Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
80
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Video Game|Change
Price:£8.90+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 October 2007
This is a fantastic finale to the great metroid prime series and definately the best yet.

For those who dont know you play a bounty hunter called Samus and you try to complete objectives on various planets and this game never dissapoints. The visuals are lush, the sound is atmospheric and now this time with full voice overs which gives the story more meaning, and the best bit is the fantastic controls. Now when ive played the prevous two adventures i can say you will never want to go back when you have tried this.

The only downside you may find that this game is challenging at times and is only for the hardcore.

However i strongly recommended this, and about flaming time the wii got some classic titles, and with mario galaxy just around the corner you can finally dust off those remotes and start playing once again. Fantastic.
22 Comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 January 2008
I never really got into the Gamecube Metroid games much, so I hesitated for a long time before deciding to try this one. It's turned out to be one of the best games I've played on any platform, I've played through is so many times, and still love going back to it.

For those not familiar with it, it's an excellent FPS with some good puzzle, platforming, and exploration elements, but not so much that it stands in the way of the action.
The combat sectiongs are probably the closest thing to the Halo series on the Wii, but the exceptionally well-implemented Wii controls make the controls feel so much better than any joypad-controlled FPS.
It plays a bit differently from most FPSs though, with more platforming, puzzling, exploring, and a smaller number of tougher enemies, making you work harder to defeat them.
The boss fights are exceptionally well-done, some of the most enjoyable boss-battles I've played in any game - but you do have to use strategy to defeat them, use your visor to scan the boss, and gain hints about weaknesses etc. - just using traditional FPS-style strafing and firing won't get you very far against most of the bosses.

The graphics are amazing - not just technically (although it is probably the best looking game on the Wii besides Super Mario Galaxy) but also the effort that has gone into the design of buildings, enemies, levels, textures, artwork - it is truly beautiful to look at in places (the planet Elysia in particular), and the music is very good in places (again, Elysia stands out).

It's less linear that most FPS's, you have a certain freedom to explore - there are gentle hints guiding you in the right direction, but on the 1st playthrough, you might sometimes find you're not 100% sure what to do next - it's the kind of game that from time to time makes you stop and think - but you can easily consult a walthrough, or look through the files you collect as you go through the game, giving you hints, as well as information and a quite-interesting background story of the long-extinct alien races who built the worlds you're exploring.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2007
Anyone who has been worried about the lack of "real" games on the Wii can now rest easy. I'm normally more of a PC gamer and console games often struggle to keep my attention, but this is probably the best FPS I have ever played. The control mechanism is BETTER than mouse and keyboard, and they have finally got the graphics right. This game really shows what the Wii is capable of - it may not have all of the fancy textures of a PC game but the smoothness is unbelievable and the alien planets are far more complicated and imaginative than you might expect. Streaming loading means almost no annoying waiting for level loading like on most console games. Pure brilliance - more please!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2007
I bought this game with high expectations, the first two Prime games on the Gamecube were excellent and I enjoyed playing through them. With Corruption, I wasn't disappointed.

There are many differences between this third game and the previous two. The most noticeable is the control style, which has changed to the Wii remote and nunchuck. I'm pleased to say that it works brilliantly, so much that it was really awkward going to analogue based shooters for a while because I was used to the smooth and accurate aiming. The nunchuck provides movement, morphball and other minor controls along with motion controls with the grapple beam (I'll get to that in a minute) and, so far, it's the closest you can get to Mouse and Key style controls on Wii. The controls are important, as many a Wii game have suffered due to bad controls. It's definitely not the case here.

With these added motion controls, the game instantly becomes more interactive. You can use the remote and nunchuck to move various objects like handles and switches, which is vital for solving puzzles. Locking on to an enemy and flicking the nunchuck swings out your grapple beam, a sort of electronic lasso you can use to rip shields off enemies or rubble from doors. It's just these minor things that make you smile and enjoy the game more. Although I must admit, it's occasionally unresponsive, but won't have a massive impact on your game experience.

