Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11
4.8 out of 5 stars
Just So
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 October 2017
This is Wonderful a rare treat Stiles and Drewes first musical is a real diamond in the rough but a real,show of what they are capable of the mix of styles is a treat to the ears Reggae one moment classical musical theatre the next, I thought it would be a bit disjointed due to the fact that its based on a fantastic but colossal set of wonderful short stories by Kipling, its because of this i thought it would be tough to adapt into a stage show but this is a Masterpiece that I feel only Stiles And Drewe could pull off ive been quite vague overall because this is one that any musical fan must buy and make up their on opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Very happy to find this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 June 2006
I first saw this musical when I was 17, I'm now 33 and have seen it about five times in four different productions. Its a show that lives with you. The music is tuneful, moving, up-lifting and a real theatre score. The lyrics elegant, witty and shot through with humour. If you havent seen it or have heard about it give this CD a whirl, its well worth the chance. There is not a single dull track on the album. In fact its a complete and utter delight. Its cheered my weekend up no end! Just So is a brilliant diamond of a musical. Discover it for yourself, you will end up humming it for days.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
I like John B. and noticed he had done the recording of this album.
Without knowing anything about the show i Bought it.
After the album arrived i learned the story behind the show and how John came to record the Just So album.

The show took a long time to write, it started in 1984 and is based on the Rudyard Kipling Just So stories. With rewrites and a very long story, the recording of the album happened in 2004. With the cast from the Chichester Festival Theatre, becouse of other work commitments the producers were unable to mix the album at that time. They got back to work in 2005 and wanted to change the opening song, so had to do some more recoding, But all the Chichester cast were not avalible, But an old friend was, enter Mr Barrowman, saying that John B. did not appear in the show and only had a few days to learn the songs and do the recoding. He has done the company proud, He sings with his ease and quality of tone.

Quote from The Mail on Sunday about the show, "A Funny, Feel-Good Triumph that's JUST SO, So good i can't wait to take the children".
Not just for children any one, any age will enjoy.
Well recomended if you like Musicals or Mr Barrowman.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
Having loved the production of Just So I saw in Chichester years ago I wondered if the CD would capture the fun of the original. Based on the stories of Rudyard Kipling and with original music by Stiles and Drewe (who wrote the recent west End show "Betty Blue Eyes") this did certainly not disappoint. The addition of John Barrowman to the original stage cast is inspired as he brings his beautiful baritone voice and just the right amount of fun to the role of the Eldest Magician. Barrowman's performance of "If" brought a tear to my eye but this was just one highlight. All the singers are superb and there is not a weak track on here. Many of the songs made me chuckle out loud.
If you are a musical theatre fan who has grown up loving Kipling you will love this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Very, very good. Loved the music will save it for my Grandchildren to enjoy. John is just perfect as usual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
item as described ..... arrived very quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
No problem
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2016
:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Peter Pan
£24.40

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)