Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
126
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2017
Arguably the film is slightly easier to follow the plot in than the film of the Broadway show is. Try watching this first if you are new to RENT as I was. It IS a great show but VERY American and you might need to see it more than once to get all of the story. The music is first class! AOKR
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Wonderful film adaptation of a truly brilliant musical, helped massively by the fact that the majority of the cast were part of the original broadway cast and have been with the show from the very beginning. For anyone who enjoys this, I would also recommend the live recording of the show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
good dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Seen the Show so bought the film and found although different settings.
Still so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Perfect direction of one of the best musicals ever written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
It's OK, but not as brilliant as it could be! Performances more than over the top in some instances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Love this film. Saw it on stage in Liverpool over 10 years ago. Cry every time I watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2005 film of the 1996 hit rock musical inspired by Puccini's "La Boheme", the setting this time New York's most poverty-stricken district. One year in the lives of seven young(ish) hopefuls amidst threats of AIDS and eviction.

All I knew of "Rent" was that the stage version is considered far better (a claim frequently made when a musical transfers to the screen). The film nevertheless contains a lot to impress - a talented cast, likeable characters (although Maureen proved a bit much), a score both lyrical and vibrant. Highlights include Light my Candle; Today for You, Tomorrow for Me; The Tango Maureen; No Day But Today; La Vie Boheme; I Can't Believe This Is Goodbye, etc.

Jarring a bit are the scenes at the wedding (or whatever), with puzzling evidence of much money suddenly around. Especially moving is the sequence depicting the passing of months (and friends), characters fading from the chairs they used to occupy at the AIDS support group. Saddest of all is the funeral that follows - the mourning of a companion so dear to all.

Despite all the hardship, hope remains. That positive underlying message comes over well. I left the film drained and with much to think about.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.73
£12.09

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)