Metroid prime 3 boasts better visuals, before Galaxy's release, it probably looked the nicest game on Wii, it's not up to the standards of the 360 or PS3, but if you're a proper gamer you'd have known that already. The frame rate is smooth, and the locations are atmospheric and whole game effects look nice indeed, such as condensation on your visor and rain drops.

It's the first Metroid game to feature voice acting as well. By far the biggest users of this are the main computer and Admiral Dane, but it's good to see it nonetheless. As always though, Samus remains silent except for noises of pain or struggle.

As with previous Prime games, scanning plays an important role. In all truth it gets tedious, but luckily scans aren't required for 100% completion in Corruption, unlike in Prime and Echoes (Missile expansions, Energy tanks etc count as a percent of completion each this time round). Instead, Scanning rewards you with tokens, which you can spend on the menu for concept art, soundtracks and even cool extras like a Mii bobblehead for your ship or Snapshot taker.

Overall the experience is very good, the musical score is great, particularly the title music, voice acting has been done to a good standard. Metroid veterans will enjoy the classic puzzle solving stlye mixed with a welcomed increase of action and more adventuring (with less of forced backtracking. Enemies look great, as do all the locations, the plot is as good as ever, telling the last chapter of the Prime series with a high quality line up of characters, 3 of which, you'll definitely develop emotion for once certain paths cross with unexpected results.

I personally feel this game outshines the previous Prime games, it's provides a challenging (difficulty curve is a bit uneven, mind)and brilliant experience and I enjoyed every second of it. Those fans of the Metroid series will know what to expect along with a lot more, familiar faces return and, if you really know your Metroid stuff, the 100% ending isn't something to miss out on!

Those new to the series may find it lacking in action, especially if you are used to intense FPS game’s this if a First-person adventure, keep that in mind. The difficulty may be an issue for newcomers, save rooms are in short supply (that didn't affect me too much though) and the series has a habit of limiting information, something veterans would be used to.

Nevertheless, an essential game for Wii owners. Not for casual gamers, this, thankfully, is a gamers game.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2007
I personally think that the Metroid games were the best of the last generation and Metroid Prime 3 sits up there as being one of the best video games ever created. Once again the Art direction is second to none. This is some of the best visuals in gaming and the fact the have done it with the Wii hardware makes it all the more impressive. I would love to have seen this running in high definition. Retro Studios have put nearly every other company to shame again with their level designs. The control scheme is also sublime. The game is also very challenging if you turn the hints off. The puzzles are a bit more cerebral this time round. The only things I would like to complain about is the fact that there was not enough huge bosses and I also quite liked the back-tracking of the previous two games, which has now been made practically obsolete because of the shortcuts and the the fact that it the game is split into planets.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2008
My main love of the Metroid series consist of two things; the atmosphere of the older games, and the art direction of the newer (Prime) games. These two points are perhaps not the most orthodox choices for favouring a video game, maybe, but the latter I still believe is unparalled in contemporary games. Metroid Prime 3: Corruption delivers both of these in great amounts, with all the trimmings, and the blend together so well to create, as they say, a living, breathing world.

Before, as an artist, I start waffling on about design and crap, we'll start with the basics. As a game series, the games follow a relatively simple plot; in a sci-fi setting you play young female bounty hunter Samus Aran, orphaned by the cruel and scientifically wicked Space Pirates at a young age. Samus oozes style thanks to her mysterious and powerful 'Power Suit', and Retro Studios have made it again GORGEOUS -- but anyway, Metroid games typically throw you into a huge, unchartered regions, and you gradually explore further and deeper, through listless rainy plains, lonely subterranean crumbling ruins, or sheer and sharp steel alien corridors. The ability to explore is granted by new items - so backtracking, a great charm for me, a disgusting chore for others, is a major staple of the series.

Prime 3 follows this formula, and thrives. No brownie points for a revolution, then, but brilliant nonetheless. This game is described by true fans as an 'FPS', a 'First-Person Adventure'. Though you are indeed playing from an FPS view with that great big arm cannon popping out the bottom right corner, the emphasis is on exploration. Prime 3, out of all of the Prime games, features a great deal more combat, and the fantastic opening sequence aside, you'll spend your time flying in your ship from planet region to planet region - eventually jumping planets, then even further...

And these environments are stunning. Lemme explain what I mean by 'art direction': not graphics, but the environment. Every tiny room has its own personality, has its own history and purpose. These aspects were achieved also in the previous Prime games also and it shines equally here. For example on the (crudely put, SteamPunk Bespin) realm of Elyssia; you could look at a wall and see several chunky pipes, and follow them to different areas; they'll wind around a crack in a stone wall above which crumbling alien characters can be discerned, on the opposite side of the room is a shattered window, the glass specks ground into the floor, while an unseen mechanism chunters above your head; you can see cogs spinning underneath your feet down a shaft below the mesh grate, sparks flecking up thanks to the heat.

Every room! And the fantastical creatures with spines and inverted legs. The great aspect to all this detail is its literary companion; a 'Scan Visor' allows you to gather information about enemies - not only their armament, but creatures' feeding and hunting habits, or Space Pirate rumours for example. Trivial data such as stone blocks which tell you carbon dating or presumed meaning and significance...

Same old (fantastic!). But new features are great thanks to it, obviously, being on the Wii. The graphics are very pleasing - yes, they're not a PS3, but no PS3 game has this 'art direction' and thanks to very, very impressive bloom effect, even for a Wii game, this notion of atmosphere is really enriched - looking up at on a certain world shows a polluted vermillion sky bleeding with acid rain, great clouds flashing realistically and moodily. The controls have been changed a fair amount, if that was a gripe for you in previous installments - basically, dual analog. The 'move and strafeing' is controlled by the analog stick on the nunchuck; simply point your Wii remote at the screen to aim Samus' weapon for shooting, in combat or puzzles. Sometimes you can 'lose' the pointer causing Samus to jolt sharp right or whatever, but this is rarely an issue and only really happens after cutscenes, where can't see your pointer. The controls work very well, improving on Red Steel's basic jist. It's not quite like a mouse and keyboard, but vastly superior to dual analog. Halo feels like a brick in comparison!

Um...buy it. It's rather smashing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2008
I almost pity the Metroid Prime : Corruption developers. They've turned out what is, quite simply, the single most polished, detailed and engrossing game on the Wii. Yet their efforts were always destined to be overshadowed by more mainstream (and frankly inferior) titles like Twilight Princess and Super Mario Galaxy. Relegating their hard work to the second rate status of a mere 'sleeper hit', when in fact, Metroid Prime : Corruption is without a doubt the finest title to grace the Wii so far.

Sonically, graphically and immersively it is without equal on the platform. The team at Retro Studios have put together the first title to truly exhibit the graphical capabilities of the Wii and they've wrapped that visual polish around a game that is detailed, engrossing, intelligent and thoroughly rewarding to play through. This is an absolute must buy for any Wii owner - especially 'first person' enthusiasts.

If I had to pick at any flaws, I'd say that the gameplay was a little too focused on exploration at the expense of challenging and prolonged combat, and that the game is perhaps a little too easy. I was mildly disappointed that the extra collectibles had very little impact on the gameplay. The majority of hidden items would boost missile carrying capacity, or the stock of ship missiles. Both of which had an almost insignificant impact on the rest of the game. Ship missiles were only needed for a few mandatory objectives and regular missiles were slow, weak, difficult to use and ultimately inferior to the player's regular beam weapons. All told, this made the majority of optional hidden pick-ups unnecessary and somewhat unrewarding.

The mandatory quest parts of the game were simply sublime. Detailed, polished, varied and packed with enough tension and atmosphere to keep you spellbound in a combination of awe and intrigue that simply refuses to let you put down the controller until you've crushed the next boss, discovered the next ingenious upgrade or solved that one last taxing puzzle.

