Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
96
The Simpsons - Season 8 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 July 2017
item arrived on time great box set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2017
Order exactly as described. Delivery exactly as stated. Friendly delivery man.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2016
AWESOME!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2017
Dispatched quickly. Whole contents perfect. Bought the DVD second hand, came complete with booklets as if bought new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2014
It is a nice box and very cool dvd cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2007
This season, i think is the best season. It has brilliant episodes including Bart after dark, Lisa's date with density, The Springfield files and my personal favourite, The Itchy and Scratchy and poochie show. The last episode mentioned is extremely funny. I would advise season eight from season 1 to 10 but all seasons are all very good as well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 June 2010
If you`re a glass-half-full kind of person, and I like to think I am, then the fact the Simpsons did decline in quality from here should not cause too many tears; because this season is the best for my money. I adore Seasons 3, 4, 5 and 6, but believe this is the peak in terms of number of standout episodes. At least four of my top ten ever episodes are here.

Treehouse Of Horror VII - *****
One of the best Treehouse episodes, starring Hugo, Bart`s evil twin; Lisa becomes God to a tiny world she creates from her baby tooth; and an excellent Kang and Kodos feature to finish.

You Only Move Twice - *****
Simply fantastic, frequent Simpson`s guest star Albert Brooks plays Hank Scorpio in a brilliant Bond spoof.

The Homer They Fall - ****
Homer discovers he has ("Why Me!") Homer Simpson Syndrome, thus giving his brain extra protection from the gloves of Mike Tyso...I mean, Drederick Tatum.

Burns Baby Burns - ****
Not especially brilliant guest star Rodney Dangerfield plays Burns` long-lost and hugely embarrassing Homer-alike son, Larry. Cue hijinks as Homer and Larry hatch a kidnap plot to "win a father`s love".

Bart After Dark - *****
Homer, to assorted church people: If Homer Simpson wants his ten-year old son to work in a burlesque house, then Homer Simpson`s ten-year old son will work in a burlesque house!
Homer, realising Marge is behind the crowd: Now Marge, you`re going to hear a lot of crazy talk about Bart working in a Burlesque House.
Certainly an episode that has grown on me to become a favourite, with a classic Simpsons song to round things up.

A Milhouse Divided - ***
A bit of a downer really! At least Marge and Homer`s relationship strengthens as a result. And Homer playing Scaletrix when all he had to do was get dressed is wonderful.

Lisa's Date With Density - ****
As with all Lisa episodes, they are quite funny whilst being a little too serious. A bit more depth to Nelson`s character than we usually see.

Hurricane Neddy - *****
It takes the whole town`s poor attempt to rebuild his house to make Ned crack, but when he does crack...! Homer also grasps some basic psychology. Lovely episode.

El Viaje Misterioso De Nuestro Homer - ***
The mighty Johnny Cash plays a talking coyote in one of the great guest spots, and Marge`s attempts to keep the smell of chili from Homer are fantastic, but the episode loses momentum and becomes a bit soppy.

The Springfield Files - ****
Quite funny, a bit of an excuse to have then-immensely-famous Mulder and Scully involved. Poor Grandpa loses his teeth to, and is outpaced by, a tortoise.

The Twisted World Of Marge Simpson - ****
I like Jack Lemmon`s guest spot, playing his character from Glengarry Glen Ross (and the template for Gil in later seasons). Good ending as the mob shock Homer by wanting something in return for the favour they did him.

Mountain Of Madness - *****
One of my favourites, as Homer and Burns go mad quite quickly in each other`s company whilst buried under an avalanche.

Simpsoncalifragilisticexpialad'ohcious - ***
Worth watching for Homer`s brain as it gives his "undivided attention", but too much singing and for Mary Poppins fans only, really.

The Itchy & Scratchy & Poochie Show - ****
An episode inspired by real-life executives trying to introduce a new character to the Simpsons family. Homer makes a fine talking dog, with his "hilarious voice".

Homer's Phobia - *****
Brilliant, as Homer worries about Bart`s orientation and Moe has the perfect solution to make him straight. Top guest performance from John Waters.

Brother From Another Series - *****
As a Frasier fan, I`m always going to love this Sideshow Bob episode, as David Hyde-Pierce plays his equally unhinged brother.

My Sister, My Sitter - *****
Great episode, as Homer finds the perfect car-parking space, and Bart is sooo annoying you almost wish he would give Lisa a break!

Homer vs. The 18th Amendment - *****
Homer is surprisingly clever and becomes the Beer Baron to combat the reinstatement of an old prohibition law, but is caught by a mix of Rex Banner, and a poor, gunless, Chief Wiggum.

Grade School Confidential - ****
Somehow, Bart screws up the best blackmail material he could have dreamt of, as Skinner becomes the kind of man who "wears armour hot dogs".

The Canine Mutiny - ****
Bart realises that although other dogs might be smarter, his true best friend is Santa`s Little Helper.

The Old Man And the Lisa - *****
Lisa realises that Mr Burns is pure evil, and when he tries to be good, he`s even worse!

In Marge We Trust - ****
Homer, or "Fishbulb", makes an unlikely appearance on a Japanese washing powder box, whilst Marge inadvertantly drives Ned into Baboon County, USA!

Homer's Enemy - *****
Often voted the best episode ever. And why not? It`s glorious, and gives a fairly solid answer to what it would be like if Homer tried to live like he does in the real world. Hank Azaria plays the bitter (and horribly unlucky) Frank Grimes.

Simpsons Spin-Off Showcase - ***
Troy MacLure presents Chief Wiggum, Moe and Grandpa, and the Simpsons in other guises. Probably more fun to write and create than it turned out to be.

The Secret War Of Lisa Simpson - ***
Disappointing finish for my money, never finish with a Lisa episode, they`re not enough fun! Homer barely makes an appearance as Lisa tries to prove she can do anything boys can, with mixed success.

A fabulous season, that no home should be without, even the homes of people who don`t like The Simpsons! This is my favourite season.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 October 2014
Season 8 is the season of 'The Simpsons' which saw the quality slowly begin to drop, although it wasn't apparent at the time, and the episodes here are far from bad, certainly better than most of the new ones of today.

There are some real classics here, including two of my all time favourites. The first is 'You Only Move Twice' where Homer finally leaves Mr. Burns behind him and takes on a new job at Cypress Creek. Unaware of his new boss, the easy going Hank Scorpio's criminal schemes, he enjoys his work, despite the family having trouble settling in to the new area. Scorpio is a great character, who I would very much have liked to have seen pop up again, amusingly, he's a really nice guy on the surface, but an evil genus behind the scenes. The second great one is 'Bart After Dark', where Bart stumbles across a burlesque house in the town, and Marge is horrified, determined to have it shut down.

Episodes like 'My Sister, My Sitter' and 'Grade School Confidential' aren't all that re-watchable, and whilst I have no doubt that many fans will love 'The Simpsons Spin-Off Showcase', parodying variety shows, I personally don't think it's all that funny, very cheesy and overall lame, despite a couple of good bits.

In short, this is not as good as the previous seasons, but still a pretty solid season overall. Some of the scripts aren't as funny, but the good ones do out way the bad. Like the rest of the excellent DVD box sets, it includes a ton of bonus features to explore, and deserves in it's place in your 'Simpsons' collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2006
This is it, the greatest season with the greatest episodes of the greatest cartoon on Earth. If you have ever even slightly liked this cartoon family then you need this season. It was the last season- and what a season!- before the dreadful "new" Simpsons started to seep through the formerly great writers' pens. 25 fantastic episodes feature on 4 discs with plenty of extras, the deleted scenes being the most notable. Nearly all the episodes are 10/10. Those that aren't are usually 9/10 with the rare 8.99999999999/10. With "You Only Move Twice", "The Itchy and Scratchy and Poochie Show", "Mountain of Madness", "Homer's Enemy" and many other episodes associated with the Simpsons' former greatness, it is time to walk down nostalgia lane and wash that taste of season 50 (nicknamed "Well even though it's crap, you'll still watch it, won't you?") out of your mouth. This is the best of the best of the best of the best all crammed onto four shiny new discs. If you have even a slight bit of humanity left in you, you won't be complete without these DVDs.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 18 September 2012
Here, spread across four dvds in one box set, are all twenty five episodes from the eighth season of the Simpsons.

They are as follows:

Treehouse of Horror VII
You only move twice.
The Homer they fall.
Burns baby burns.
Bart after Dark
A Milhouse divided.
Lisa's date with density.
Hurricane Neddy.
El Viaje Misterioso De Nuestro Homer.
The Springfield files.
The twisted world of Marge Simpson.
Mountain of madness.
Simpsoncalifragilisticexpiliad'ochious.
The Itchy and Scratchy and Poochie show.
Homer's phobia.
Brother from another series.
My sister, my sitter.
Homer vs the 18th amendment.
Grade school confidential.
The canine mutiny.
The old man and the Lisa.
In Marge we trust.
Homer's enemy.
Simpsons spin off showcase.
The secret war of Lisa Simpson.

This is a season that nobody argues about the quality of, so there are many excellent episodes here [and two rather weak ones: the Homer they fall and the secret war of lisa simpson aren't quite as funny as what's around them].

Every episode has direct scene access. And a commentary.

Any episode from which scenes were deleted will allow you to watch it with the scenes reinstated if you wish.

The Language and subtitle options are as follows:

Languages; English.

Subtitles: English.

Although the episode Homer's enemy on disc four has a special language features that allows it to be heard in either French, Dutch, Czech, or Mandarin.

Each disc has 'bit from the animators' where they will do special commentary on one particular episode, highlighting the tricks of the animation trade and what went right or wrong with the episode in question. These run from seven to twelve minutes and can get off topic but can be very informative.

Disc one has an introduction to the season from Simpsons creator Matt Groening, which lasts for a couple of minutes.

And a feature about the Simpsons House. A specially reproduced real life replica of the house from the show. This feature runs for three minutes.

Disc one also has an animation showcase for one episode which allows you to watch it with the animation in various stages of completeness.

On disc four there are seventeen minutes worth of deleted scenes. For the season as a whole. Some of them are in black and white by virtue of being slightly unfinished. These can be watched with or without commentary. The latter is worth a listen as it does give interesting detail as to why some got cut out.

Also on the disc are two short fox network promotions for the show, running one minute in total and showing Matt Groening drawing one particular character in each.

Plus a short gallery of original sketches and artwork.

With lots of jokes on the menus and in the suond when the discs start up, there's lots to discover here. It's another very good package for a very good season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)