Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12

on 7 October 2017
As a favourite Americana folk-rock band of mine at the moment I reckon this second effort is one of their best. Mainly acoustic and sounding a little threadbare at times it manages to engage and at times soars. I was surprised the band were from NY rather than say rural Texas like Midlake or other purveyors of mysterious amplified folky music At first listen only On a Neck, On a Spit and maybe Colorado and Lullaby will grab your attention, but on subsequent plays all the tracks can be appreciated (funny how Grizzly Bear tend to leave the gems toward the end on their albums) . Fine vocals, atmospheric music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2009
Firstly, I'm shocked that Mr Solinas hasn't given this 5 stars. He's usually a pretty good judge of great music. I shall take up this matter directly!

In my opinion this is one of the most underrated albums of the new century. Trust me, this will only become better known as the years pass.

So what's it like? To me, it's like a band who treat their instruments and voices like an orchestra. Everything is meticulously constructed. They don't just play along with the song like so many bands, each harmony and instrument has a purpose, adding thoughtfully to their soundworld. And that's what makes it work. Whilst it's accepted that Knife and On A Neck On A Spit are strong highlights (the most accessible), the album is fully inspired throughout, and that's a rare thing. Strongly recommended to a baroque pop/rock listener.

Looking for a reference point? Somewhere between Fleet Foxes and Animal Collective. (If you don't know who those bands are, you're really not keeping up!)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2009
This is a sublime record that grows on you like a tumour. As previous reviewers have said it occupies a space where spectral sounds and earthy elements collide. Yes you can trace back through Yo La Tengo and Galaxie 500 to get to the root of Grizzly Bear but this record is great in its own right. The latest record somehow tarnishes this one by virtue of its naked commercial sound - this record is a different beast all together. Its a record of half heard sounds and deja vu. I swear the first song actually doesnt ever end, it merely mutates across the rest of the record. And at the price currently on amazon its a steal. You may take a couple of listens to get into this incarnation of Grizzly Bear but if you persevere you will be rewarded in spades. This is a truly beautiful and mysterious record. A spiders web of sound. You should buy it. No doubt that this record has 5 stars running through it like a stick of rock. Essential.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2012
Perhaps the moment was right, the first time I played Reprise. A very good friend's YouTube video recommendation in an e-mail. Not knowing anything about the band, the moment I played the song I knew it was uniqe. That song on its own felt like waves and wavelets rhythmically washing over a shore of pebbles.

The album, and the music on it, lives in its own time. A rare quality--the ability to naturally weave around the moment, allowing its own world materialise so intensely that each listening stops time.

A rare, unique album. Gentle, raw, beautifully structured and haunting.

5/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2016
Very good album. Enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2015
Grizzly Bear takes you. On a musical journey and the landscape varies from song to som
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2014
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2012
I cannot find the words to describe this album (plus other reviewers have already done a pretty good job!)

just listen to it, many, many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 April 2007
Grizzly Bear have been around for awhile, but "Yellow House" is their first album as a complete, cohesive quartet band. And it's a stunning piece of work, layering together ethereal freakfolk and gentle rock'n'roll into an eerily earthy sound -- it's like listening to a folk band made up of ghosts.

It opens with a run-through of the instrumentation -- a flute smoothing out into a wobbly violin, and some tinny piano. After a moment of silence, the band slips into "Easier," with its folky banjo/guitar melody wrapped in gentle shimmering synth. And the lyrics hint at broken houses and broken loves: "I know, I know, the doors won't close/the pipes all froze/just let it go...let's recreate an easier time/because I still can't find you."

They follow it up with an earthier song, "Lullabye," which meanders uncertainly through mostly acoustic territory, but with the occasional synthy chime. The songs that follow are in this mold -- ghostly rockers and fizzly, windy ballads. Each one starts off simple and slow, but builds up into atmospheric and powerful pieces of work.

If you just hear a sample or skip through it, "Yellow House" sounds like your basic folk-rock album. Not much to listen to. But listen to some of the songs in their entirety, and the beauty of their music really starts to stick out -- it's sort of glitchy shimmery freakfolk psychedelica, with a bit of lo-fi indie-rock thrown in for good measure.

They have a dud every now and then -- the first halves of "On a Neck, On a Spit" and "Reprise" are too banjoey and straightforward to fit in. However, the rest of the time they craft their music exquisitely -- the instrumentation and vocals are layered together into hypnotic swirls, sometimes fading out to give it that ghostly sound.

The instrumentation itself is a beautiful blend of all sorts of instruments -- some straightforward guitar and restrained banjo, some echoing glockenspiel and a soft flute. And the entire album is shrouded in dark, unearthly synth from Chris Taylor, ranging from glitches to wavers, misty fuzz to a twittering sound like a moth's wings.

All four members contribute their vocals, and their intertwined, mournful voices are absolutely stunning. They could sing just about anything and make it sound pretty -- in fact, "Colorado" is mostly made up of mournful calls of the title word. The other songs usually have a few more lines than that, but are pared down to the core: "A folding chair/Sitting out by the wading pool, chlorine blue/Rush of wind passing over me/Restless nights/Chin up, cheer up/My love's another kind..."

Grizzly Bear craft a beautiful, delicate collection of freakfolky tunes with a psychedelic edge, an exquisite listen that takes a little while to sink in. "Yellow House" should be lived in.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2009
I was recommended Grizzly Bear by a friend & as this one was on sale I bought it. At first I wasn't 100% sold on it but I think that was because I just had it on in the background. Now I've heard it a few times it's a firm favourite with me.
It reminds me of Midlake's Van Occupanther and, as others have mentioned, Iron & Wine with it's sweeping music and interesting lyrics.
Have a go and I hope it will be a grower with you too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Shields
£5.99
Friend Ep
£10.15

Need customer service? Click here