An absolute must-have game. Especially for fans of the series.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2009
Before playing the original Metroid Prime, I'd never touched a Metroid game before. It made me a fan of the series for good. The basic gist of these Metroid games for anyone new to them is that they are a mixture of puzzle-solving and blasting. You'll slowly make your way through rooms, unlocking doors and interacting with devices, and dispatching the odd few enemies. Very much like the Zelda games, except with a First Person Shooter feel (the perspective you play from is as if looking through the eyes of the main character).

Now I've just finished off the final boss in Prime 3, I can honestly say that the Metroid Prime trilogy has got to be one of the greatest, most accomplished triligies in gamedom. Absolutely fantastic - the design teams did a great job of keeping up the quality and freshness throughout all three games, and giving each its own unique feel.

Whilst in the other two games I felt complete solitude and aloneness in the vasts of space, Corruption made me feel like I was playing part of a team. I was still working alone, in the sense that there was nobody fighting by my side, but I was constantly aware of the other hunters and Federation Marines that were also out there on other planets fighting for the same cause as myself - this was due to the only very occasional voice transmissions I'd hear from other allies. This, I thought, was a welcome change from the originals. Oftentimes, I felt like I was the most powerful asset the Federation had on their side - thrilling. But despite that, I was every bit as vunerable to the dangers posed to everyone else as I was exploring the dangerous planets.

The controls are just as good if not better than those in the GameCube entries - now you're able to point anywhere you like whilst moving around with the analog stick, thanks to the Wii's remote control device being able to sense where you're pointing. Motion controls are used sparingly, usually to interact with devices and switches on walls, by twisting, turning, and pushing, which makes it all the more satisfying when you do get to use the motion controls. I did notice that sometimes it'd fail to pick up the odd push or pull motion, but I'd just try it again and it'd work. You can also pull shields from enemies by tugging backwards - a neat addition.

Puzzles are great - you'll often see areas and objects you can't interact with until you've acquired a certain ability. So you may have to study your map to see which rooms you haven't yet explored - unexplored rooms tend to hold the abilities or secrets you're looking for. Working out how to obtain these is all part of the challenge in Metroid games.

Sometimes you'll also encounter 2D sidescrolling bits that you need to navigate in the form of a ball. Think of Sonic the Hedgehog when he's rolling around - it's much like that. These are fun sections that help to break up the gameplay and add a little bit of spice to the mix. They'll often link different sections of the world you're exploring together.

The graphics are absolutely outstanding. I've played a couple of Xbox 360 games - and despite the Xbox having much more powerful graphics capabilities, Prime 3 holds up to them easily. It's worth noting I am playing both Xbox 360 and Wii on a non-HD TV set, however, and another aspect of this may be that the game pushes the boundary in another direction rather than purely raw graphical grunt - beautiful art direction. Planets are oozing with life and detail. Patterns adorn the walls of ancient buildings, and varying plant life is visible everywhere. I've noticed some clever particle and lighting effects that weren't possible in the GameCube Prime games, and the textures are much crisper, too. The scenes that play out as Samus lands her ship on new planets are a sight to behold.

You'll explore a nice variety of locations - far more varied than the areas seen in Prime and Prime 2. Two areas I enjoyed in Corruption were what seemed like a floating palace in the sky - the detail in the architecture was amazing here - and and an abandoned space vessel that had been attacked and had previously been thought to be destroyed - only dead marines and malfunctioning electronics remained, creating a very spooky atmosphere.

Sound is as you'd expect from the Prime games. It sets the mood - usually sounding very ambient. There are some nice melodies here, too - Skytown's music featuring a piano and synthesized choir (common in all the Prime games).

One last thing - it does seem more linear than the original two games, and there's a little less backtracking to other worlds. You will, however, still be moving back and forth through rooms on a single planet to accomplish your missions, just like the previous Prime games. When you do backtrack to other planets here, it'll likely be because you've recieved a clue via a transmission - another thing that differs it from the other two Prime games. It's even a little easier than the previous two games.

Another fantastic element in this game are the bosses. They're huge, and working out how to take them down is good fun.

