by those who believe in them, their work goes largely unnoticed until they are spotted by a young girl, who invites them to her birthday party to show her mother and the residents of Wimbledon that the cuddly crusaders do exist.

Meanwhile Orinoco, Tobermory, Bungo and the rest of The Wombles are up to Womble-ful things. They invent a pollution free car made of tin cans and mop handles, and stage a Hollywood musical extravaganza in an abandoned theatre - then launch the first balloon-powered aircraft!

The film on the DVD is alright, but they could of done better on the bonus features, the trailer is ok but the interviews are unedited from the Electric Winter Show and are too long and David Tomlinsons interview contains one or two bits of swearing, not sure that is suitable for a kids DVD.

Still, a good film for DVD but the bonus features could of been better,
3/5
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2004
i watched this video 5yrs ago when i was in yr4 at school and it was great. i always had liked the wombles and this movie hit the spot. an excellent film.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
Was absolutely fab watching this film again. Bought it for my 4 year old not sure who enjoyed it more though. He sat and watched it all the way through. A lovely film, no guns or ammo only Wombles!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
This DVD is part actors and part characters 'wombles'. No animation or CGI, it's as was when made. My children thoroughly enjoyed it and were excited to see what the wombles looked like having heard the story on CD. They were not disappointed that it wasn't 'modern' in its making at all. Would recommend for its gentle, funny storyline for children and parents that remember it fondly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2016
I love this film. It is so beautiful,and the scenery is so picturesque, with wonderful soundtrack music composed by Womble Mike Batt WBE (Womble Of The British Empire). I bought this for my cat to watch, as she's a Womble, a spitting image of Madame Cholet. She is always wombling. She uses my back garden as Wimbledon Common, wombling away out there. This film explains how The Wombles started their litter picking career as a protest to people dropping litter, making good use of the things that they find, making aircraft out of balloons and cars out of tin cans and broom handles, all to eliminate pollution. As bonuses, there are interviews with the actors who appeared in the films, including a then 10 year old up and coming actress Bonnie Langford. She described how she loved being in the film, and working with The Wombles. But she angered me immensely by failing to mention that The Wombles are the greatest. Yet she seemed to know so much about The Wombles. But apart from that, this DVD is very highly recommended, especially for adults.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
Lovely classic of the Wombles. Happily trying to teach the Humans to recycle and not waste so much!! Pity not more films like this anymore!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse