Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Whatever Happened To The Likely Lads - Series 2 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 October 2013
The lads return for the second and what turned out to be the last series of 'Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads.' While the second series is not as good as the first series . It is still a very good series, with some great episodes and moments particularly 'One for the Road' where Bob is charged for drink driving and Terry with football hooliganism, 'The Great Race' where Bob and Terry cycle to Berwick in a race and 'Conduct Unbecoming' where Terry gets into trouble after a fight in a pub.

A great end to a great series. It's just a shame that the actors fell out over what seems to be a silly misunderstanding.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2017
This series is simply perfect. I watched it as a boy and stil watch it frequently and never get bored of it.
Sadly this series is often overlooked and many have never heard of it.
The writing amd timing is of the highest quality.
Give this a go if you haven't already
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Husband enjoyed said it was as good as first time he watched it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2017
Very good dvd. Delivery spot on !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2008
The early seventies is a classic period for many things, including television comedy. During this period we enjoyed Morecambe & Wise and Tommy Cooper at the peak of their powers and classic sitcoms such as The rise and fall of Reginald Perrin, Porridge and Rising Damp.
For me, Whatever happened to the Likely Lads tops the lot, a wonderfully written series following up an equally stellar series one. The episode when the lads go to Berwick on a fishing trip is, arguably, the best ever - and Bob's appearance at the christmas special wearing the matching earring is the work of genius. I'm not sure how it works for those who weren't around in 1973 but if you enjoy the endless repeats of Fawlty Towers and Del Boy on UK Gold then try this. Wonderful.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2006
Whatever Happened To The Likely Lads? is a series I continue to find fascinating, extremely well written, excellently performed and very funny. It ended a decade before I was born but being a southern 80's child with northern parents I discovered it through the repeats and still consider it a brilliant document of British social history. There seems to be some confusion as to whether the final episode (the 1974 Christmas special) is included on this release. Well, it is on mine! It's an extra feature on disc 2- although I don't suppose it's very prominent on the DVD sleeve. I must admit it is extremely uncharacteristically generous of the BBC to include it, given that they would usually try to milk it by releasing it separately. I did notice however that they didn't actually include every surviving episode of the original `60's Likely Lads series on the recent DVD release. A couple were left off for some reason. I recommend the Likely Lads film (1976) too, which is the equivalent of three more episodes as well as being Terry and Bob's final appearance.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 June 2006
Series two recalls the events (or more often than not the catastrophies) that takes place following Bob's marriage. Naturally Bob's old mate Terry proves more than a little responsible for much of the action.
Series two isn't for me quite the classic that the first series proved to be. It isn't quite as carefully measured or consistent in some ways although it still manages to maintain a quality that is rarely matched by any other comedy series.
There are plenty of examples here of the Likely Lads being at the very top of their game. 'The Great Race', 'One For The Road','Affairs And Relations', 'The Shape Of Things To Come' and 'Conduct Unbecoming' are all contenders for the best Likely Lads episode ever while 'The Expert', 'Between Ourselves' and 'The Go-Between' involves Bob's marriage breakdown in a way that many can relate to.
There's much to admire and enjoy about this series and for me when compared with almost any other series this is a five star. However i've only docked a star because i believe the first series taken as a whole is a little stronger.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2006
Contrary to a previous reviewer, the DVD of the second Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads series DOES include the 1974 Christmas Special. On the second disc it simply follows the last WHTTLL episode, The Shape of Things to Come. Compared to the DVD issue of the first series of Whatever happened to the Likely Lads, at least some frills have gone into this presentation. For starters, there are episode and chapter menus for the 14 episodes, something which was inexplicably abscent from the series one DVD.

Overall, series two is as good as series one, if slightly marred by the storylines becoming repetitious by the series' end. Part of the timeless appeal of the Likely Lads is that it's a working-class sitcom that hones in on the everday, non-melodramatic aspect of working lives. And it's that aching normality - the endless pots of tea and biscuits, swift-halves and betting slips - that furnishes the show with a warm, inviting glow.

Revisiting these episodes again, though, it's notable that series two has a slightly harder edge in places. Both Terry and Bob have run-ins with the law in two episodes, a reminder, perhaps, that the seventies was a comparatively rough period in British history. In lesser hands, though, this would come to solely define the existance of the British working-class. But here the emphasis is on, well, the pots of tea, swift halves etc etc - and all the better for it.

Nevertheless, there was still a serious point of The Likely Lads - it captured how British labourism no longer related to the material aspirations of the working-classes. Recently Mark Lawson argued that Bob was a proto-Thatcherite, but in actual fact - as indicated in the last episode - Ferris still saw himself as working-class, both socially and politically, but didn't believe the cloth-cap image was apt for the modern day.

Of course, British sitcomes have frequently been about class, but non have been so sensitive to social change as the Likely Lads have been.

Sociological insight aside, though, let's not forget that Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads is still laugh-out-loud funny, as I found out yet again on first airing of these long cherished classics. To combine such frequent hilarity with everday warmth and foresighted intelligence puts both series one and two in the toppermost of British sitcoms. That series two comes with the Christmas special only makes this purchase all the more sweeter.....
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2010
Not as good as Only Fools and Horses. I have always liked the signature tune. In this one, I only laughed at the first part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2007
Not quite as good as the first series, but still brilliant, but I can understand the confusion over the Christmas episode. On one DVD player I have, the Christmas episode just plays normally as you would expect, but on another one, when I select the Christmas episode, it starts off halfway through, and the only way I can get it to play in its entirety is to hit "play all" and then fast forward through all the preceding episodes. So the disk evidently has some "issues" (as people insist on saying these days)with certain players. The players in question are identical models, which makes the whole thing even more mysterious.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)