This is definately one of the best games on Wii. I'm now looking forward to Metroid: Other M - hope it lives up to the quality of Corruption.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2008
This game is the third instalment of the Metroid Prime trilogy.
Samus Aran returns with her Varia Suit to finish off the phazon corruption for good. This time, rather than moving around to different areas of the same planet, you change planets. There are a total of 5 planets and 1 space travelling frigate type ship.
The game has the same controls as before, with A shooting and B jumping etc. except this time you can aim at a different location than the centre of the screen - even when locking on. This feature makes the game more interesting for the advanced users, and as there are lots of different settings to make the game easier/harder even without changing the difficulty setting of the game itself, this game appeals to all skill ranges.

Good:
- The graphics are amazing, as usual. The effects of the atmosphere on the visor such as rain, steam and water add to the overall experience. This coupled with detailed terrain that is all around you makes it a very "aesthetically pleasing" game.
- The control system is brilliant. It took me a while to get used to, but it's easy to master after a small time playing.
- The puzzles are fun to work out how to get past, and you always can get to an area in the game where you know you can come back later to get an upgrade.
- You don't need to scan everything now. You don't get a better % completion if you've scanned every monster/lore etc. than if you don't. You only need to scan something if you don't know how to kill it, and it gives you a tip on how to do it.
- However, if you do scan something new, you get a token which you can spend on things in the main menu such as bumper stickers for your ship or music from the game. These tokens are also available from doing a certain event or killing a boss/hard enemy. Some tokens are "friend vouchers" which you have to send to a friend and they get the token which can be spent. You cannot spend these vouchers; you can only send them to someone else.

Bad:
- Some puzzles are irritating to solve. You walk around for ages to find out that it was a really simple thing you had to do to solve the puzzle, but you overlooked it because you were looking for something harder to find.
- On normal mode, I found the game very, very easy. I only died once but that was due to an attack I hadn't encountered before, which puts you into corrupt hypermode, and since I'd just gone into hypermode before, my meter was on full, so I died instantly. (Regular hypermode: the meter goes down as you shoot and you leave hypermode when it ends. Corrupt hypermode: the meter goes up gradually and you have to vent the corruption by shooting lots. If it gets to full you die.)
- There are lots of pointless things to get through the game. The only purpose they serve is to increase your completion %. For example, you can collect lots of ship missile expansions; however, you don't even need to fire more than you collect, and since you can restock missiles by smashing crates until a missile comes out, they are totally pointless.
There are also some energy cells scattered around the place. These are typically quite hard to get, as there are only a few in the game. Sometimes, you have to use 2 or even 3 of these (1 time use only) to get 1 rocket upgrade - which makes them a complete waste of time getting.

Overall, though, this game is brilliant. There are sub-missions (such as collecting the energy cells) added so you can explore the game further, but since these aren't compulsory you don't have to do them if you don't want to. The graphics are great and it's fun to play, with a fairly good replay value as after you complete it, you get a "Hypermode" difficulty, which, so far, is VERY hard.

Good hunting.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2009
When I had a SNES back in the 90's one of my all time favourite games was Super Metriod it blew me away at the time. I got Metriod Prime Hunters on the DS which is great too and very hard maybe a bit too hard. I'm glad to say Metriod Prime Corruption is the best Metriod game yet and is'nt as hard as Prime Hunters on the DS. Corruption really shows off the Wii in all areas and Retro Studios should be given a medal for perfecting the Wii controls with their first game on this system. The game starts off slowly so that you can get use to the controls and your surroundings. As you progress through the game the graphics get more and more impressive. Samus's is a sexy deadly bounty hunter who has a very powerful weapon that chargers up and she can also turn into a ball. Sometimes you need turn into the ball to solve puzzles and you can drop little bombs to blow stuff up whilst in ball form too. The boss battles are fantastic and very intense. If you are hungry for more Metriod that uses the same great Wii controls, then you will be pleased to know that the first two Prime games are being redone for the Wii.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)