Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
13
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£0.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2013
Let me start by saying that when I say silly, don't get me wrong; this film is really well-made in a lot of parts, but it's quite corny and it's because it's dated as oppose to intentional, but that's okay. It's great actually, because it gives such a great dimension to the whole movie: it's a great boy film which you can just watch at any time and your mood will be heightened!
Tommy Lee Jones is Sam Quint, a Freelance Operative who is hired by the Government to obtain a cassette with evidence against federal agents on topical issues such as teaxes and everything else which is a bit of a laugh. The opening scene will totally break the ice and make you realise you're in for a good ride( come to think of it, it may be one of the best opening scenes to a film ever). The action is great though the plot is corny but I won't spoil it, and it's nice to see Tommy Lee Jones playing the lead as a law enforcement officer like this a bit earlier on in his career, and not jut seeing him as a tired old sheriff or something. You'll laugh, you'll question it, but you'll finish it off thinking that you'll watch it next time you're in a poor mood.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
I bought this from a second hand store for cheap and didn't really expect much from it. I was imagining a poorly produced thriller with elements of Knight Rider that I could have a laugh with/at for an hour and a half and no more, as is usually the case with DVDs like this. I was pleasantly surprised when I found I was actually getting into the story and was enjoying it.

It's pretty much "action-thriller by numbers" stuff with fist fights, car chases, the obligatory romance and death defying near misses but it's good fun all the while. Tommy Lee Jones' character, while a bit arrogant as you expect with the genre, is likeable enough, and the main villain in his impenetrable fortress is straight out of a comic book.

Yes, the effects are a bit dated by 2011's standards, especially the prototype car and high wire scene, but if you can look past this there is a hidden gem in here.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2003
Tommy Lee Jones is Quint, a resourceful thief employed as a freelance agent by the US Government to recover vital evidence against a mob syndicate from one of their business fronts.
All goes well until Quint is identified by a former colleague and the chase is on to recover the evidence and silence him.
This is a brilliant movie. Tommy Lee Jones again shows the class act he is (come to think of it I don't think I've ever seen him in a bad movie). He gets A1 support from the other actors, especially Linda Hamilton as the car thief he falls for and Richard Jaeckel as the car's designer.
Occasionally quite violent, this is still an exciting thriller with a talented cast, well worth buying.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
This is so old, it is hilarious - mobiles the size of bricks, hair do's that look ridiculous. So good for a laugh, but not an action film - you can tell they are really sitting in an amrchair when they are driving the car.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Nice little forgotten pseudo sci-fi 'caper' style movie starring Linda Hamilton (between the Terminators), Tommy Lee Jones and Robert Vaughn. It involves Tommy as thief who enlists the help of Linda to re-steal an experimental car in which he's stashed something he needs from her boss (Vaughn) who runs a high class chop shop in the basement of a well guarded office building. Very 80's feeling, and very much a B-Movie. But the movie knows what it is and doesn't drag, staying entertaining the whole time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
It is a nice film. I saw it many years ago when it first came out. It was most enjoyable to see it again
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
It was OK nothing to write home about
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
This film also has the very versatile actor Tommy Lee Jones in it in this one he plays the part of an x convict who has decided to go straight on his release and do a job for the government, this involves a computer tape and a lot of car chases. This is one of his earlier films so do not expect to much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
Enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Disappointing.Not one of Tommy Lee Jones' best. In fact I have alreadygiven it away! Sad, as he is an excellent actor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)