Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
36
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2017
This is the first time Ben Fogle gets bullied by James Cracknell and what fun it is! In this adventure they are out at sea with Cracknell prodding Fogle with an oar and threatening him with every manner of violence possible to increase his speed. Fogle wishes he hadn't signed up for the race, in fact in the book he says he thought about throwing himself overboard and who wouldn't think that when you have a man like Cracknell spitting fire and bursting his blisters while resting his weeping sores on Fogle's bleached blonde head. You should watch it though, if you don't, Cracknell will track you down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Nice easy watching, very raw account of their epic adventure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Very Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
Very good adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Gripping dvd of this rowing challenge. Have watched several times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2006
Through Hell and High Water gives a detailed insight into Fogle and Cracknell's row across the Atlantic and includes some great footage of before, during and after the event. But I think the dvd could have been better. Many parts of the footage is reused more than once during the film to make the same points, which not only begins to get annoying but makes it unnecessarily long and drawn out. Some of the impact is lost because of the way this dvd has been made, which is a shame, because what these two men achieved was immense, and worth as much as any gold medal. Buy it, because it's good, but I bet you won't watch it the WHOLE way through more than once...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2006
This documentary is incredibly enjoyable. Ben's affability and James' competitiveness really have you rooting for them and spurring them on throughout all their troubles. Full marks to Ben for never appearing to snap at James! Even though James kept pushing and pushing Ben was determined not to let him down. The interviews with the boys' partners were good to include as it gave you more insight into their characters and motivation. It was really heart warming to see how supportive and selfless they were, especially James' wife, who - despite saying she was going to hate every minute he was away - always tried to lift his spirits whenever he phoned home. The guys' achievement was inspirational.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2006
If you like human interest / survival stories then this is the best I've ever seen. The film portrays in detail, the isolation, the joy and the sheer physical and mental pain of racing across the atlantic in a rowing boat. Tough men, systematically broken down by the ocean to the bare bones of humanity. At times shocking, at other times as funny as a good comedy, it has it all - I challenge anyone to watch this and not give it 5 stars. Inspirational stuff.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2006
An incredible action packed story. Two brave men Ben Fogle and James Cracknell cross the Atlantic in a rowing boat and have every type of challenge thrown at them. You finish watching it feeling you have been through it with them. Literally one of the most amazing programmes I have ever watched.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
These too chaps have been at it a while now. They have both run marathons, triathlons, endurance events, rowed, cycled, swam and skied vast distances. They have taken us to far flung corners such as the South Pole event where the idea was to race across the ice to the actual South Pole...in that race, they came second to some Scandinavians (not surprising), but in this event they won. Cracknell of course has rowing pedigree and both are thoroughly good chaps. Youngsters by the 1000 are inspired by seeing modern day Cavaliers who could opt for a well paid 9-5, mustering instead, a paramount effort, pushing themselves to the limit and coming out on top. Throughout their careers in the public eye, but Ben and James have done extraordinary things, raised large sums for charity and given many hours of viewing enjoyment. A life lived full of accomplishment and activity is, in this era of death cults and violence, an important message to all. Life is to be lived fully and if at all possible, make the most of it....and help others by raising money for 'Charidy' at the same time. The slightly equivocal merit of winning this race seems very much second place to the astounding achievement of rowing across the Atlantic Ocean. For most of us, flying across it at 35000 ft is ordeal enough. Ever wondered what its like to row across the Atlantic, well this DVD gives a good idea and its not fun and games all the way by an means. At one point the whole boat is swallowed by a giant basking shark and later on is dragged into the depths by a giant squid....or am I getting this confused with Moby Dick?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)