Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 June 2015
I have been looking for this DVD for a long time after watching it about 15 years ago, and finally found it on Amazon. An enjoyable watch, pricey, but worth it. To get the booklet was an added bonus, and the DVD is in perfect condition. Subtitles very helpful (I am HOH) and I also live in a flat with thin walls and ceilings! The story is excellent and well put together. I was not bored watching it, and am glad to have it in my collection!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 18 August 2011
A variation on the Frankenstein theme, Man's attempt to play God and create new life sadly going awry. No monster here, though, Gor seemingly a teenager like any other. But why troubled dreams full of wild creatures and tropical scenery? Other matters also suggest he is somehow different. How will he cope on learning what we have known from the start - he is in fact a gorilla-human hybrid?

Charles Dance exudes quiet authority as Forester, the pioneer of new ground who ignores official demands the result be destroyed. Philip Madoc impressively makes the most of the showy role as his boss. Jamie Foster moves as the increasingly disturbed adolescent.

Originally in three parts, this controversial 1988 BBC serial is here shown in one go. There is much to enjoy in the earlier sequences - especially that exhilarating moment in the tree tops when young Gor first speaks. Everything nosedives a little with an unconvincing (and rather silly) abduction subplot but revives for a devastating climax.

No extras on disc but a very interesting and informative booklet accompanies. A bonus is the reminder of days when music did not saturate and when cast lists could be read.

The fine drama still packs a punch. Recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 April 2014
Loved this on TV many years ago and have finally found a copy of the DVD - brilliant night's viewing!
The story of a genetic scientist at the Ministry of Defence who succeeds in breeding a human-gorilla hybrid via an animal in his laboratory. When ordered to destroy it after a few weeks, he finds himself unable to do so, and has the human-looking boy brought up in a foster home...
(spoiler alert) Deeply moving as Gor reaches adulthood and turns away from the warlike ethos of the military academy he attends, and toward the priesthood. And towards love with Forester's daughter Nell. But when his parentage becomes known, the church dismisses him as an abomination before God, and a human relationship becomes unthinkable...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2008
Charles Dance gave one of his best performances in this made for TV mini series, that came out in the 1980s. It was quite daring for its time and I remember the contraversy it courted because of the subject matter. Dance plays the scientist Edward Forrester who experiments on a gorilla called Mary, to see if she is able to give birth to a hybrid offspring which she does.

At first Edward is indifferent to the hybrid child that is born, it is just an experiment to be kept in a cage but as time goes on he sees the humanity in the child and finds he cannot kill it and instead he "adopts" the child, calls him Gor and tries to erase the past and his part in it.

The unknown Jamie Foster plays Gor brilliantly, a boy who has physically looks human but who on a genetic level is a gorilla, he is incredibly strong, very dextrous and it is no suprise to anyone when he says is going to join the army, but Gor is not violent by nature (Gorilla's are not normally violent unless in danger) and when he starts to fall in love with his foster father's beautiful daughter the truth about his heritage is revealed to him and tragedy ensues, as man and his biological mother meet for one last time.

All in all a really good watch though I would have preferred a better ending than the one we got, it was somewhat predictable but then this series was made in the 1980s remember and as daring as it was, it was not daring enough to take it one step further, to where the first born married and had children of his own...
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2015
I could not play the video in this U.S.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2013
Brought as a present for my brother as we call him a character from film so bit of a joke, but everybody in family wanted to watch it. As we all remembered from our childhood. Very pricey but worth it .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2015
This made a real impression on me when I first saw it years ago - enjoyed it just as much now
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2017
l watched 'first born' as soon as it came l really enjoyed the series very much l also enjoyed the music that went with the series lt was as good as l remembered
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2016
Was a brilliant series. I actually watched the filming of it as my daughter was the monkey baby
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2013
I loved this series and have been trying to buy it, ever since I saw the series. Buy it NOW!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

FirstBorn (First Born)
£11.98

Need customer service? Click here